Fiction logo

Bad Day

Diary Of Someone Who's Just Fed Up

By Corey TurnerPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1

So, you'll never believe what happened to me at work yesterday. Well, to get an idea of how crazy it is, I'll tell you a bit about myself first. I'm a postman. I work very early morning and do rounds in the same blocks every day. Except on weekends of course. It can get tiresome at times. For example, some people really can't write legibly, so I end up putting a letter through the wrong box.

important one but I don't argue back just grit my teeth accept it and move on thought what else can I do I see these people nearly every day I can't imagine how hard my job would be if any of them became difficult anyway I do all this because of my family things weren't bad when my wife at a job however for

always popping in and out of the hospital. I don't want to say what's up with her, it's not my place to tell but all I can say is, it's bad. My son's been dealing with it well, but he's got other things on his plate. I haven't been able to give him the luxuries that other kids should have at their age, and I think the other kids are noticing. I have a feeling he's being picked on for his aura of poverty.

I want to help, but if I step in, he'll only be picked on more for sure. It never looks good when you have to get someone to fight your own battles, especially an authoritative figure like a parent. I'm hoping this will become some valuable life experience for when he's older, but I'm afraid that's the best outcome of this. I definitely can't afford to indulge in any spending for him, because that leads me to my main problem.

I can't afford rent this month. It's worse than it sounds too. I've been late many times before, and I have a feeling that this will be the last straw before we have some hefty notices and things repossessed from us. This all weighed heavy on my mind when I was doing my usual rounds two days ago. I was mindlessly going door to door when I noticed something odd.

I picked it up and gave time to examine it, which I normally never do. It was hefty, I can tell you that. Much thicker than the usual letters I hand out. I looked at the front and it was blank. Odd, I thought. I really should not have this. Letters with typos or incomplete addresses get put away in some filing place to be investigated to see if we can find the destination.

but this was completely blank, so it shouldn't have been in my bag in the first place. I checked the seal. I don't know why, I should never be caught doing anything like that. However, as I pried it slightly, it flicked open with ease. I really shouldn't be doing this, I thought. My mind continued. But what if I can find more information inside?

was thick so it may have been forms and forms of addresses on them. I pulled out the contents and my mind was blown. It was a wad of cash and when I say wad I mean wad. It was more money than I had ever seen in one place my whole life. I froze but only for a second before I realized the sight.

and pulling out cash. Not good. I quickly stuffed it into my pocket. There was no way I could get it back in the envelope fast enough, and even if I did, I'd just be fiddling more with an envelope in public. I carried on my rounds and saved the mystery until I was in my van.

Once I finally got a moment to myself, I pulled out the money. And while flicking through it, I saw a note. I don't remember what it said exactly, as I've now since disposed of the note and the envelope. But it talked about how they'd seen me around for a while and knew about my situation at home. They said that I should treat my boy and my wife to something nice and pay off that pesky landlord.

I wish I could find who wrote it, but there was no signature. It was anonymous So I took it as it was and went to do exactly what they said. I bought some clothes for my kid and a nice bracelet for my wife It wasn't much but it was hopefully a start for something finally nice in our lives Yesterday however was a much different tone than the day before

happened. So I made my rounds and gave the usual letters to the usual people. Once the pile started to thin out in my bag, I noticed another red envelope. I got excited, but I was able to hide the emotion this time. I still couldn't afford to pull it out in public anyway, in both literal senses. As I was passing a gap between houses, someone ran up from behind

grabbed me violently and dragged me into the alleyway. I was shocked, to say the least. The assailant shouted at me to hand over my bag, but before I could react they were already pulling it away from me. Once I got my bearings, I managed to wrestle them back. He stared at me angrily and pulled out a knife. If I wasn't terrified before, I was now. I mean,

up with the thought that no one would rob a postman. People usually dread what I carry, not want it. But here we were, about to tussle over bills and endearing letters from old relatives who didn't know how to email. I know you took it! he screamed. I was confused by this. You messed with the wrong people! he continued.

what he was talking about, but he wasn't having any of it. However, things became clear as soon as he yelled about giving him the red envelope. Through the clarity, I knew he must have seen me yesterday and wanted the next kitty for himself. I strongly told him no, and that's when the strangest thing happened. He held out his knife. Turned it.

stabbed himself over and over and over. I ran over to try to stop him. We tussled around, but the best I got was holding the handle as he fell. I backed off, now covered in speckles of blood. Before leaving, I wiped the handle of the knife as best as I could and got into my van, and emptied the red envelope. I didn't manage to read the note before destroying the envelope and note when I got

home. I managed to clean up well too. None of my family suspected anything.

Today went by without a hitch. No attackers or red envelopes. That was the last I saw of the red envelopes. What I got wasn't much, but it's enough for me and my family to live well for at least a few months. It's late and tonight there's a story in the news that someone was attacked and killed in an alley yesterday morning, and that there's evidence they were attacked viciously.

However, I couldn't tell anyone. How could I? No one would believe me. I felt it was just better to lay low and let it blow over. I haven't told anyone either. It's safer that way. Plus, I don't want to worry my family. Thinking about it, I don't think anyone would believe what happened to me at work yesterday.

But you do, right?

HorrorYoung AdultShort StoryHumorFan FictionfamilyAdventure
1

About the Creator

Corey Turner

Reading really is fundamental

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.