Fiction logo

Body Language

The woman at the bar was watching me…

By Alyissa M. LorePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Body Language
Photo by Etienne Girardet on Unsplash

The woman in the bar was watching me. I could tell by the way she migrated through the room. Her heels clicked on the marble floors, always moving, but never out of view from where I sat at the bar. People moved around her like moons around planets, pulled in by her gravity. Everyone who saw her had a propensity to get closer and she greeted them warmly, all the while shooting sideways glances my way, with caramel candy eyes and a playful smile on her pink petal lips. The black buttons on her shimmering blouse seemed to be coming undone, one by one…by one, as the night wore on. Every time I caught sight of her I was plunged deeper and deeper into her lush breasts.

She caught my eye and smiled invitingly, a glass of red wine raised in my direction. I responded like for like, but my movements were too eager, and the ice cubes clinked choppily, the amber liquid splashing onto my crisp white shirt. Her delicate eyebrows raised up in questioning laughter, an amused smirk on her opulently wide mouth. I fumbled clumsily for a napkin, shaking my head with embarrassment and dabbing my shirt. When I looked back up she had turned away, the heartbreaking curves of her ass facing me now, her shinning obsidian hair cascading down her shoulders, no longer watching.

My shoulders sagged and I kicked myself for knowing I had lost her intrigue. Waving to the bartender, I ordered another drink.

Scowling at my reflection in the amber liquid of my glass I looked up. My breath caught in my throat, my heart sped up. The seductress sat at the bar with her long buttery legs crossed and uncrossed…then crossed again. She was closer to me now, hungry eyes staring straight at me, despite the man who was sitting next to her, wildly gesturing with his hands, his voice raising as he tried to capture her interest, but her eyes were on me. All the coyness gone. She smiled devilishly in my direction, her tantalizing tongue was as pink as candy while flicked out to wetting her lips. Hypnotized by the way as her fingers played with a sparkling necklace that hung over her heart I watched helplessly entranced, as she trailed those caressing fingertips down, down, down...and with her daring molten eyes on mine she undid another button.

My eyes flutter closed and I sucked in a sharp breath at the fire rising in my lower core. Tipping back my potion of liquid courage, I savored the sweet burn in my throat and sent a prayer to any god that would listen.

We had been playing this game all night, but would she bite?

Please let her bite…

I paid the bartender and walked towards the exit, trying to keep my gait cool. I passed inches by her, so close I could inhale her drugging honey and jasmine aura. She smiled expectantly, but I nodded my head towards her subtly and kept walking to the door. I turned to look at her one last time, her perfect lips were parted in confusion. She met eyes and I tipped my head towards the heavy oak door, silently inviting her to follow, her angelic face lighting with understanding. Then I turned and walked through doorway, letting it swing closed behind me.

The night was cold and dark, my breath puffing out in clouds from between my lips. The ground was wet from recent rain and passing car lights gleamed on the pavement. I stuck my hands in my pockets, shifting back and forth, waiting to see if this enigmatic woman would join me or if I had miscalculated my chance. The door opened and I straightened my posture, smiling...but it was an elderly couple, laughing and holding onto each other as they left the event. My face fell. I guess she wasn’t coming. Maybe the spark was imagined, maybe I played the whole thing up in my head. I sighed wistfully and started walking away, when the door swung open behind me, golden light cast onto the night's shadows. My heart skipped a beat, butterflies danced with hope and desire in my stomach. I looked back…

…and there she was, standing in the light of the doorway, her cheeks flushed, and her dark, lustrous hair curling into her eyes. I could see the heavy rise and fall of her chest as she looked around hurriedly, seeking… and then finding, her face lighting up when she spotted me. Fireworks were popping in my chest. The bustle of the street around me faded away as I drank her in, every curve, every color, every kiss of light and shadow on her face. She approached me with a excited bounce in her step. A nervous anticipation she hadn’t expressed in the bar. The euphoria of new beginnings pulsed alive and tangible between us. I offered her my hand and she took it, twining her warm fingers with mine and it felt like glitter was exploding between us. She looked up at me…

parting her perfect pink lips…

and spoke a single

breathless,

word,

“Hi.”

Love
1

About the Creator

Alyissa M. Lore

I can be found manifesting in the moonlight with fairies, growing wishes in my garden of dreams, & deep sea diving in the human psyche ready to capture & study the creatures lurking in it’s depths. Enjoy the read.

Twitter: @Alyissa_M_Lore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.