Fiction logo

Birbal Drew a Painting that was imagined by Emperor Akbar. Akbar did not give a clue even then Birbal did a wonderful job.

Akbar and Birbal

By Ainy AbrahamPublished about a month ago 1 min read
7
Birbal Drew a Painting that was imagined by Emperor Akbar. Akbar did not give a clue even then Birbal did a wonderful job.
Photo by Ruth H Curtis on Unsplash

“I fancy a painting Birbal. Please make one and give it to me in one week.”

Akbar’s order leaves Birbal confused.

“I am a minister, my lord. How am I going to make a painting?”

“Are you dismissing my order?” asks Akbar. “You have one week to make an imaginative painting otherwise you will be hanged,”

This command put the Birbal in tension. Emperor Akbar did not give any clue to his imaginative painting.

Anyways Birbal gets an idea. One week later, he comes to the court with a painting wrapped in cloth. He uncovers the painting, and to the surprise of Akbar, there is nothing but a painting of ground and sky on the canvas.

“What is this, Birbal?” the emperor asks.

“Your majesty, it is the painting that I did with imagination. As you can see, it is a painting of a cow eating grass.”

“But where are the cow and the grass?” asks the annoyed Akbar.

“The grass was eaten away by the cow.”

“So where is the cow?”

“Your majesty, now as the cow has eaten away all the grass, what would she do on a piece of barren land? So she left to her shed.”

Akbar was speechless and admired Birbal once again.

Originally written on Medium

HistoricalShort StoryClassical
7

About the Creator

Ainy Abraham

Listening to stories has always captivated me. Now, I want to share my thoughts through my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    That really shows his wise nature

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    I really enjoyed it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.