Fiction logo

Below Zero

A Bleak, Snowy First Attempt at Micro-Fiction

By Ace MeleePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Art AI-Generated by Dream Wombo, edited by Ace Melee via Picsart

It’s been two weeks since Earth was kicked out of orbit.

The world was trapped in a bleak, icy cacoon.

0°F, and we were in The Bahamas.

"We could make our snow cones here," Maddox said, loud enough for me to hear him outside the house, where we camped near the shore.

The wind gusts turned the snow and freezing rain into rocks. I was covered in many layers of clothing and still shivering. Dragging a wagon full of chopped wood in eternal night sucked! Frostbite numbed me and gave me nerve pain at the same time.

“Far north and south are used to this crap!” Castra replied.

“Their temps might be like negative hun--"

“It’s going to get inevitably colder here too, Maddox!”

She was right. Soon, it would be too dangerous to go outside.

I picked up as many stacks of wood as possible, with more still left. I shouted, “Can someone help me over here?!”

“Sure, kiddo,” Castra replied.

Castra and I delivered the firewood next to the metal can housing our fire. Windows were opened to prevent carbon monoxide poisoning. I collapsed on the couch. "First, the freeze. Now, the heat," I murmured.

Jazer burst through the side door, looking like a popsicle. “Despite this snowball Earth, they still left most of us to die," he growled before slamming a paper on the table.

Microfiction

About the Creator

Ace Melee

Hello, everyone! Creative writing is an essential asset for me since it frees my imagination from getting hit by the barrier of the skull. It hurts when it's locked in and roars when oppressed- it was destined to soar.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Ace Melee (Author)5 months ago

    Whoops! I forgot to put an Author's Note in the comments yesterday. I feel and plan on expanding the story once submissions have closed (and I will add another work in the middle). The cause of the Earth being kicked out of orbit and who left most of them to die will be revealed. Yeah, I left you all on a bad cliffhanger.

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    I'm with Randy on this one. 250 words can't cover all these questions. Love the premise.

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    This is hitting close to home with the climate crisis and our beloved Mother Earth putting us in our place. Well done!

  • Kicked out of orbit into a wider orbit or completely askew & leaving the galaxy? Because if that's the case, it's gonna get a lot colder. And left us to die? Where did they go? I have so many questions, lol!

Ace MeleeWritten by Ace Melee

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.