Fiction logo

Atreya in the Valley of Dragons

Fate drives us towards our destinies and sometimes we are unaware of why...

By Michael CronePublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

Chapter 1

I.

There weren’t always dragons in the valley. For the longest time it was just us. The Jenari inhabited this land for generations. Plague, famine, war… yet through it all, we survived. A Deep connection to the land and the magic it possessed is the special gift granted to us by Mother Eternity. Our technology is highly cherished and has allowed us to create healthy trade routes with the outside realms. Exports alone can support society. This allows us to focus on creating beautiful art and culture that people travel far and wide to experience. At first the valley wasn’t keen on allowing outsiders to cross our borders, but over time people came to accept the diversity and enrichment of our culture that stemmed from it. Our valley is a rare melting pot in a massively segregated world and the Jenari are flourishing because of it. All are welcome… except dragons.

Their recent migration has caused quite the stir amongst the council. I hear whisperings from Father. He sits upon the council and has been informing my mother of the tales that are being spread throughout the city. He thinks I’m asleep when he speaks of these events, but I’ve learned from the best and know when to keep an ear open. Father could see my lust for adventure, which is why he made sure to speak of dragons when he thought I wasn’t listening. I had always wanted to see one and now they were so close. I would climb to the top of my favorite tree daily hoping to catch a glimpse… a wing maybe or even a tail. It never happened but just to see the smoke rising in the distance would make my mind race with thoughts of what the encounter would be. Often I would be scolded by Mother afterwards but I didn’t care. It was worth it.

The night I heard my father talking about the council's plan for elimination was the night I could no longer pretend to be asleep.

“They’re innocent! Why would they want to do that?” I asked frantically, startling my parents as I entered the room.

“Atreya! You’re supposed to be in bed.” My mother scolded as she tried to usher me away. My father gently laid a hand on her shoulder before kneeling down to speak with me.

“How long have you been listening?”

“Every night.” I replied bashfully. An amused smirk lifts the corners of his mouth.

“You must understand, my dear. People are naturally afraid of what they do not understand. It is more comfortable to believe the tales than to learn for themselves. We’ve never encountered dragons so close to our home and their migration could mean more are on the way. If that were to happen, our valley would become overrun.”

“But they haven't done anything to deserve our hatred. What if they just need a place to go? What if they are being pushed from their homes? There are so many possibilities as to why they are here.”

“I don’t think it is that simple.” He shakes his head. “Dragons can be violent creatures. Whole civilizations have fallen to them.” He glances quickly at Mother before returning his gaze to mine. “Most of the town considers this a bad omen.”

“Not every dragon is bad. We cannot let fear drive our decisions.” I think for a moment, trying to reason with my father. “What if you were cast out of every place you ever tried to live? What if they just need a place to call their own?” Father smiles and looks at me with admiration.

“You are a wise and gentle soul.” He strokes my hair gently. “I love you for that. Unfortunately, preserving the future of our civilization is the council's number one priority.” He stands. “We must do what needs to be done to preserve our future.”

“We haven’t even given them a chance.” I cry out. “Is nobody going to go and see?”

“Nobody is willing to put themselves in that kind of danger. They could be good… you are correct. They could also be the violent monsters we have heard of. Should this be true, the loss of life would not be worth the risk.”

“I refuse to believe it. If they were monsters wouldn’t they have burnt the city to the ground already?”

“Not if they are unaware of our presence. By visiting we risk exposure. By risking our exposure we risk our future. We are connected to the rest of the land and without our exports Messonia will suffer. Unfortunately, there is no other way.”

“I’ll go.” I state confidently.

“You will do no such thing.” My mother reacts.

“Someone has to do it, before we condemn these creatures as monsters. Our ancestors thought the same thing when outsiders arrived to the valley. Many of them thought it would be the downfall of our civilization and it was the best thing that happened to the Jenari. What if it is the same with the dragons? They could offer us so much that we might not know.” My father smiles warmly.

“Oh, my child. You are very wise and I do not disagree, but I’m afraid your wisdom is lost upon the ears of the council. They will not risk life for what might be.” He gently caresses my cheek. “I’m sorry it has to be this way.”

“At least give me a chance, Papa?” I could see the heartbreak in his eyes.

“I wish I could, my child. Please think no more of this and rest tonight with nothing but peace in your mind. Everything will work out in the end. It always has.”

“Yes, Papa.” I left it at that. My heart was broken at the thought of murdering the dragons. I laid in bed thinking of what I could do to save them until sleep took hold.

II.

The soft cushion of moss beneath my feet. The sound of waterfalls in the distance. Something whispering my name. Pushing through thick brush I entered a clearing, the sun shining down, casting small rainbows from the waters surrounding. The sound of wings overhead and a large shadow. I glance up and witness the magnificence of a dragon as it lands before me. The ground trembles. The sun glints off its beautiful turquoise scales. It seems to be waiting for me. As I approach, my heart races. I expect the dragon to open its jaws and swallow me whole or engulf me in a fountain of flame. Instead its eyes hold kindness and they beckon me forward. Soft and welcoming. As I reach out and lay my hand upon its snout… a sense of peace. The softness of its scales surprises me. I feel its strength. A smile curls the edges of my lips. Suddenly the ground begins to quake. It splits open around me. The waterfalls turn to blood and the forest is lit aflame. The stench of death and decay. Darkness fills the sky above, first turning the clouds a deep purple and then a blood red. Lightning! The dragon has turned to bone and quickly becomes ash. On the horizon, a monstrous figure, cloaked in shadow. It reaches out for me. Fear strikes my chest as its fingers grasp around me. I am falling and then…

III.

…I wake up. Still breathing heavily and drenched in sweat. I gaze at my hands, still feeling the dragon. As soon as I realized I was safe in my room I rushed to my journal and began to recount the dream. After reading it a few times, I knew this was more than just a dream. It was an omen. Somewhere deep inside of my spirit I knew something was wrong. Was this a sign of the danger from the Jenari? No. It was something much worse. I had never felt fear like this before. Not even at the thought of monstrous dragons burning down our city. I don’t know how I knew it but I did. The dragons were calling for my help. They needed me to do… something. To show me something. But what?

The sun was just beginning to cast a faint glow on the horizon as I snuck from my room, knapsack on my back. I filled it with rations and a few jars of water, my compass and a map of the surrounding mountain range. I was just about to grasp the door handle when Father’s voice startled me.

“Where are you going?” I turned to see him sitting by the fire, with a warm cup of chaqthee.

“Papa, I…”

“It’s about the dragons.. isn’t it?” I remained silent as I nodded my head lightly. He remained quiet. I expected him to be upset but was instead surprised by the gentle tone in his voice. “I’ve seen it as well. In my dreams. A dark shadow. The forest burning. Blood in the waters.” He takes a small sip from his cup. I approach slowly.

“How long?”

“A few days. It started off as a short night-terror. Every time I sleep it worsens.”

“What does this mean, Papa?” He contemplates for a moment.

“I’m not sure, my child, but it can mean nothing good.” He glances into my eyes, a somber sadness fills his. He rises from the chair and walks over to one of the bookshelves that adorned the walls of our home. “Fate drives us towards our destinies and sometimes we are unaware of why. You have always felt a connection to the magic of this land.” He removes a few books and stacks them on the table. “As we grow old I’ve watched the magic fade from each of the Jenari. We know how to harness it so it can be wielded, but over time we lose touch with the true connection.” He removes an oak box with a small golden lock from the space behind the books and returns to his chair. “Not you, child. I can still see it burning bright within you.”

“Papa… I must-

“I know. There is nothing I can do to stop you.” He smiles softly and contemplates for a moment. “All I ask from you is to return safely to your mother and I. Should there be any signs of malice… return immediately. Please. I do not wish to bury my child.” This struck me deeply. I lunged forward into his arms and embraced him like I have not done since a youngling. “I believe in your purpose and I know destiny drives you forward.” He places a gentle kiss on the top of my head before we let go. He glances down at the box once more before opening it. “This has been with our family for generations. I was saving it for the day you took my place on the council but I feel now is as befitting a time as any.” He removes a journal made of dragon scales and hands it to me. I run my hands over the cover. It feels exactly the same as in my dream.

“Is this?” He nods.

“I believe you’ll find the answers you seek within.” I run my hands across the cover once more before packing the journal into my knapsack.

“I will find out what’s going on, Father. I will return and we will conquer whatever this darkness is. Together.” He smiles again but I can see the sadness in his eyes. I reach out and gently touch his cheek this time. “Don’t worry. I will return.” He clasps my hand and nuzzles his cheek into my palm.

“I love you, Atreya. I will do what I can to hold off the council's decision, but you must be swift.” I nod. “There is a mountain path to the north that will lead you quickly through the forest. Stick to the path and you will arrive where the dragons have landed. They may be on the move so look for the smoke. That should guide you the rest of the way.” I nod assuredly.

“I know Mother won't be happy but tell her I love her. Please.”

“Let me worry about your mother. You worry about finding the dragons.” We embraced once more before parting ways.

As I left the main gate I understood that this could be the last time I saw the valley should anything go awry. The thought left me with a feeling of sadness. Alas, no time to think of such things. I must continue forward with optimism in my heart and a steadfast will. If this was truly my fate… to save the dragons… to save the city… then I could not fail. I glanced once more at the city I knew to be home before disappearing into the woods.

“Mother Eternity… if you’re listening, please be kind to me.” I didn’t know it yet but I had just embarked on the first steps of a massive journey that fate had written for me.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Michael Crone

Fiction, Poetry, and everything in between. Hints of life and love. The world we share comes to life within the words of the page. Thank you for taking the time to read. Enjoy <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.