Fiction logo

Being

Utter euphoria or inevitable scourge?

By James LassiterPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Being
Photo by Bill Jelen on Unsplash

"Freedom. Power. On scales the human brain could never hope to comprehend. And how could it? Humans are entirely preoccupied with the minutiae of day-to-day living. Working to live. The struggles of finding a mate and raising a brood to adulthood, hoping that they were able to educate them enough to be productive members of a society that, let's be honest, will eventually be its own undoing.

If you had the option to live outside of that, wouldn't you? Ever wonder what it's like to soar through clouds, riding the wind? Or feel the crunch of bones beneath your jaw? And don't get me started on gold. The elation I get from the sensation of gold between my claws is unparalleled. I know my own verbal explanation won't do the true feeling justice. So let me put it this way, humanity is pain. Draconic life is just that, really living. Everybody dies, but not everybody lives. I didn't understand that until this curse was placed upon me."

The local sorceress, Izabel, stared blankly at me. My narrow frame, sunken eyes, and dirty rags for clothes had to be a little more than distracting.

"So, let me get this straight," she sat up in her chair opposite me, a mixture of intrigue and skepticisim hung across her face. "You, a lowly farmer, took up the quest to slay the dragon that's plagued the countryside..."

"Yes," I nodded.

"And you're telling me the man-eating beast put a curse on you, because why again?"

"He said..."

"He?"

"Yes. Famdral, a male dragon and prince, he told me. Of a royal draconic bloodline. Their numbers have dwindled substantially and they only reproduce once a decade. Hardly sustainable with people starting quests to slay them. But apparently, they have the magical ability to curse humans and turn them, temporarily, into dragons. When I encountered him, he subdued me and placed a massive claw over my head and my heart. According to Famdral, I was infused with his own energy. I passed out immediately. When I awoke, I knew something was...different. That something was me. I was a dragon. But like I said, only temporarily. I spent the day struggling to fly, failing to hunt sheep, and succeeding in burning down a forest. It took a massive toll and I was powerless to resist the drain on my mind and body. I woke the following day, once again a man. It was then that I truly understood the agony of humanity. I noticed a small gold coin on the ground beside me."

"So, why is the curse only temporary? It's hardly a solution for their decreased population."

"I think it's more than that. Or at least has a deeper meaning. And I can only guess because of my own newfound experience."

"Go on," she said.

"Empathy."

"Explain."

"Well, I took up a quest, like so many before me, to slay a dragon. A monster that I believed to be a scourge on mankind and this world."

"And?"

"And now I think it's the other way around. We, humans, are the scourge."

"How so?" And maybe speak a little quieter. Don't want any townsfolk overhearing your blasphemous notions and barging in with torches. I'll hear you out, though, only because you helped me during the Mage Trials. Which, hearing you now, humans being the problem is sounding more and more accurate. Non-magical ones, of course."

"Plenty to unpack there," I said. "But for a later date."

She gestured me to continue my theory.

"Well, after my experience being a dragon, like I said, being human is painful in comparison."

"And you believe this Fandal?"

"Famdral, and yes, I do."

"How long have you had this curse?"

"About a month now."

"A month!? Jay Maddox! You've been periodically turning into a dragon for a month and you're only just coming to me about it!?"

"Correct," I answered with a pang of shame.

"And why on Earth would you wait so long?"

"That's what I've been trying to tell you. I actually LIKE being a dragon."

"Come again?"

"The freedom of flight, the size, the power. Not to mention existing as a being of pure magic is unlike anything man could hope to experience. It's utterly euphoric. If everyone knew what it was like, they would be repulsed by the notion of destroying these amazing creatures."

"So, you didn't come to me to lift the curse?"

"I didn't. Or well, I did. I want you to make it permanent."

"....," she stared at me as she processed my request.

"Jay," she continued after a moment. "What you're asking of me is..."

"Unheard of, I know. Please, you have to trust me."

"How does it work?" She asked changing topics.

'The curse?"

"Yes, do you turn every full moon? Once a week? Can you control it?"

"Gold."

"Gold?"

"Any time I touch gold, I can turn at will. I know, sounds crazier still."

"Jay, I've never heard of such a curse and I've mastered every school of magic known to man."

"Exactly! Known to man! There's so much more we don't know. The dragons came first. They don't just know all magic, they create it!"

"Jay, everyone knows magic came from the Source. It created all life, including dragons."

"You don't get it! And how could you!? You're only human!" I stood up so fast, my chair fell back. I could feel the power in me boiling as my anger turned to rage.

"Jay, I need you to calm down," she got up as well, inching toward me, more likely for the door behind me.

"No! That's the problem with you humans!"

"You, humans!?"

"You don't understand! You'll never understand! Unless..."

I had an idea.

"Unless what, Jay?"

She and I were face-to-face now but I could tell she was tense. She side-eyed the door. I did the same, then looked back at her. She lunged but I caught her by the shoulders.

"Jay, what are you doing? What's that around your neck? No!"

"I'm so sorry, Izabel. It's the only way."

Then I felt it. The pain and the pleasure of the transformation, but I concentrated it. No, I couldn't turn all the way or I'd be caught for sure. Just my hands, now claws. I pressed one to her forehead and another in the center of her chest. I took a deep breath and exhaled, letting a part of my power flow into her.

"You see, Izabel. The royal line not only has the ability to turn others but also GIVES the ability to turn others. The solution."

Her eyes went wide before closing. I laid her gently on the ground. I took the chain from around my neck and stared at the gold coin that hung from it for only a moment, before placing it around hers.

"Now, my love," I said to her quietly. "You'll know the truth."

And with that, I took my leave.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

James Lassiter

I love writing. I've loved expressing myself and my thoughts on paper at a young age. As I grow older, my desire to spread light and love through every platform possible grows with me. If you happen across my platform, say hi.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.