Fiction logo

BARNABY JONES!!!! Starring Buddy Ebsen

Also Starring....

By Digital_FootPrintPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0069557/mediaviewer/rm3986657024/?ref_=tt_ov_i

The gems you see in those classic tv shows. I have been watching a lot of episodes of Barnaby Jones lately and I noticed that they had many well-known actors appear on the aforementioned tv series earlier up in their careers.

In one particular episode titled “School of Terror” from the 8th season, they had a young Madeleine Stowe. The late great comedian John Witherspoon also starred in this episode.

Also, Ed Harris is in this one and he just knocked out Pops. That dirty heathen! Now these guys are planting drugs in his room. I see that Sean Penn is also in this episode too. Does Madeliene Stowe still act! Goes and does a quick search on IMDB.com.

  • Sidenote: Lee Meriweather is one fine lady. I remember seeing that name in different movies over the years and I always thought that it was a dude but she’s very much a woman. A very, very beautiful woman indeed.

She hasn’t acted a lot over the last 10 years or so. I remember that babe in Unlawful Entry (heck of a title by the way) starring along side the late Ray Liotta. She was the tender age of 21 in this episode.

This guy is doing his best James Caan impression. He’s doing his damndest trying to sound like him and he even styled his air like Caan did during this time. The other day, they aired the first episode of Barnaby Jones and to my surprise, I see Frank Cannon in the first scene of the episode.

I knew they had collaborated later on in the series in a two parter but I had no earthly idea that he was in the very first episide of the show as well. How cool was that!

This is my type of show. This is definitely a step up from that de-facto series finale of Barnaby Jones that aired the other night. They were trying to launch another show but things didn’t work out because that show never came into fruition.

Another reason was that Barnaby jones was hardly in the episide. I know that they were desperately in search of a spin-off but you’re going to need to main character to be involved for it to be successful.

I said this earlier in the post but Lee Meriweather is one absolutely, stunning lady especially early on in the series. I think another reason that the spin-off wasn’t going to make it was because Lee Meriweather was starting to show her age towards the end of the series.

Another cool thing about Barnaby Jones was that while a lot of the other tv characters would always ask for a drink of liquor, he asks for a glass of milk.

He’s on the Kurt Angle side of the game. I wonder if that milk was homogenized. Speaking of actors appearing in this show when they were younger, I just saw this one man and I couldn’t,for the life of me, think of who he was.

I just knew that I had seen him in something else before. It turns out that he was on the show “The Wire” during its second season. Remember when McNulty and crew were trying to bust up that shipping crew to see who was smuggling narcotics and dead hookers into the ports.

Well, he played the father of one of the men that were helping those guys do that. His name was Robert Hogan courtesy of IMDB.com. One of my favorite sites these days.

He played Louis Sobotka on The Wire and his kid was Nicholas and his brother was Frank. RIP to Frank’s character on that show. “The Greeks” didn’t have to do him like that.

It was sad to find out that he passed away almost 2 years ago. We are definitely losing some of our elders. Too many in my opinion but I guess the circle of life wouldn’t be complete without that other thing.

Barbany Jones told him to drop it or he would kill em’ where he stood. Now that’s a cold line right there. Awesome episode indeed.

SeriesHumor
Like

About the Creator

Digital_FootPrint

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.