Fiction logo

Blind Spots

Rat among us

By Lucy TorralbaPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
1
Blind Spots
Photo by Bernard Hermant on Unsplash

Glaring daggers at Ed through my glasses I said, "Turn the light off". Watching him go towards the lamp I slowly got off the floor. I didn't have time to do my morning stretches and my body ached with every move I took. As he turned the light off his door automatically opened. I moved to the closest corner and said, "I need to tell you something".

He just stood there confused with a shrug. Seeing that he didn't grasp the gravity of the situation I said, "Get over here". Ed took a few long steps to be right in front of me. I got a little closer to fully hide in his shadow. I couldn't afford to have any light in my field of vision for what I'm about to do.

As I took my glasses off I said, "Please don't scream or run". Ed didn't have any time to respond when I opened my eyes. Hearing him gasp was a sound I wasn't expecting. My hand grabbed a fistful of his shirt to keep him still. "Last night I found the surveillance room, they're watching us now as we speak", I said quickly. He was in too much shock to take his eyes off me, "I'm going to find the main control room." Ed finally started coming to his senses asked, "Then what?"

"Then we attack and kill anyone who gets in our way", I could feel a grin creeping onto my face. Ed tried to move back, my arm jerked back which was a mistake. If he hadn't extended his arms out he would've pinned me against the wall.

The awkward silence between us ended when Mat knocked on the wall. "Am I interrupting anything?", he said with. Taking the chance to put my glasses back on and duck under Mat's arm I said, "Nothing really". Ed turned to look at the both of us. From what I could tell he looked to be a little flush. "I'm hungry are you two?", I asked changing the subject.

I followed behind Mat; as we left I looked over my shoulder to see Ed standing there trying to process everything I just said. For a second there I doubted myself for telling him some very confidential information. After I took a few steps away from his room I heard follow behind us. Ed didn't have a hard time catching up with us. Mat looked over his shoulder to sign you ok, Ed replied with a nod.

Walking down the hall with both Mat and Ed beside me I was surprised to see the solitary door was left wide open for us to cross through. Ed being the last to pass through he scanned his bracelet for the door to close. Seeing that over my shoulder I asked, "Is that necessary?" He simply shook his head. Seeing his sudden change of attitude I chalked it up to what happened just a few minutes ago. Looking at Mat he didn't seem any different from yesterday, except for the dark circles under his eyes. Looks like I scared him good last night, I thought. Thinking to myself that Ed may need some space I tried to keep a little more distance between us.

We all caught the tail end of the line to get breakfast, no surprise it was the same gruel from yesterday. Seeing everyone circle around Hannah again wasn't a surprise. I followed Mat to his table and was surprised to see Ed sit with us. Non of us said much, I watched as one of the guards pointed a control towards Mat and saw that mouth piece open enough to show his thin lips. Not wanting to stare I kept looking around to find all the hidden cameras in between gruel swallows.

I must've gotten the guards attention, they gave me a little shock through the collar. After a quick twitch I turned to see who was the guilty party. It looked to be the same one from yesterday, the other Ed. Putting him on my list to torture when we fought back brought a small smile to my lips. Finishing the last of the gruel in my bowl I was about to break the silence between us when the intercom made an announcement, "Attention all guards retrieve Patient Zero, Tamara Mendoza."

Before the message officially ended every chair was squealing backwards to make room for the swarm of guards to enclose on me. I barely had a chance to look at Ed and Mat, their eyes were filled with dread. Mat barely had a chance to whisper, "Be strong". One of the guards must've seen him try to say something else when the mouth piece clamped shut.

Two guards tried to grab each of my arms, I shook out of their grip with a stomp to their feet and an elbow to their mid section. The others decided to be smart and had the collar shock me into submission. As my body went limp two other guards grabbed my arms to drag me away from the cafeteria. I didn't have a chance to count the steps and turns this time. The only thing on my mind was Mat's command "Be strong". There's no way he would risk telling me that if it wasn't dire.

Another set of door were opened, as I tried to lift my head to see where I was the feeling of something blunt hitting the back of my head blacked out my vision.

Young AdultSeriesSci Fi
1

About the Creator

Lucy Torralba

Just a writer at heart trying to tell some stories of my own. Currently working on one main story, will update whenever I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.