Fiction logo

Blood and Toil

Prairie love

By JBazPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
23
Blood and Toil
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I grew up quickly that spring, not because I wanted too, but because I had no choice. The prairie land demands maturity, crops grow on blood and toil not wishes.

Fair enough.

I sprinkle soil from our land onto the casket before it lowers, and read the verse he always loved. One accident and I turned from a boy to a man, it was that simple.

As the sun drops beneath the distant horizon, so does my soul. In the morning when it rises, so too shall I.

Damn, how I love and hate this land.

Jason

LoveClassical
23

About the Creator

JBaz

I have enjoyed writing for most of my life, never professionally.

I wish to now share my stories with others, lets see where it goes.

Born and raised on the Canadian Prairies, I currently reside on the West Coast. I call both places home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    This was a passionate microfiction!! I love the opposing language at the end, it really drew the message home about the sacrifices this young man has made for his family farm... Great work Jason!!

  • Somehow you fit an epic tale into a few words magnificent

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Another fabulous story telling of yours 👍

  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    This reads like a very personal story. If so, I am sorry for Your lose. The death of a parent also means the death of one's childhood. Such is life. I never had to shift from a boy to becoming a man in an instant. I'm thankful that my transition in life has been more gradual than others. Your writing style is simplistic and multi-layered all at once.

  • Shane Dobbie12 months ago

    Not a word wasted. Well done

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Wow. Nothing is certain in life and things can change in an instant! Excellent entry for the challenge 💖

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    This is so well done. Excellent writing.

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    So few words, so much emotion 😁

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    You packed so much into these few lines. Really well done!!

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Such a powerful piece in so few words, well done Jason, this is incredible writing!

  • Whoaaaa, this was freaking powerful!

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Great read. 🥰

  • Oneg In The Arctic12 months ago

    Beautifully crafted, so much life just thrown in there. And this line too was just so real “crops grow on blood and toil not wishes.”

  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    "Damn, how I love and hate this land." So much growth and bitterness in one sentence. Well done!

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    👏Even the title was perfect. I loved the “in the morning when it rises, so too shall I” line!

  • KJ Aartila12 months ago

    This is an awesome, complete micro-story - full of detail and mystery that is both satisfying, but leaves me wanting the big picture. Well done! 💕

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Left a heart ♥ too💕♥️♥️

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    I am absolutely loving this micro fiction challenge! This is great Jason. The conflict, the emotion, packed in 100 words or less.

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Oh that's fabulous. The emotion is as open as the prairies and flows like what fields in the wind. (I'll show myself out now.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.