Fiction logo

An Upward Journey

A misplaced balloon's story

By Sarah DanaherPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
3
An Upward Journey
Photo by Marina Abrosimova on Unsplash

All started out fine, and I was living my goal. The ground was so large; even the small child was significant to me. My creator was just selling me to a little boy. The boy smiled so big when he saw me. His eyes glowed as he held me in his hand. Then, the little boy was distracted by an animal in the park. His hand had released me without warning. My mind fluttered as I started to rise. The little boy did not even notice that I was missing. No one really noticed at all as I was going further away. All I wanted to do was to give happiness and be carried around as an adventure. All was a unique way from my original dream.

I was let go off in the air.

By Cody Giles on Unsplash

My child was not paying attention, and somehow, my helium was pulling me higher. The trees are lower than they used to be. All the humans seemed so small from here. Nothing is holding me down from the rising winds and a beautiful view. The winds felt cold as I lifted, watching the ground disappear. The specks of my creator who put the very life into me were gone. I was on my own now. It was strange to be unrestricted with another adventure on my way. The scenery was different.

I could only imagine how far I could go up into the air. Freeing nature can bring absolute doom. The uncharted territory was where I was headed, and yet no one was coming to save me. The world was continuing to get smaller. This unfamiliar place was intriguing in so many ways. The air was free as I rose above the trees, yet the thinner air was not welcome. I have no natural protection from anything. The higher I go, the more dangerous it becomes. The ground was safe, and I was there for the children's enjoyment.

And I find myself in a place where I have never been.

By Maria Oswalt on Unsplash

I saw the birds flying, and they floated effortlessly in the sky. Seeing the clouds closer was terrific, yet they seemed less solid. The earth was much smaller than before, and I am not that large of an object. I wondered if that little boy ever realized he had let me go and even cried over my disappearance. No way of figuring it out now since I have not seen a human for some time. It is one of uncertainty anymore. The risk is rising, and my life is inherently short anyway. The views are gorgeous, and if only one could live on those images. Even if I die early, the quest to the sky is worth it all. My friends have not been forgotten by their own children. My fate would be totally different. It was a sight as the air was slowing.

The clouds were even closer, as the cars could not be seen. All that is left is the birds and clouds to keep me company. All the humans have been gone for a while, and still, I can only go up in the air, being weightless.

It was a surprise not to hate this journey completely, but I did not expect it to end this way. I am one of many to go through this. I have no other friends up here, and the fowl will hurt me if they come too close. The colors were better here, and nothing was bringing me down for now. The journey has led me. It was such a sunset that no one would ever see. The colors blended so well together with barely an audience.

Despite all the mistakes, it was such a day, yet I still float higher. Being alone is not so awful sometimes, yet nothing can stop you. The sky is now darkened and still beautiful from up here. The end may come at any time, but what an adventure I have not had. Even a smiling child could not compare to this. My helium only lasts so long, and my time is probably running out soon. A well-lived life is worth it despite how short it might be. I do wish for this forever.

By NEOM on Unsplash

For the first time, I felt like I was getting lower, and my helium was getting lower. I had only lived for just a day. Slowly, I was going back to earth and would be flat and dead. My heart was sinking, too, as I was losing everything that I wanted. I heard some chirps from the air, but the darkness hid them. I could feel the worst fate imaginable as my rubber skin. A pop that only the birds could hear. It's piercing right through, evaporating the remaining helium.

I was gone forever. All I could do was fall more and more with just my skin.

The earth was much closer, but I had to return at some point. Well, a little misplaced balloon was just on the adventure of a lifetime rather than the way I have ever imagined. I do not even regret a thing by this end.

Short StoryAdventure
3

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey4 months ago

    I loved this

  • Test4 months ago

    This really got me. Such a sad, beautiful little tale 🤍 This line felt like such an overarching metaphor for life and change " It was strange to be unrestricted with another adventure on my way. The scenery was different."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.