Fiction logo

An Unimaginable Thing

Suspicious package

By Corinne Del CidPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
2
@artbybleez

It was the 25th of May the year 2028 the most unimaginable thing happened when I woke up. I saw not one soul in sight; it was like all traces of humanity were wiped away in one single night without a warning. I begin to search for my family trying to use any means necessary but there is no power source whatsoever. I began to panic and plead for an answer wondering why and how this happened. Is this a punishment hell on earth? Days turn into nights and nights into days until suddenly one day I find a suspicious package wrapped in brown paper that reads “OPEN'', I start thinking to myself, “What can this be?”I begin to become hesitant by then so much time has passed my mind begins to wander going round and round in circles I then begin to obsess over the contents of the package.

So then I decided well what is the worse that can happen, because look where I am now. Then with a gentle shuffle of the paper I opened it and then I stopped myself but somehow the package forcibly opened itself a beam of light shoots out from this package blinding me then suddenly a vivid image of my whole life flashes before my very eyes from my conception to my present day, I was in a state of shock I then became unconscious into a comatose but to me it feels like I was in a deep sleep, was this far beyond this world, I began to dream of a perfect evening, the cool spring breeze flowing through my body making me feel as though I was floating in the air, once I opened my eyes the sight is even more breathtaking than the way I felt, I looked out into the galaxy of the stars in the sky and when I looked towards the moon it is three times its normal size there right next to me, it is reachable but remember I’m not even awake. If any of you have ever had a vivid dream, it feels as though everything is so realistic. Image this very image then you will experience what I am talking about.

When I finally woke up I could hear familiar sounds and smell similar mar smells. All my senses became alive again! I then realized, that the whole experience was just a dream. Before I knew it, I could hear and feel the presence of my family and all living forms of life. I jumped for joy, happiness tears rolled down my eyes, I became so emotional, after that moment I never took my life for granted ever again, I spent every waking moment as positive as possible, paying it forward living everyday to the fullest until my last breath.

When the day of my judgment began I was in a white room where there was no one in sight I knew that this was normal because I had passed on I then reflected upon my whole life the day it had changed in the year 2028 when my whole aspect changed completely and you will never believe what I found before me at my feet….

That same suspicious package that was covered in brown paper that read “OPEN” I began to look around in disbelief asking aloud “Is this really happening?” I did not want to go anywhere near this package because I knew exactly what it had in store for me, but I could not let it go. This was my judgement day. I had to open it with no questions asked, So I prepared myself for it this time a beam of light flashed before me but there was no flashback of my whole life there was nothing. When it ended I did not want to open my eyes for I had no idea where I was. I didn’t want to be fooled by temptation, but when I opened my eyes I was returned back to where it all began on the 25th of May the year 2028.

To be continued….

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Corinne Del Cid

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.