Fiction logo

Black Mamba

Only one of us will survive this heist.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Pic by Coppertist Wu - Unsplash

Black Mamba and I came face to face today

In the Sub-Saharan Africa land

Black me faced black her

We both knew, only one be left standing

She was large, long, highly venomous and fast

I was none of those things

I was black like Mamba, that's all we had in common

I envisioned my entire lineage of black ancestors watching

Shouting silent words of valiant, courageous and brave escape

Do this, they shouted. Do that and you will live another day

But, alas. I could not hear their echoing wise voices

Reaching from across the ages

Black Mamba, the most feared snake in Africa

Due to size, aggression, venom toxicity and speed

Of onset of symptoms after envenomation

Classified as of medical importance by the

World Health Organization, you are somehow important

You are fearless, aggressive and tenacious!

Black Mamba's venom is a protein of low molecular weight

As a result the venom spreads quickly within the bite tissue.

Your venom is the most fast acting venom of any snake species

Containing highly potent neurotoxins and cardiotoxins

I ran, you ran faster

Coiled long slender body around me, bit my neck

I became paralyzed.

Black Mamba stole my life!

Microfiction

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Go Black Mamba! Lol, just kidding! I didn't expect that ending. I thought you'd win by somehow stealing his fangs 🤣🤣🤣

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    "Black Mamba's venom is a protein of low molecular weight..."...that selectively binds to muscarinic cholinergic receptors. Why, or why didn't you add this important detail? It was a fun read:)

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Novel ~ 'Alas' we always have so much in 'common' - May I share with you? - As the only Jewish kid growing up in a small town - We were relentlessly teased - Perhaps not as profoundly as other plights - I always Feel-U - Miss U - J-BuD Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Great use of comedy 🎭 - at least I hope it was tongue in cheek as laughed aloud at “I was none of those things!” 🤣 Unique work and take on the challenge.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Tense! 😱

  • Asif Aliabout a year ago

    you make me cry.i love it,love your writing art and love you my friend

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Exceptional writing! I could feel your words and passion. Great job!!!

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.