Fiction logo

AntiGravity

Chapter 1

By VS Arts and CustomsPublished 2 years ago 17 min read
Like

"This is Xenon, come in." I listened for a reply. "This is Xenon, come in." I repeated, waiting again to hear something back. I opened my mouth to repeat the message.

"Commander Xenon, this is Cathal. Do you copy?" There was static, but at last we had heard from the team.

"Sergeant Cathal. Status report."

"I am underpaid for this job." Came the reply, and I could hear the smile on the other end of the line. "Unfortunately, we are all still alive and well, commander. The threat has been neutralized." I exhaled a sigh of relief, waiting for the cheers around me to die down before responding.

"Excellent work, Sergeant. Please return your sorry asses back to base so we could exploit your efforts further." I ended the transmission with a smile. It always amazed me how Cathal could pull off jobs like this, and deep down I couldn't wait to shake their hands once the troops returned. I turned to the team around me.

"Ladies and gentlemen. I would like to take a moment and thank you all for your efforts. Congratulations on a job well done." A round of applause went up from the team, with a few excited hoots sounding in the vast room. As I walked out I thought about the much needed vacation I had planned to take once the mission was through. The long winding halls with countless metal doors that all blended into the mix of rust and concrete, the grey uniforms, the fluorescent lights - even I needed a break from this life. I nodded to the others as I passed them, appreciating all the familiar faces around me. Six years working dozens of missions from here I thought I knew everybody. From Sage in planning to Xo in the weapons depot - virtually everybody I saw could probably recall a story or two about working together.

I got to my room, recalling the many good experiences I had at this place. Maybe after a month off in the Alps and a few dozen dips in the hot springs I would even anticipate coming back. I slid my card through the slot and heard the click of the lock on the door opening.

"Commander Xenon." I turned to see Ime standing a few feet away from me. Ime was a junior officer working under my command on some of the most difficult missions I had undertaken. It seems that whenever management wanted something done, we were the team to do it. I had watched Ime cross some of the most dangerous terrains with a smile, and risk life and death in countless situations to save the lives of other teammates. There was perhaps no one on this planet that I would trust so dearly with my life. Ime bowed to me in respect.

"I heard the team finally completed their mission today. I just wanted to come by and congratulate you on your latest success."

"Thank you, Ime." I said, nodding back. "Although you and I both know that no matter how great the management is, it's always the ground team that truly deserves appreciation." Ime chuckled.

"You're right as always, Commander. Is it time for that long awaited vacation of yours?" I smiled.

"Very much so. Say, Ime, how long has it been since you took some time off? I'm sure the Alpine springs have room for two, and you more than deserve the break."

"I am afraid, Commander, that all I know how to do is work. I can't imagine what I would do if I had to leave the training gym behind and switch it out for margaritas by the seaside. I might get so soft I won't notice myself falling down the mountains."

"Ime, knowing you you will be lifting those mountains as part of your morning warm up, and catching tuna with your bare hands for lunch. And if that isn't followed by an ice shower from a freshly melted glacier I might even begin to think you set me up with a doppelgänger to entertain while you swim the pacific ocean." Ime chuckled.

"Thank you, Commander. Speaking of Ocean - I heard that once Cathal and the crew will return they will be sending them on that latest shuttle to space where they will be under Ocean's command." Ime scowled.

"Captain Ocean is very capable, Ime. Cathal and them will be in good hands."

"Yes, Commander. But these are ground troops, not the space corps. I just don't understand why they will be forcing them into this transition when they are not qualified for the job." I glanced at the hallway around us, opening the door to my room.

"Please come in." Ime followed me into the room and I shut the door behind us. "Are you questioning the orders?" I asked.

"No." Said Ime, back straight and eyes fixated on a point in the wall. I thought I saw fear in them.

"Good." I said, sitting down in a chair and gesturing at the one across from me. Ime sat down, guard still up and with a slight flush of embarrassment.

"There are certain things that you don't know." I began, leaning forward. "Nevada wants to launch a mission into space that may require more than just scientists." I could see that Ime's curiosity was peaked.

"Nevada as in Governor Nevada?"

"Precisely. You see, we've detected waves coming in from outer space. Radio waves to be exact, and they aren't the Arecibo message reflecting back to us from a distant star. We have reason to believe that they may not be from a human source, and Governor Nevada wants to send a shuttle to investigate." Ime sat in a stunned silence for a few moments.

"So you mean, we aren't the only ones out there?"

"It appears so." I spread my hands. "And it looks like we may soon get confirmation on that." Ime's face clouded over.

"But what if they find them and these aliens turn out to be hostile? Or worse - what if they keep chasing these messages and they don't find them, what then? What if they drift so far away that they can't find their way back to Earth, or they run out of food or water or Oxygen before they do? What if they take their dying breaths seeing our planet approach on the horizon but knowing they can never make it and that help won't get to them in time?" I just shook my head.

"That could happen, Ime." I watched my words sink in and the blood drained from Ime's face.

"So you know that you could be sending them to their death and you're still willing to do it?"

"I'm always sending them to their death, Ime. That is the unfortunate reality of my job as the Commander."

"But this is different! Out here they at least have a fighting chance against a known enemy. Out here they can at least hide in the woods if it all goes to shit. Out there they can't breathe outside the shuttle, much less scavenge for food and survive! I-"

There was a loud ringing.

"Hello?" I answered, annoyed at the interruption.

"They're here."

"Already?" I asked, wondering how the ground team could've covered a two-and-a-half hour hike in minutes.

"They passed the moon about three hours ago. Although it seems they are slowing down, at the rate they are moving they will be here in the next day or so."

"What?" I replied, the words registering a half second after I uttered the phrase. I straightened my posture and took a deep breath to reset. "Governor Nevada. My apologizes."

"For a Commander of your esteem I would have expected more composure and faster reaction." I gently closed my eyes, preventing the grimace from my face. It was time to step back into my role as the leader of the operation, rather than a bumbling child on a sugar high.

"I take it the mission was a success?" the speakerphone continued.

"Thankfully so."

"Congratulations, Commander. Unfortunately I have to call you to get here before you have a chance to reunite with your crew."

"Change of plans?" I frowned.

"I will be waiting." The line went dead. I looked over at Ime, the perfect soldier in every way.

"I need a jet ready as soon as possible." Ime smiled at me.

"It will be ready when you are. Shall I pack my bags, Commander?"

"Don't ask stupid questions, Sergeant."

------------

"Governor Nevada." I said, entering the control room of the Space Corps Central Headquarters.

"Commander Xenon. I'm pleased you could make it so quickly." Said the head of the state, nodding to me before turning towards one of the many monitors in the room. "As you can see here, they are still thousands of kilometres away. They have slowed down since we last spoke, although they are still on track to arrive within a short while."

"What is the current course of action, Governor?"

"Well, Commander." Those piercing eyes turned to me, the colour of tarnished bronze. They bore deep into my soul, trying to break down my composure. I looked down into them, knowing all too well how the Governor could see right through someone. Judge their character with a long, long look. A few moments later I felt relieved when they moved away from me, the Governor nodding to one of the aides. I thought I saw a faint, mocking smile on Ime's lips after seeing me visibly relax.

"There's no easy way to say this, Commander." I stood back at attention. "I need you to meet them." I saw Ime flinch out of the corner of my eye. The Governor's eyes flicked toward's the movement, pausing for a few seconds before returning to me. "Take whatever and whoever you need. The shuttle will be ready for you for takeoff as soon as you need."

"Yes, Governor." I snapped a salute, before turning around and walking out of the control room to get ready. Ime was close on my heels. I reached the quarters where I had been set up, hearing the steps follow me inside. As I heard the whoosh of the door shut behind me I turned around patiently.

"Yes?" I cocked my head, looking into what quickly became a very uncertain face.

"Uh." I saw the loose posture and darting eyes of what resembled the attitude of a new recruit they first time they get reprimanded for something.

"Commander."

"Yes?" I said again, stretching out the word slightly. Ime mouthed a few incomprehensive syllables at me as if trying to find the right words.

"Shall I pack my bags?"

"As I said earlier, Ime, don't ask stupid questions."

"Yes, Commander." Blushing and eyes to the floor, the Sergeant turned to walk away.

"Ime?" I said, watching the posture of my good friend stiffen as if I were about to deliver a beating. "Stop acting like a confused child. You are one of my best people out there and I need you to be at the top of your game for a while. I smiled gently, sure that it would be audible in my voice. "After this, it's all Alps and hot springs for a while."

---------------------

It was my first time watching the take off from on board the ship, and the view was absolutely spectacular. There was a faint orange glow outside the window as we sped up to supersonic speed, a few seconds away from exiting the atmosphere. I glimpsed the ground dropping farther beneath us with colourful fields and forests filling the edge of the glass. The rest of the view consisted of dark blue and black nothingness, that we now knew to have life.

I had heard the sonic boom from watching many take offs in the past, but now that I was on the ship all I could hear was the roar of the engines - which wasn't by any means quiet - but it was significantly different from what I had ever thought it would be.

"Copy. Engines are working nominally. Copy." Said Florence - one of the astronauts that had been preparing for the mission since we first detected the radio signals about three months ago.

"Copy. Launch escape system jettisoning. Copy." Then again in a few seconds "Copy. Confirming lateral stage separation. Copy." Noticing Ime sitting rigid as a statue I saw Florence flash a reassuring smile, before continuing to monitor our progress and report updates. I couldn't help a smile of my own as I gazed out at the endless expanse beyond. I saw the first stage of our rocket gently drifting away as we began to curve towards the International Space Station, where we could switch onto another ship.

As we neared the ISS, I saw what looked like an elongated space disk docked at one of the ports. On the edge in brilliant white block letters was written "Saint Lucia". According to Nevada, the ship had been in the works for years as the Ultimate Space Travel Vehicle. It was the first spaceship assembled entirely on the ISS, and we were to be the first crew to man it for an actual mission, rather than a test flight.

As we docked and entered the station I looked around in awe. Everything was exactly how I had planned it to be set up when we organized the countless packages that were to be sent up on Earth. As I followed Florence to the new ship I gently floated down the hall, taking in the entirety of the scene around me. After a few minutes I turned to Ime, realizing that I wasn't the least experienced one on the mission. I felt pride as I saw the awe with which the Sergeant looked around at the setup. Pride not only with how meticulously everything had been selected to be here, but also with how my soldier had been able to adapt to the situation in a heartbeat.

We loaded up the Saint Lucia in a matter of minutes, the existing crew of the ISS having already equipped us with almost everything we may need. Before departure I paused, looking at them as they waved us off. I gave a quick salute, knowing that the language barrier was not something I could overcome in the moment, but I hoped to God that I would be back to do so.

"Commander. They are almost here." Said Florence, waving me inside. I heard the pilot say a few words in an unintelligible language to the crew of the ISS, before offering a salute and stepping into the shuttle behind me. We stood for a moment between the two airlocks.

"This is it, eh? First contact?" Said Florence, head held high and expression stern.

"Yes it is." I answered. "Worried?" Though I felt some nerves, I thought I saw the hint of a smile on Florence's face.

"Not at all. Either way we are the world's heroes, so all those assholes that picked on me in grade school can suck it." I saw Florence's smile widen as I tried to stifle my own.

"Unprofessional." I remarked.

"Well, Commander. I thought that as our 'alien life' management you'd be a little more open to out-of-the-box ideas and actions."

"In fear of starting a galactic war with an alien life form that may be trying to take over our planet, I think I will steer clear of all profanity for a while." The door to the airlock opened and we stepped inside the ship.

"I may know rocket science, Commander, but this is why you run the show." said Florence, elbowing me playfully before turning towards the cockpit. "Now, I say we get a move on. Capitan Ocean is not known for being patient."

---

As I bounced towards the control room, still getting used to the lack of gravity, I noticed how smoothly Florence was moving through the chaos. Gentle as a summer breeze, the pilot seemed to know every square inch of the place. As I followed, weaving among the equipment to find Florence's hand holds, I couldn't help but think about what was to come. Would these aliens be little green men, or something far more sinister, like something you would see in dystopian sci-fi? The most that I had seen of their ship was that it moved through space like a dark shadow, almost invisible unless you knew what to look for. I imagined what it would be like to see an alien for the first time under the flag of peace and cooperation. Would I shake their hand? Would they have a hand to shake? How will we communicate? Would they even be an actual being, or an android-manned ship meant to gather information?

Stop.

I paused in the hallway before the control room, closing my eyes and taking a deep breath. Get a grip, Xenon. I told myself, floating into the control room. Humanity depends on you getting your act together and... I looked out the windshield of the Saint Lucia, seeing a looming shape beyond. It was like nothing I had ever seen before, my gut twisting as I looked at the monstrosity ahead of us. The ship was almost spherical, yet the outer shell of it looked as though it were morphing in front of my eyes. It almost looked like a planet in and of itself, yet not unlike a writhing ball of snakes.

I heard sharp inhales all around me as we drew nearer, the ship growing in size before our eyes. It was massive - a part of me thought that it could eat us and the ISS as an appetizer, and still have room for a main course and dessert. The most unsettling of all though - as though it were straight out of a horror movie, were the dim red lights emanating from the front of the ship.

"Make sure the sun is behind us as we approach." I ordered, stepping towards the front of the room. It was time for action, and I couldn't let the fear of those around me affect our purpose and our mission. As I got to the glass I stopped, turning towards the rest of the crew. There were six of us in the control room, all some of the most competent people I had ever known.

"This is the moment of truth." I started, making sure to look every one of them in the eye. "Today we make first contact with an intelligent species that is not from our planet, and I want you all to know that today, we are making history. There may be fifteen of us on this shuttle, but I have to say that there is no one else I'd rather be here with. I believe in every one of you, and I want every one of you to know that you are here because Governor Nevada and I thought you were the most competent people for the job." I turned to Florence. "And because we wanted to give some of you a chance to accomplish at least something in their lives." I smiled, hearing the chuckles of relief around the room and knowing that my joke was well placed. I straightened my face again. "Regardless of what happens, today, I want you all to know that I am here with you, and I will fight for each and every one of you until my very last breath. Thank you."

There was a momentary pause, before a brief round of applause went up from the crew and from the speakers, as my message was translated through hundreds of channels on Earth. As the alien ship drew nearer they swerved to fly around us, no longer giving us the chance to cower in the cover of the sun. I took a deep breath.

"Can we establish a radio connection?" I asked.

"We can try." Said Ocean, tapping away on a series of keys and flipping some switches. "She's ready when you are." The Capitan said with a gesture towards the radio." I picked it up, took one final inhale, and pressed the transmission button.

"This is Commander Xenon of the Saint Lucia. Please state your identity."

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

VS Arts and Customs

I believe in living big and thinking bigger. I want my world to be a self-sustained eco system with a positive impact on those around me. My dream is to help others accept themselves, loud and clear, and never apologize for who they are.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.