Fiction logo

Becky and the Handsome Stranger

Skating on the Frozen Pond

By Lawson WallacePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Becky and the Handsome Stranger
Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

Becky and the Handsome Stranger

The pond was in the center of a park a few miles outside of town. There were benches and concession stands selling hot cocoa. It was a clear cold day, and ice skaters were sitting on the benches to put on their ice skates.

Becky got out of her car and reached in to grab her skates from the passenger seat, she then trudged to the pond, she was winded by the time she sat down on a bench. “I really need to lose weight,” she thought as she sat and caught her breath.

A few minutes later, Becky was skating happily across the frozen pond.

The good-looking man with the mirror sunglasses surveyed the pond with a critical eye. He saw what he was looking for and skated toward Becky, taking his time and enjoying the moment.

“Why are men so shallow?” Becky wondered as she watched the pretty women get hit on. “I’m a lot nicer than those shallow bimbos, why don’t they give me a chance?” she was thinking about giving up and going home when she collided with a guy she hadn’t seen before.

Becky’s head was turned, she was watching two classmates as they smoothly skated around her laughing and holding hands. “You’re both empty-headed bimbos,” she thought as she stared daggers at the perfect couple. She didn’t see the man, so she didn’t swerve to avoid him, Becky was knocked off her feet by the collision.

“Why don’t you watch where you’re going?” Becky almost shouted, but the words died in her throat when she saw the good-looking man standing over her with his hand extended and a dazzling smile.

“I’m so sorry, I should have been paying attention to what was in front of me.” The man said as he helped Becky to her feet. “I was admiring the scenery, it’s such a pretty day. Can I buy you a cup of hot cocoa to make it up to you?”

Becky couldn’t believe what she was hearing, her cheeks got redder, and not because of the cold. “I love like that.” She answered as the handsome stranger took her hand and lead her to the concession stand.

“I’m Dave,” it’s nice to meet you,” Dave said as he handed Becky the steaming cup of cocoa. “He actually seems interested in me, “Becky thought, as she and Dave sat at a picnic table to drink their cocoa.

“I haven’t seen you here before, are you new in town?” Becky asked, “I’m here every weekend, I would have noticed you.” She blushed deeper as she remembered to tell him her name. “I’m Becky, I work part-time and go to school. I skate here often; I’m trying to lose weight.”

“I wouldn’t worry too much about your weight.” Dave said, “You look wonderful.” Becky’s heart skipped a beat. She was on cloud nine as the conversation went on for over an hour. Becky was completely in love when Dave offered to walk her back to her car.

“I travel a lot,” Dave said as they walked to the parking lot. I’m a Pharmaceutical salesman, I talk doctors into buying medications that are needless and overpriced. I make a good living too.”

As he talked, Dave looked around to see if anyone was paying too close of attention. I like my job,” Dave smiled when he saw that they were unobserved. “It allows me to indulge in my passion without getting caught.”

Dave lunged at Becky, grabbing her by the collar of her coat, Becky screamed as she yanked the blade guards from her skates that were tied together and hanging around her neck. “Not today, and not me, your sick freak,” Becky said, as she took the skates from around her neck and slashed at Dave, ruining his handsome face and slicing into his carotid artery.

Becky dropped the bloody skates on the ground and gasped as Dave bled out on the snow. Becky screamed; soon she had a crowd around her, several people called the police. Becky went to the police station and gave a statement.

She was met outside the station by a group of Reporters. It didn’t take long to figure out who Dave really was. He was a serial killer that had been plaguing the region for years. Becky was lauded as a hero.

The Aftermath:

The incident changed Becky’s life. She took her health more seriously, she joined a health club and got in shape. She then earned a Criminal Justice Degree from the Community College. She graduated from the Police Academy at the top of her class. She retired twenty-five years later, a decorated officer.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Lawson Wallace

Sixty-one year old married guy, currently living in South Carolina. I live with my wife twenty miles outside of Columbia. I write about my personal experiences and anything else I can think of.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.