Fiction logo

Blood Red Snow

By Lenora Altom

By Lindsey AltomPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like

I'm running for my life; this is a matter of life and death. My pursuers are relentless, fueled by the desire for blood. I need to keep moving to stay alive. They've got the taste of blood now and they'll never stop. I'm so very cold as I only have my one fur jacket on and these slippers. They caught me unaware and now there is nowhere to go in this barren, frozen landscape. Suddenly, I see a tree that I can climb up ahead. It is hard to with all the snow and ice but I scramble up the tree just as my pursuers reach me. I see the blood that I left behind like small diamonds in the snow. My arm is oozing blood but there is no time to think of that now. The beautiful creatures snarl their teeth at me from below and try to climb my safe haven. They really are quite lovely in all their fearsome glory with the sharp teeth, the razors for claws, and their keen sense of smell. I look into the deep brown eyes of one of them and see nothing but survival instincts there. She just wants to feed her family and this is the only way she knows how, I've intruded upon her family. Finally, I know there is no getting out of this as they inch closer and closer. I take the dagger out of its sheath from within my jacket, pray, and jump to my death.

thrillerMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Lindsey Altom

For me, writing runs in the blood. I've wrote songs, poems and short stories ever since I was a little girl. I mostly like to write about my life experiences mixed with a little fiction or just things that come off the top of my head! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.