Fiction logo

Bocanier

(pronounced B-oh-k-an-ear), an extreme Book-Lover. Derived from the Old English Word, Boc - meaning Book.

By Lilly CooperPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
12
Bocanier
Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

The Chairperson stepped to the lectern and thumped the top impatiently. ‘Alright, lets get this meeting of Bocaniers Anonymous started then!’

Page held her finger up in annoyance, without looking up from the book in her lap, ‘... just let me finish this chapter....’

Kindle and Tome continued their debate in the back, ‘...but a computer doesn’t have that divine smell!’

'At least I don’t need to turn a light on to read!’

Auricular rolled his eyes. ‘You wouldn’t need a light if you listened to audiobooks.’

‘That's called listening, not reading. Hello!’ Literal snorted snidely.

‘I met my dream guy yesterday!’ Blurb gushed to Review.

‘Oh? Are you sure about that? Maybe you should wait till chapter six before you make up your mind. You know how the last one broke you.’

Meanwhile, Binding boasted to Title and Forward. ‘It’s a First Edition, hard cover, signed, for heaven’s sake! You don’t read it! You just look at it!’

‘Says the girl who dog-ears pages! Just use the bookmark I gave you!’ Forward shook his head in disgust.

‘Dog-ear? Oh, the humanity! A crime against books!’ Title tended to be rather dramatic.

Contents cleared her throat, thumping again. ‘Come to order Bocaniers! We all have T.B.R. piles to get to and I need to get home to hide my latest parcel before my partner finds out I ordered more books!’

With that, the extreme book-lovers meeting came to order.

By Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

SatireMicrofictionLoveHumor
12

About the Creator

Lilly Cooper

A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.

I may be an amateur Author, but I love what I do!

Subscribe to join me on my journey!

Click the link to connect with other Australian Creators on Vocal Media Creators Australia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred6 months ago

    A great description for a lover of books and a brilliant challenge entry

  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Supercute! Great job Lilly!

  • Sandra Matos6 months ago

    I can relate! Live this!

  • Ha so many of us could fit right in with this group

  • I was impressed with the word Bocanier but your story impressed me even more than that! It was so creative and original!

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Lilly, this in wonderfully and creatively written!!! Fun and entertaining read!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    This was so well done. As I am listening to a lot more audiobooks now than I used to, I’m starting to consider it reading.

  • Matthew Fromm7 months ago

    This one hurts me as I’ve done three of these in the last 24 hours lol

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is very creative. Well done.

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Great 👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.