Fiction logo

Ball meets field

It's not If,But why!

By Vishnu PriyaPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
1

There was a young boy Peter who came regularly to play soccer practice but he never made it to play as a team. While he was practicing, his father would sit on the bench at far end of the field and waiting for him. The matches started beginning, but for a 5 days, Peter didn't show up for matches, or the practice. It continues. He didn't show up for Quarter or even semi finals. The coach was very upset on him. He never gave him a chance and he got upset when he didn't show up. Contradiction!!

Finally Peter appeared for the final soccer game, went to coach and asked," Coach ,you have always kept me in the reserves and never let me play in, But today ,please let me play!”. Coach said, "Peter! I'm sorry. I Cannot let you in”. There are better players than you and besides, it’s our finals. The reputation of our school is at stake and I cannot count you or take a chance on you". Peter pleaded to coach, “Coach , I promise I will not let you down. I beg to you please let me play this time”. The coach had never seen Peter plead like that before. Atlas he said, "Okay! Go and play, But remember, I'm going against my judgement I shouldn't do this. Still I'm doing it. So Don’t let me down or our school".

The game started, Peter played like a House on fire. Yeah, whenever he got the ball, he shot a goal. No doubts, he was the star of game. His team made a history. Stop! Don't skip it. This is not the end I want to say. When the game finished, the coach went up to him and said, "Peter, How could I have been so wrong ? My judgements never gone wrong .I have never seen you played like this before. How is it possible? How did you play so well?".

Peter replied, "Coach ! My father is watching me today”. Coach turned around and looked at the place where Peter's father used to sit. There was no one. He said, “Peter! you father used to sit there when you came for practice, But I don't see anyone there today!"

Peter said, “There is something I never told you. My father was blind. Still he used to come and support me. But week before, He died. Today is the first day he is watching me fro above. I’m sure he was proud of me by the time they said I'm the star of the match”. Atlas ,The coach felt very bad about himself For condemn Peter about his playing skills.

So the inner gratification is not for success or victory. Its a fulfilment that comes from having it done. Peter proved it. I hope you liked the story.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Vishnu Priya

I believe that words have the power to shape the world and inspire change.My name is Vishnu Priya and I am a writer with a focus on suspenseful thrillers and sci-fi, technologies.I'm excited to continue crafting stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.