Fiction logo

Asuncion the ancient dragon of wisdom

La'Vaughn's Pov

By Rising Phoenix Published 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

-La'Vaughn's pov-


The only memory I have ... is of him.
My life before him, everything else is a blur, all I can remember is a strange creature taking me into his jaws. Asuncion found me in the forest at the edge of the beach.

I sat there meditating deeply.

*vision 👁 *

In the vision of his memories I rewatched Asuncion take me into his jaws in my minds eye. The small bundle began to cry, as our first encounter fills me with joy, fear, and anxiousness. The mysterious creature gently lowered the bundle back down on the sand. The small bundle of joys cries where only heard, by the waves of the red sea crashing on the shore.

Asuncion spoke to me telepathically .... what do you see. His voice echoed in my mind easing my tense body from breaking the trance. I took a deep breath of the moist air from the cave. I exhaled " yes I see it" silent tears began to stream down my face.

Asuncion said " Fear not little one, they have abandoned you, but I never will. My small form laid there crying flailing my arms in the air to be comforted. The sounds of the crashing waves could not soothe my little heart from what I felt.

Asuncion in response to my anguish, a sound so deathingly beautiful escaped his large jaws. A sound of a fearless whale crossing the ocean all alone, searching for someone.
My tiny forms angered cries turned into cooes of relief, as I heard Asuncion's lonely call.


My small hand reached out of the swaddled bundle of blankets. I cooed as I reached out excitedly to touch the Asuncion's snout. Asuncion exhaled gently while lowering his long neck to gently place his snout in my tiny hand. I squealed with excitement to finally touch another living organism.

* end of vision 👁*

My focus , as the meditative state was interrupted, by the shaking and rumbling of our home ..." the cave " I whispered. I looked at Asuncion worriedly. Asuncion stood up next to me, as his chest began to rumble deeply. His eyes began to glow a bright neon green. Asuncion's body began to change right infront of me : his nose began to grow into a muzzle, and his lightly tanned skin began to form the ridges of his scales.



I sat in awe and stumbled to me feet as: his back began to morph into a long tail, and his arms and legs began to thicken into large limbs the size of tree trunks with claws. Asuncion's body began to triple in size and height. The array of colors of his scales began to change, as if they where changing according to his scales: blue, green, yellow and orange. I held my breath at Asuncion's breath taking display of colors, as our home began to shake vigorously again. My eyes began to swell with tears, as i clung to his side hugging his giant frame. Asuncion's lips pulled up into a vicious grin. He bared his fangs, as his jaws opened to release a blood curttling screech. Asuncion's roar could be seen visibly pulsing through the air in super sonic waves. My body in response began to trembled and shake weakly at his side.


Asuncion enraged , by the enemy bombarding our underwater home with chaos. He stood tall, defiant, and with fierce intentions an emotions that I have never seen before.

I called to him "...Asuncion.... im scared" he turned his head to me. The entrance of the cave began to crumble. Asuncion turned his head to witness the crumbling cave's foundation. He spoke to " La' Vaughn, it's alright. I will protect you you with my life.
NO ONE will take away the memories and time we spent together - not even this human army." I hugged his ancient dragon frame that I have loved all my life " I DON'T WANT TO GO.



In the distance, the sounds of missiles dropping above us bellows on impact, as it shakes our home. Asuncion turned and looked at me once more " La'Vaughn take one of my shells from my breast". He turned to me exposing his neck and chest. I could hear his large thudding heart beat with anticipation.

I placed my hand over one of the many seashells on his chest. I looked up to Asuncion admiringly, as I place my hand of my favorite seashell. I asked him " will it hurt, ... if I take this from you". The worry in my eyes could not be hidden, by my dark brown bangs. He spoke gently " you are all I have of this world my child. I have lived for eons and centuries alone ". His now deep green dragon eyes looked at me as if it hurt to say " please take the shell, as a shield it will aid in protecting you ".

He slowly turned away, as the formation of the cave's rocks slowly crumbled into the red sea's depths. Asuncion looked back at me " La'Vaughn preppare for battle. If we are separated the shell will help me find you". Asuncion's neck leaned down to me. Placing his snout on the side of my face.

He began to whimper reassuringly nuzzling my face, as if he was taking in my scent to remember me. He exhaled and exhaled deeply blowing my bangs in my face causing me to smile and sneeze lightly one last time.
" Achoo" I sneezed, as I reached my arms up to rub his unique rough scales of shells, and the growing coral that sprouted from the spine of his back. I whispered to Asuncion " your so beautiful... the world is dying to meet you".




I finally found the courage to take his shell from his breast plate. The open space where the shell was removed began to shrink in size, as the surrounding shells began to camouflage the open space. Slowly, miragting to close the newly opened space on his chest. I took a deep breath, as I placed the shell against my arm.

Asuncion's voice startles me, as I try to relax " remember ... take multiple deep breaths, as the shell implants itself into your body".
I winced in pain, as his attempts to distract me failed. Asuncion's nerves and veins from deep within the shell began to pierce my skin. Slowly, moving deeper into the layers of my skin. Slowly, fusing a piece of him into my arm. I watch as the veins begin to pulse, moving gently with the rise and fall of my chest. " Together forever" ... I say sarcastically blocking out the unbearable pain.

Asuncion snorts in response to my snarky joke of the evening, as he shakes his head in response.

Telepathically he say " smh at you".

I shrug in response and ask him "what", as if on cue the missiles began to bombard the water above. We both looked at each other realizing the time.

Asuncion said, " La'Vaughn summon your Armor. We don't have much time left in this Cave. If this was an island we would be roasted chicken, by now".

I smirked " Well now someone's hungry" I teased.


I began to chant " reveal thy self and all will be well". Two stones began to pull apart "hear thy call". The borders revealed a secret area where my Armor was hidden. I reached to pick up weirdly crafted helmet and place it on my head. The helmet was dyed in a blue or black color, but in the sun's light it almost looks gray when submerged under water.
The helmet was covered in small groves that replicated the coral reef.

I looked at Asuncion " why does my helmet look like a coral reef ?" " Also, was it your idea to use the hood of a car to create an armored breast plate?" Asuncion chuckled as if he was amused by my questions, " No, that was not me. Thank you 5 year old self ".
I gasped, " what why would you ever listen to me at that age. Once again I was too young to make my own decisions for myself".
I crossed my arms , as my cheeks puffed out embarrassingly that he would even remember such a thing. I pick up my spear made from the tooth from the jaws of a megalodon.
Asuncion sat patiently waiting for for me to mount his back. I groan, " alright alright " I say as I complain climbing up his back holding onto the coral and shells.

Even though, it seemed like minutes have passed. Only, seconds have graced us with enough time to have a decent Fair well before emerging from the under water cave.

~ to be continued~

FantasySci FiShort StoryAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Rising Phoenix

Hello everyone, here is a little background about me. My name is Phoenix, and I have been interested in poetry and short stories, as a child. My hopes are to inspire others through my creativity.

Please feel free to like share & sub :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.