Fiction logo

Blood moon

Short little beginning before I continue (Draft)

By Cherise HopePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Blood moon
Photo by Michael Mouritz on Unsplash

It was the night I always dreamed of. Going to prom. I wanted to put on my blue dress with heels. I wanted to see who was going to be crowned King and Queen. I didn't make it that night. In fact, I didn't make it to step foot on the grounds of Shadow Valley High.

The cold whipped me in face as I walked down the street to where the stop sign was. I covered myself with my sweater awaiting the bus to pick me up. I'm 18 I could've got my driver's license when I was 15 but, my drunk father never wanted to teach me.

It was silent, only the wind was making noises as it whipped back and forth. The news said, it was suppose to rain this morning in West Virginia.

I started scrolling on my phone to past the time until the bus came. A boy from my school walks slowly towards the bus stop beside me. It was football quarterback, Kaleb. He had headphones on his head. The varsity football jacket on with blue jeans. He gave me a warm smile, his green eyes landing on my face.

"Janelle right?"

"Yeah, Janelle."

He puts his headphones around his neck. "I never knew how creepy, this street is compared to walking distance from my house."

"Yeah. I never really liked this street." I started fiddling with my fingers nervously. I didn't think Kaleb Hayden James would be talking to nerdy girl me.

"It's late." Kaleb sighed.

"It's just 7:30," I looked up the bus schedule on my phone. "It should be here at 7:45."

Kaleb nods, "You're in Mister Jacobs class right, he's an ass for giving us a paper on Dracula. It's crazy, I barely understand the book."

"Did you watch the movie?"

"The one with Winona Ryder? Yeah, I watched it because she was hot. It had some crazy shit going on in there."

I laugh uncontrollably at his comment and the bus happened to drive up after that comment. We both got on and I sat in my usual seat at the front of the bus with my friend, Sarah who changed her name recently to Nina instead. Nina looked at me with eyes bucked from me when I came on the bus.

"You talked to The Hayden?" She looked at me in shock.

"Ew Nina, don't call him that!" I laughed a bit at the name she gave him.

"Whatever dork, we have something we need to talk about."

"If this is about the new episode of Attack on Titan, no spoilers.

Nina rolled her eyes. "No, it's something I saw on the news recently about the Blood moon."

"Blood moon?"

"Yeah, it happens tonight. We have to pray and create rituals and all that witchy shit."

"My parents will freak if we do that again. I keep having those weird dreams where I'm running in some dark woods near the school."

"What dream?"

I forgot to mention. The dreams I have are a bit freaky to say the least each year when the Blood moon comes on 18th of October, Me and Nina ganged up to preform a ritual to pray to the Blood moon for security, love and happiness. The dream is the exact same, I'm running in the woods behind the school. A man approaches me, he's not recognizable or anything. I don't even know him. He has blood shot red eyes, black hair, dressed in all black clothing.

He extends his out towards me and all through my body, I feel darkness. I awake with a bloody nose and a sweaty body.

"It doesn't matter, I'll do the ritual."

I have to know what it means.

If you like stories like these and wanna leave me a comment or a tip that'll be greatly appreciated also please try to give me a bit of writing tips or something you'd like to see in chapter one! Thank you. Thoughtful criticism is always needed.

MysteryYoung AdultSeriesHorrorFantasy
Like

About the Creator

Cherise Hope

I’m a 23 year old English major currently going into my last year of college. I love writing poetry and fictional stories about vampires, horror and sometimes mystery and thriller. I’m very happy to writing on a elaborate platform 😌🦋

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.