Fiction logo

Blue Moonlight Part Ten: A Sanctuary in the Dark

Will she find it?

By Brittany MitchellPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
Blue Moonlight Part Ten: A Sanctuary in the Dark
Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

The tension around the table was oppressive, Elania glowering at her brother Johnny. Jean wasn’t much better, Shadow tapping his fingers on the table. Sir Deathwish hovered behind me, Avery and her father sitting in confused silence. A pregnant pause hung between us all, my friend Luna speaking up first.

“Yeah! He betrayed you all, but he groveled at your feet.” Luna snapped icily, shooting Johnny a warm gaze. “He is innocent until proven guilty, right?” His eyes met hers, a magic moment happening between the two of them. He had never given me that look before, I pondered to myself.

“She is right, you know.” Jean admitted with his million dollar smile. “We can’t work as a team if we all hate one member right.” Everyone nodded in agreement, all eyes turning to Johnny. Shrinking back into his chair, his lips pressed together. He was embarrassed, and I understood him well. We did date for a couple of years after all.

“Where is her headquarters?” I questioned calmly, ignoring the dirty looks from everyone else. “Just tell us all you know.” A lump formed in his throat, fresh scars lined his arms. Drumming his fingers on the table, Luna sitting next to him. Her fingers wrapped around his, his body relaxing.

“I think the real question is when it is?” He replied anxiously, cold sweat dripping off of his brow. “She moves around quite a bit, and we never really stayed in one place. Barbie is her daughter from her latest escapade with another vampire. She is stronger than Emily alone, but if Jean and you attack her at the same time I believe you two could win. That being said, I never learned her weakness. However she really wants you dead, Emily. She said something about drinking your blood to take over the world, or something like that. I did happen to steal her map though.” His black t-shirt shifted slightly as he pulled out an invisible map, my brow cocking in disbelief. Confusion twisted his face, discomfort spreading like a plague. Sliding it down to me, the moment my hand touched gold ink filled the cage. Awe dropped my jaw to the table, it was a whole another dimension. In fact it was the lost dimension that everyone had been searching for many years.

“I thought this place was a myth.” I uttered in disbelief, my eyes scanning the map from top to bottom. “This is where she lives. She resides somewhere down here, and many creatures have probably perished in that realm because of her. Let’s go!” Everyone protested slightly, Sir Deathwish passing bags around to everyone. Grumbling away, a golden portal opened. A sea of red and black flashed on the other side, the decaying version of our world greeting my eyes. One by one everyone crossed over, my trembling fingers grabbing the map. Taking a deep sigh, my feet crossed the threshold. A rush of wind blew my hair up as the portal sealed shut. Glancing around dismay dimmed my eyes, a touch on my shoulder comforting me. Jean snuggled into my shoulder, his fine Italian suit feeling soft on my skin. His crooked grin melted my heart, his fingers playing with my hair. Morales soon died down, the ground quaking underneath our feet. A giant moth burst from the ground, a tall lanky vampire standing on top. His gray hair blew in the wind, red eyes glaring down at me. Moths sat on his dusty black suit, a handlebar mustache over his thin lips.

“I am Lord Mothtrap, and I am going to take you down.” He threatened excitedly, twirling his mustache. “Ready to fight my dear Emily.” My scythe slid into my eager palms, a cold breeze making my black leather dress flutter in the wind. Jean stepped up next to me, Johnny and Luna standing next to each other. His deck of cards spread in his hands, Luna’s bones cracked as shifted into a reddish brown werewolf. The cane rained down on me, moths flying in our direction. Avery yipped slightly, blood dripping down her arm. Captain Avery shot at the moths. Leaping up in the air, my scythe swung down on the old man. Sparks snowed around me, the metal of his cane smashing into my blade. Cards whizzed past my head, Mothtrap stopping mid air. Horror widened my eyes, the cards flying back at us. Jean leapt in front of me, the cards slicing his suit up. Precise lines of blood dripped onto my large blade, Mothtrap tried to move. The moth’s shadow held him down, Luna snarling away. Johnny stomped his combat boots on the ground, black shadows dragging his moth to the ground. Mothtrap popped up behind us, his cane smashing us on the back. Chilly air rushed around me, Jean wrapping his arms around my shivering body. A cry of agony exploded from Mothtrap’s lips as Sir Deathwish sliced his arm off, the twitching hand landing next to my head. Sir Deathwish looked as happy as a child in a candy shop. Black energy formed a makeshift arm, an arrow shooting him in the heart. His body bloated up, black flames exploded from the inside of the monster of a vampire. A bit of black dust floated onto my tongue, the bitter taste assaulted my taste buds.

“Welcome back Princess Emily.” A sweet female voice announced, a blond haired vampire with a petite body standing over me. “We have been waiting for you, and you might just be Jean, her betrothed.” Johnny shifted uncomfortably, Luna getting dressed in a cream shirt and brown pants. The moment her arms wrapped around his neck, his face lit up with joy. I was very happy for him, Jean sitting up next to me.

“I am indeed.” He replied cheerfully, shooting her a charismatic smile. “And who might you be?” She chuckled warmly to herself, covering her pink lips with a hand. Her blue eyes shimmered with excitement, her ocean blue dress hugging her tiny body. She looked a lot like Barbie, caution brimming in the back of my head.

“I am Caroline Sweetin, at your service.” She babbled cheerfully, rubbing the back of her head. “The rebels would like to meet their one true queen.” Jean leapt to his feet, and scooped me in his arms. His perfect hair hung sexily over his eyes, his one eye gazing warmly into my eyes.

Rolling my eyes, he swung me around to his back. Clearing my throat, my scythe faded away.

“I can walk, you know.” I grumbled irritably, wanting him to put me down. “I am quite capable.” A childish giggle tumbled from his lips, my brow twitching in frustration.

“I know, my queen.” He teased playfully, looking up at me sweetly. “I just want to carry you. It makes me so happy. Besides, I love the way your breasts press against my back.” Elania hid a sly grin under her hand, Shadow shooting him a goofy grin. Avery rolled her eyes, Luna clinging tightly to Johnny. Leaves crunched beneath his dress shoes, a blush living on my cheeks essentially. A brick building with no doors loomed in front of us, Jean setting me down.

“Right this way.” She announced jovially to us, tapping on a lone brick building. “I have brought the future queen to us.” Cheers erupted on the other side, the hidden door swinging open. A bunch of red haired people looked up at me, huge grins on their faces. Childlike wonder brightened my eyes, they were my father’s people. A sea of brown and white clothing flashed by my eyes, people running up to me. A small child tugged on my dress, her cute little fangs sticking out a little bit. Red tight curls hung around her red eyes, her tail flicking with joy.

“And who might you be?” I queried warmly, shooting her a small smile. “You are such a pretty girl.” Ruffling her hair, her ears flattened with irritation. The irritation melted away, a black rose spinning in her palm. A toothy grin curled on her lips, her tiny hand passing it to me.

“I am Rosie, here to be your lady in waiting.” She blurted out anxiously, hiding through her fingers. “I want you to teach me your ways.” Nodding, Caroline dragged us through the crowd to a large room in the back. Plopping down on a bed, Jean crashed down next to me. Caroline sat across from us, a deep sadness in her eyes.

“I am sorry that I don’t have a tail or anything. I found those people and we have been living in the badlands to stay out of Iceheart’s touch. Apparently she froze their village, and convinced my twin sister to fight by her side.” She stammered awkwardly, crossing her hands on her lap. “I just want my sister back, but I am prepared to kill her if I have to.” Alarm widened my eyes, everyone except Jean and me leaving the room.

“How about we try to do that okay!” I promised happily, taking her hands in mine. “I will help you get her back, ‘kay!” Her energy was angelic compared to mine, her arms wrapping around my shoulder. Tears streamed down her face, my arms pulling her closer to my chest.

“I miss her so much.” She sniffled, snot almost certainly getting on my outfit. “I just need her back in my life. She was put under a spell, and she snapped. Even one of her eyes changed.” So her twin sister was Barbie, an idea racing through my crazy brain.

“Let us help you, and you get to be a part of my council down here.” I offered gently, pulling back. “Let’s bring the light back together.”

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.