Fiction logo

Apolobtuse

Apologizing for inconsequential things and not for those that matter

By Judey Kalchik Published 6 months ago 1 min read
20
Apolobtuse
Photo by Jocelyn Morales on Unsplash

{Episode opens as the camera pans across a shadowy living room and focuses on a hand reaching for ☕️ as its owner thumbs their 📱 to life, clicking on the Vocal bookmark as the screen lights up.}

Becky checks out her Wallet, just like every other Vocal Creator, purses her 👄 as she shuffles through the pages to try analyze what stories are getting noticed.

Then, as usual, she goes to her 27 Facebook groups devoted to Vocal Creators & their stories, poems, sci-fi, and horror writing. One by one she dives and flits, skillfully avoiding the ‘woe is me’ and ‘engage!/read!/clap!/follow!’ entreaties of the never-commenters.

Next comes Vocal Discord, and Becky refills her ☕️ before she opens the General channel.

“They’re back”, she mutters aloud to herself.

“They’re back, apologizing for what they already apologized about doing before they did it: they didn’t write anything for a week while ‘on break to clear the toxicity’.”

“Oh, come on. We all know that wasn’t a real apology then and it isn’t one now.”

“Ok- we all have people we enjoy reading, their own work and/or their comments. But unless you are writing me a check, Alice, there’s no reason to apologize for not writing on this platform. We’ll survive while you do you.”

“Y’know? You could apologize for your two word comments, thinly-veiled cutting quips, dramatic exasperation, and making everything about you.”

“Like that’ll happen. Sorry-not-sorry, Alice.”

{Camera pulls back; Becky sips and thumbs to Latest Stories.}

-

Comments welcome.

Microfiction
20

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Alice Bobby4 months ago

    Many of these thoughts are mine. I don't know how to utilize social media, so I just remark on stuff I see on Facebook. I also tend to interact more with individuals who read my stories than with those who, if they're lucky, just say "thank you" and go on. https://rankdle.io/buckshot-roulette

  • Well done. (I suppose I could just leave it there at two words, but wouldn't that be a bit on the nose, lol? Great word, btw.)

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    I am guilty of a lot of these musings. For one I dont know how to use social media, I comment on a few things when I find them on FB, I tend to engage more with people who read my stories because others just say thank you if you are lucky and move merrily along. I am confessing, I still will go at a pace that I am comfortable with, too much stress. None of us be perfect.

  • I sometimes tend to overapologise, for both things that matter and don't matter, for things that were my fault and were not. Like for everything. Do you have a word for that? Lol. Loved your story!

  • Thavien Yliaster6 months ago

    Apolobtuse, adj.: The description of a person who uses apologies as a message to earn attention and endearment of others while blatantly not recognizing their own faults and continuing on with their behavior that made said person self-isolate. By the words of it, Alice is more apolobtuse than she leads on and Becky isn't having it anymore. Meanwhile while allowing the toxicity to clear is just another phrase to mean, "I've left due to the amount of backlash I've been receiving. Not wanting all of this negative feedback, even if some of it is constructive, I decided to leave for now." Like a pond with a muddy bottom, the water is only as clear as much as one allows oneself to stir up the muck.

  • Test6 months ago

    Loved the sarcasm and the sentiment! Brilliant! 🤍

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Wonderful word and wonderfully written story for yhe challenge!!! 💕❤️❤️ No apologies here!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Great word. I'm not very active in the 2 or 3 Vocal-related Facebook groups I'm in. I really just don't do Discord. But I try to leave thoughtful comments on the stories I read.

  • Kenny Penn6 months ago

    Oooo I love this word! I think I’m going to use it in the future! I hate empty apologies. Great entry!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Great word, Judey. I might have to used this in my narcissistic stories. The narcissist does not know how to sincerely apologize. 🥰

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Ah, I've not really got to grips with the two Facebook groups I'm on, and am yet to dive into discord, but it's all social media isn't it. I think this platform rewards engagement in such a way that you feel like you're falling behind if you slacken the engagement any. I have sympathy for the apologists on that front, it actually reads "please don't forget I exist while I cook the dinner!"

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    I'm sorry, Judels! But, I love this a lot! great word, makes sense, memorable, would definitely use! Well done!

  • Excellent take on the challenge and a great word

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Oh man do I like this slight jab (not slight) wonderfully penned. And a Top story on the way.

  • Joe Patterson6 months ago

    This just made me think 🤔

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    First, I like how you used emojis to save words. I also like what you have to say here. Why apologize for not writing. Bit then again, I'm probably not the best to judge. I apologize when someone bumps into me. As for discord, I spend very little time there, so I've no idea what going on. Great word btw.

  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Hi 'j' ~ It seems Our Novel Allen has started a ConjunctiveitestCraze. Not into contest so I don't know what's happening - BUT, I know you'll kick BUTT - - Fun - 'j'

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    I just liked this story even though I’m not on Discord and are not privy to all the drama. I also like the word.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.