Fiction logo

Bloodmoon, Bloodlust

The Chosen One

By Ashleigh RileyPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Bloodmoon, Bloodlust
Photo by Samuel-Elias Nadler on Unsplash

There weren't always dragons in the Valley. Only a few of us remaining Beranthian elders remember the days before dragons descended upon our earth. The days were simpler then. The joys were plenty. The fears were none.

Four and twenty orbits around the great Sun prior to this day, our quiet Beranthian Valley was celebrating the eclipse of the Bloodmoon when a shadow cast itself across our view, and a quake cracked the dirt beneath our bare feet. We lost 15 warrior men in the blink of an eye. Swallowed in mere seconds, resting eternally in the belly of the Earth.

Once the shaking stopped and the dust cleared- what stood before us was nothing our eyes had seen before- Large scaly appendages with long, sharp claws. The creatures were so massive, we could not see above their shoulders. Some of the children screamed and ran to the woods, while others were frozen in shock. Your Uncle Marvius actually laughed and ran towards the huge monsters- saved only by your mother who just barely grabbed his hand and pulled him back. Your mother always protected her brother and sisters, no matter what.

Elder Luka made his way to the front of the crowd and tried to communicate with the beasts. He spoke in five unique tongues- all with no response. His last breath was spent telling the creatures in Elvish that we are a peaceful people. Before he could get the last word out- a great flame rained from the sky and he was no more.

By Cullan Smith on Unsplash

As fire surrounded us, I grabbed your Auntie Liana and Auntie Merinsa while your mother grabbed Uncle Marvius, and we ran in to the forest. In the event we were parted, I told your mother to meet at our special spot- which was a hidden cavern under the tallest tree in the direct center of the woods. We had discovered it on a morel scavenge years prior. We used to leave story parchments in the cavern, and spend long summer days reading under the tree's shade.

As I reached the cavern, I turned 'round expecting to see your mother and Marvius close behind, but they were nowhere to be seen. Other Beranthians ran past, screaming and fighting to avoid the fire flash while the ground shook beneath the monster's feet as they made chase on our people. My heart was beating so fast I was sure I was going to collapse.

As I peered into the darkness seeking, searching for a glimpse of your mother- a loud ear-piercing scream let out on the other side of the tree line. I knew that scream. I had only heard it once before, three months prior when your mother came upon the lifeless body of your grandmother, my wife, having been washed ashore after drowning in the Crystal Lake. I made sure Liana and Merinsa were safe and well-hidden in the cavern and I took off running toward the sound, the sharp sticks ripping the skin of my feet.

I reached the tree line just in time to see your mother push Marvius towards the forest, and the massive beast wrap it's claws around her waist, lifting her high up in the air to meet it's face. Smoke was billowing from it's nostrils. This was the first time I could see all of the creature from head to toe-it was a Dragon for sure. I had only read about them in old fable books. I yelled to the beast to let go of my daughter, but it only grunted and tightened it's grasp.

I ran towards the old bell tower that stood nearby, jumping over three charred bodies of those who merely moments ago were celebrating. I started to climb to reach higher ground with hopes of distracting the Dragon, or find stone to throw at him to release your mother, but a blinding light stopped me when I had only reached half-way. I had never read anything about Dragons emitting light. As I struggled to focus my eyes to find the source of the light, I saw it. Your mother. Glowing like the brightest star in the blackest of night skies.

By Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

The Dragon fumbled backwards as it tried to shield it's eyes from the bright light, letting go of the grasp it had on your mother's waist. The Dragon lost it's balance and tumbled, but your mother did not. I watched as she slowly descended back to the ground, as gentle as a feather.

As I climbed down to reach my daughter, I noticed her eyes were pure white light. A soft cerulean glow emanated from her body. Her hair jolted with magic electricity. "Bellona..." I called, but she didn't meet my eyes. Her gaze was fixated on the dragon, now laying on the ground writhing, and the four dragons in the distance headed this way. I watched as she lifted up her right hand- palm towards the Dragons and yelled in a language I didn't recognize.

The Dragons that were just running towards us only moments ago, were now suspended in air, surrounded by the same glow that bathed your mother's skin.

I walked towards your mother again and reached my hand out to touch her arm. As soon as I did, her eyes returned to the hazel color I had loved for 14 years, and she jumped into my arms.

"Father, what...what just happened?"

I hugged her as I told her she saved us.

"How did I do that?"

"You are a chosen one, Bellona," I told her. "Just like your mother."

By Jeff Hardi on Unsplash

As the Bloodmoon dissipated, I began to tell her what little I knew of the secret her mother carried for so many years when we heard a grumble and thud after thud as the dragons were released from their floating capsules. Bellona once again glowed bright, and headed towards the beasts. Only this time, I did not see flame, or fight. I watched as the dragons bowed their heads to my daughter in what appeared to be sorrow. Your mother spoke to them in a language only they understood.

After what felt like an eternity, Bellona returned to me. I watched the sky as the dragons flew far from our Beranthian Valley, wondering how they could turn from murderous beasts to gentle giants in the blink of an eye.

Your mother told me that every Bloodmoon, the dragons revert to their savage beginnings, with no ability to control their bloodlust. The dragons told her that your grandmother had been keeping them at bay all these years with magic binded to her life. And every chosen one before her had done the same. Your grandmother had kept this secret from everyone, even me. And when she died- it broke the binding, releasing the dragons.

Bellona spent over ten years before she was killed by a dragon, trying to perfect the binding spell to keep the dragons away from our people during the Bloodmoon. She got close many times, but never was able to quite figure it out herself. Eventually, we Beranthians just got used to migrating north twice a year when the Bloodmoon arose, and that's what we still do to this day, as you know. Of course, there are a few people who still refuse to leave their homes and often make it safely through. Others have not been so fortunate. When she was alive, your mother fought very hard to make sure no one was killed during the rampages, but she was only one person, and without the binding, the dragons were ruthless.

And now, we must wait for the next chosen one to arrive. And hope that she will be able to complete the magical binding to put an end to the dragon's curse.

"But Grandfather, how long will we have to wait for a new chosen one to save us?"

Well, Adira, your 14th birthday is tomorrow.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ashleigh Riley

Mother of 2-Writer-Crafter-Dreamer-TV binger-Movie lover-Space nerd-dinosaur connoisseur

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • AD Jones12 months ago

    Truly a spectacular story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.