Fiction logo

An Unintended Disaster

A silly little screenplay...

By Lovin' ThyselfPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
Like

Opening Scene

As the proscenium stage mirrors the glamorous, white walls of Lauren’s room, Lauren and Junior lay on top of Lauren’s puffy bed. The two were discussing their plans for the summer, Matilda abruptly opens the door of Lauren’s room. As soon as Matilda closes the door, she collapses to the floor and starts whining. Attempting not to laugh at the spectacle of Matilda on the rug, Lauren and Junior glance at each other and choose to help Matilda lift herself. They asked Matilda what happened and she begins to explain, in tears, how her boyfriend broke up with her. Attentively, Lauren and Junior listen.

MATILDA: (Getting on top of Lauren’s bed.) Well, he did it, he broke up with me. I just... I just don’t know what to say. (Speaking through tears.) The love of my life has left me.

JUNIOR: Well, I mean...if he was really the love of your life, wouldn’t have he just, you know, stayed with you?

MATILDA: (Staring at Junior in complete shock.) Can you stop being so sarcastic for one minute? What kind of friend are you?

LAUREN: Ok, ok! Junior, stop being insensitive. And Matilda, you know that Junior loves you in his own unique way. Now, tell us, what explanation did he have for breaking up with you?

MATILDA: He said that he loved me. (Stares at her shaking hands.)

JUNIOR: Ha, the irony of that statement.

LAUREN: (Menacingly staring at Junior.) Junior, I said stop!

MATILDA: But then, he said that I was “too tiresome.” He brought up the times that I favored doing my homework over killing time with him. He also mentioned that time that I asked him about the future and where he perceived we were going as a unit. Am I really that dull?

JUNIOR: You know, now that you mention that. There was that time in which I really wanted to go see Linda Perry in concert, and you made me go see our high school’s production of The Phantom of the Opera instead. Plainly saying.

MATILDA: Ok well, who listens to Linda Perry in the first place?

JUNIOR: (Mocking Matilda.) Well, who goes to school on a Friday night and watches the Phantom of the Opera?

LAUREN: You guys—

JUNIOR: What I’m attempting to state is how absurd you sound right now. How are you going to question yourself when you have achieved several things in your life? (Stands up with enthusiasm.) Since we were in the sixth grade you have always been on the honor roll, received awards, made top student, with all that you were still able to tolerate me! That is a big accomplishment you should be proud of. Like I said, why are you questioning your worth for a guy who is next to nothing.

LAUREN: For the first time in my life, I think I agree with Junior. (Chuckles at Junior.)I know it could be hard to manage a breakup on your own. We will always be here for you though. I think we should go on an adventure to prove that you are spontaneous and fun! Let’s show him what he missed out on! (Lauren pulls both Matilda and Junior off the bed with her to spin around the room.)

MATILDA: Yes, let’s do it. I don’t think I will survive the night without crying if I don’t, I need to prove this to myself. (Matilda steps out of the circle.)

JUNIOR: Wouldn’t it just be easier for us to just tell you that you are adventurous? (Junior sluggish walks out from the circle and back towards the bed.)

LAUREN: Junior, please. Matilda wants to, we will support her every step of the way. Where do you want to go, Matilda? (Grabs ahold of Matilda’s hands and stares at her lovingly.)

MATILDA: I don’t know…(She stared at the wall, head tilted ajar.)What if we join a group of people and go clubbing for the night? Oooh, what if I actually meet the love of my life? (Spoke eagerly and bounced around.)

JUNIOR: If you think other people would choose to dance with us, us being three losers, then you are simply delusional. And how are we going to get there? I don’t know if you forgot, but we don’t have a car.

MATILDA: I know! What about Kate? Her parents just bought her a Ferrari! She knows all of the clubs out in the city, and weren’t you two once close Lauren?

LAUREN: Yeah, a long time ago... (Lauren trailed off turning away from the two.) I don’t think she would like to talk to a friend of the past, and I respect that.

MATILDA: Please, do it for me? (Matilda hugging held her arm.)

LAUREN: (Smiling at Matilda.) Fine, let’s go see what Kate is up to!

The characters get off the bed and exit the stage through the left side.

The characters enter again from the right stage. Now standing in front of a substantial two-story suburban home. A green freshly cut grass, planters of flowers, and stones laid across the front of the lawn. The house was huge and appeared to be an expensive residence. Kate was standing in the front washing her new car in the driveway.

LAUREN: Hey Kate, long time no see. How you been? (Scratching the back of her next nervously staring at Kate.)

KATE: I am very good and how about you bigmouth?

MATILDA: (Confused mixed with anger evident in her voice.) BIGMOUTH?

LAUREN: I told you this was a bad idea…(Lauren attempted to walk off but Matilda grabbed her.)

KATE: Yeah, that's right you have one huge mouth. I should strike you for showing your face here. In the 7th grade, I started my period and I stained my pants. I had nobody to drop off an extra pair of pants for me. So I had to wear them all day at school. And you know what she did? (Staring furiously at Lauren.)

MATILDA: What did she do?

KATE: I told her to not tell anyone and she goes to tells the entire school that I was Bloody Mary because my pants were stained with blood, didn’t help that my middle name was Mary.

LAUREN: I’ve apologized to you. I felt awful after what I did. I'm so sorry. I really regret doing that to you.

MATILDA: Who knew you were so cruel, Lauren. And I thought you were a goody-two-shoes.

KATE: Yeah, you should regret it. Look at you now. A loser with nothing to show for yourself. Whereas I have popularity, sweet a car, and this huge house Daddy bought.

LAUREN: Look, Kate, I'm sorry. I'll do anything you require some other time if you help us now?

KATE: Help with what?

LAUREN: Matilda is heartbroken and we want to help her have fun tonight. Can you get us into a club?

KATE: (Conspiringly thinking.) Hmmm, there is this grand opening of a club tonight in Hollywood. I can probably get you guys in.

Matilda, Lauren, and Junior’s faces lit up with passion upon hearing this. They began to babble about how exciting it would be and they each shouted thank-yous at Kate.

KATE: Under one condition.

LAUREN: (Sharply sighs.) What's the condition?

KATE: I just need you guys to drop off a package at my grandpa’s house.

LAUREN: Where does she live? How would we get there?

KATE: I'll send you guys the address and I'll let you guys borrow my old honda. But only once you guys tell me the package has been thoroughly secured at my grandpa’s is when I will tell the security to put you on the guest list.

The characters are now gathered outside by Kate’s Honda figuring out the seating arrangements.

LAUREN: Who wants to drive?

MATILDA: I can?

JUNIOR: Yeah, no, I would like to survive this trip. I’ll drive! Hand me the keys! (Looking over at Kate. Kate tosses the keys at him with an eerie smile plastered on her face.)

KATE: The package is already in the back. I am sending the address now. Chop, chop, if you wanna be back in time for the club! Also, good luck. (Kate giggles while disappearing into her house.)

MATILDA: Lauren, your ex-best friend seems a bit bizarre.

LAUREN: Let’s be happy that this worked in our favor.

Junior enters the driver's seat while Matilda enters the passenger side. Lauren went to the back where the package was placed. The stage goes black for a moment as the story transitions from Kate’s house to Kate’s Honda. The group has settled in the car and is now driving to the address sent to them.

MATILDA: How far is the dropoff? (Eyes glancing over at Junior’s phone.)

JUNIOR: Well I suppose it’s good we do this now, this place is about an hour or so out.

LAUREN: (Reaching up and connecting her phone to the aux.) What are you guys in the mood to listen to?

JUNIOR: Linda Perry! (Matilda ignored him and stared at Lauren.)

JUNIOR: I am the driver, I should decide?

MATILDA: (Mockingly.) All the more reason why you shouldn't. Focus on the road.

Rolling his eyes Junior focuses on the road.

LAUREN: (Ignoring the minor argument.) Do you guys smell that?

They all sniff the air of the car.

LAUREN: It smells rotten in here. (Her eyes glide to the huge boxed-up package.)

MATILDA: It does smell very strange. Open the windows.

Junior reaches and rolls down the windows of the car a bit. After each settled on listening to Kehlani, the group was joking and laughing throughout the car. An hour or so had passed all was well until Lauren noticed the package began to leak.

LAUREN: (Singing the lyrics while staring out the window, her hand fell to her side near the package. She felt something wet on her fingers. Peering down she sees her hand has come into contact with a strange substance.) Ew! Guys, the box is leaking! (She squealed.)

MATILDA: (Turning her head back shockingly.)

JUNIOR: (Eyes focus on the road.) What is in that package anyway?

LAUREN: I don’t know but, it has a foul smell and it's leaking all over the car!

MATILDA: Junior, stop the car.

JUNIOR: What? Really?

MATILDA: Just stop, pull over, and stop the car.

Junior pulls the car over on a deserted two-way highway. As soon as the car comes to a stop Matilda unfastens her seatbelt and heads to the back of the car where Lauren and the package remain.

JUNIOR: Well if you’re getting out so am I. (Unbuckling his seatbelt and hopping out of the car.)

LAUREN: (Immediately jumping out of the car she takes a deep breath and breathes in the fresh air.) I could not breathe for a second back there.

JUNIOR: You are so dramatic, how can it be that bad the windows were down. (Junior walks up to the back of the car where the girls are standing and takes a deep breath in…, He stumbles back almost falling over trying to catch his breath.)

LAUREN: (Mocking Junior.) You’re so dramatic, come on the windows down.

MATILDA: Okay guys for real, what’s in that box.

They all stare at the box with questioning eyes and a rising worry.

JUNIOR: We have to open it.

MATILDA: Isn’t that sort of rude? I mean we are doing this as a favor in exchange for something. What would Kate think, or her grandfather for that matter?

LAUREN: Uhhh, we have to! Or at least move to the trunk. I can’t sit next to that anymore. We can just close it back up.

Lauren and Junior both plugging their noses inch closer to the boxed-up foul-smelling package. They brace themselves for what they are about to uncover.

MATILDA: I don’t think this is a great idea. I have a bad feeling about this.

JUNIOR: Do you want to go clubbing or not? We’re gonna peek inside and possibly dispose of what is dripping out.

Lauren and Junior start to peel open the box. They topple over and scurried away once they discovered what they’ve unknowingly been driving around with.

MATILDA: (Immediately clutching at her nose.) Oh god, that smell. What is it? Are you guys alright? (Standing far away, not wanting to step closer.)

JUNIOR: (Coming to a stance, he peers over in the box once more.) I...it...it’s…

MATILDA: (Heart rate rising, panic clear in her voice.) It’s a what?

LAUREN: I think I am going to be sick. (Looking as if she is going to vomit in Junior’s direction.)

JUNIOR: Well you better do that over there, don’t look at me.

MATILDA: (Anxiety increasing, hands shaking. She walks up to the box, ignoring the smell.) Oh… that’s a body!

JUNIOR: WHY DOES KATE’S GRANDMOTHER NEED THIS!? Lauren, what kind of friends did you have? (Began pacing.)

MATILDA: What are we going to do?

JUNIOR: We can do what criminals do when they murder?

LAUREN: (Finally calming her breathing and queasy stomach.) What are you talking about?

JUNIOR: You take the body, wrap it up real tight, and hide it away until there is a clear way to dispose of it.

LAUREN: You watch way too many true-crime series.

MATILDA: Guys! This is serious! What are we going to do?

All of a sudden Lauren runs over to the box despite the gross odor and seals the box closed.

JUNIOR: Yeah, that is nice and all...but, the problem is still in the back seat. That doesn’t fix anything.

LAUREN: Well I don’t see you thinking of anything but, you sure are fulfilling the role of the smartass.

While the two are arguing Matilda heads to the trunk of the car in hopes to find some sort of covering for the box. Luckily she finds an old used-up blanket with holes in it.

MATILDA: Okay so you two are relatively no help at the moment so we are going to go along with the original plan. (Speaking while placing the blanket on the stained soaked package.)

JUNIOR: (Giving a confused expression at her.) The true-crime theory?

MATILDA: No, we are taking it to the original destination. Come on guys get in.

LAUREN: Are we sure this is the safest option? (Anxiously approving the car.)

MATILDA: Well I don’t want to know what happens if we don’t. What if it means one of us is placed in a packaged box.

They all hurriedly enter the car. Just as they are about to pull back onto the road they hear a faint siren approaching them.

MATILDA: (Fearfully looking back. She panics once she sees it is a cop approaching.) Oh no.

LAUREN: I am going to jail aren’t I?

JUNIOR: Nothing is going to happen to you two, I will take the fall for this.

MATILDA: No, you will not. Everyone remain calm, act as if we have nothing to hide.

The Officer pulls over to the side and steps of his police car. He begins to walk towards the driver’s window.

The Officer: Hello, I saw the car pulled over and figured y’all might be having some car troubles. Everything alright?

JUNIOR: (Stuttering.) Yyes, Officer, we are aalright we wwere taking a quick break and we were about to head back on the road.

The Officer: Ah, I see now, where y’all heading? (Skeptically glancing around the car.)

JUNIOR: Wwe were just ggoing down to visit my grandpa.

The Officer: What is that stench?

Matilda and Lauren share an uneasy glance. The Officer noticed this. They watched the Officer walk to the back of the car. When he asked to check the backseat they knew their fates.

Conclusion

The character’s left side of the stage is in handcuffs, the play ends with the entire group being arrested. They all knew that their adventure turned into their downfall. Once the group awaited trial, they tried their best to tell the lawyers about Kate, but they couldn’t prove anything. Kate’s Honda’s papers have somehow transferred over to Lauren’s name. The address given to them was an abandoned outhouse. It was as if Kate had been wiped clean from ever being involved.

Script
Like

About the Creator

Lovin' Thyself

Hello,

Klarissa here On this website you'll find my poems and short stories that no one cares about or wants to read... so I'll dump them here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.