Fiction logo

Asgard's Wall

The Lore of Loki

By J.B. MillerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Asgard's Wall
Photo by Vincent Botta on Unsplash

There are many stories of the God Loki. If you Google him, you will find millions of sites. He has fangirls and boys everywhere. His lore goes back to the earliest memories of humankind. Over the millennia, many have worshipped, feared, loved and loathed him. Some more than others.

No one other than Loki himself… herself… hell, I have known Loki for nigh on seven thousand years, and the bastard still confuses me.

I can only share the stories I know with you and hope you enjoy them. But, believe me, what you read here is hardly gospel truth. It is simply as I saw things and as Loki told me. That trickster is the reason we have the saying, 'don't believe anything you hear, and only half of what you see.'

When it comes to Loki, I would not even believe what I saw. The man is a pathological liar. But then again, he could tell you the truth, knowing you would never believe it. It's only one of the reasons I call him my best friend.

If you are wondering who I am, well, it's not important. I am just the narrator. What is important is the story itself. The first one I will share with you is the story of the walls of Asgard.

I am sure; many of you have heard it before. How the Giant and his horse asked for the Sun, Moon and the Goddess Freya. How it was too high of a price, but Loki came forward and said... tell him six months, if he can do it in that time, he can have his rewards.

Loki, being the trickster, turned himself into a Mare and lured away the Stallion helping the Giant. But, unfortunately, the wall was not finished on time.

The Aesir got out of paying, but Odin was sad… boohoo, they won through trickery. Loki got them what they wanted, but it was wrong.

Blah, blah, blah… Odin always was a whiny ass. So now, children, grab your e-reader and snuggle in. Because I am going to tell you what really happened.

Chapter 1

Inside the council chambers of Asgard, Gods bickered like politicians. The war between the Aesir and Vanir was over, and the Aesir stood triumphant. However, there were heavy casualties and damages.

The loss of life was less significant to those arguing than the protection of its rulers.

"The wall is in ruins," Odin all but yelled.

I took another sip of my ale and smirked into my cup. The old blowhard did like to state the obvious.

"Then we must rebuild it," Thor retorted.

Ahhh, that apple did not fall far from the tree.

Freya, ever the peacekeeper in this dysfunctional family, stepped forward.

"My darlings, we know these things. The question is how. We cannot take enough men from the guard to put to work on rebuilding it. We just do not have the resources. Our people are barely surviving as it is. We must do something soon so that they do not die. It is taking everything we have to feed and shelter those dependent upon us."

"We are Gods! They serve us, not the other way around," Odin waved dismissively.

His boy snorted his agreement while eyeing up a servant pouring a drink for those around the table. Only his mother's presence kept him from flipping the girl's skirts and fucking her bent over the table while looking for a way out of this mess.

The other 'Gods' would not even blink at such behaviour. Yet, I was the one they liked to look down upon.

"Without that rabble that you so despise blood, brother, there would be no one to serve you."

My double entendre had not gone unnoticed, and Freya sent a reproachful glance my way.

"Loki is right, my husband. Without our people, we are nothing. What are the Gods with no one to worship them?"

Odin slammed his fists onto the table and glared at all those around him.

"Then what are the nine worlds do you propose I do? We do not have the workers to repair the wall without taking it from somewhere else. If we take from somewhere else, then we starve or freeze the masses. We cannot spare guardsmen, or I would appear weak. So tell me, one of you be damned immortals, what do we do?"

Oh, it was too easy. The all-knowing all father did not have a fucking clue. I was about to open my mouth to make him aware of this very pertinent fact when a sentry entered the room.

He bowed on hand over his heart before begging forgiveness.

"My Lords, forgive my entry. But there is a male at the entrance to Midgard. He claims to be a master builder. He insisted that he speak to the Majesty Odin."

"What kind of pompous fool rides to our land and demands to see me? I should strike him down where he stands; how dare he?"

Yeah, I thought. The pompous fool was the one outside. That one I kept to myself, though.

"What does this 'Master Builder' seek? Tell us about him." I asked the guard. I made sure I was slouched in my chair, paying more attention to my wine than the goings-on about me.

"Lord Loki," the guard nodded in my direction, and I sighed internally.

Even those below me did not show me the respect I should deserve.

"The builder rode up on a giant stallion easily twenty hands high. The man himself stands at least eight-foot-tall," the guard began.

"A giant," Thor jumped to his feet, grabbing Mjölnir. But, as ever, he was ready to smash and bash. The brainless wonder never even thought that he would not wield one of the most potent weapons ever created if not for me.

I did love the boy, but at times, I wanted to hit him upside the head with that hammer of his. I nearly lost my own head making that bet with Brokkr and his brother. In the end, my lips were sewn shut, and my lovely wife was thankful for a week.

"Surely not," I quipped.

"We have defeated all those nasty giants. None are left to threaten the mighty Aesir," I rolled my eyes, hiding it behind another negligent sip of wine.

Honestly, this was the future ruler of the Aesir? May the Norns be kind to us all.

Fable
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.