Fiction logo

An Unfinished Story: Allie

"I like it better when you are on my side."

By Emlyza StudioPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 14 min read
1

I thought this was only happening in the stories I've read and movies I've watched. But now, here I was signing an agreement for our marriage with the man I called "crap." Yeah, a legal contract. With lots and lots of nonsense agreements. Why was I here in the first place? My loving grandmother just wanted me to get married to this man, whom she called the good-looking grandson of her best friend. Who's going to do this to their own grandchild? Oh right! Specifically, my grandmother. She even called me "dear" when I knew she never really cared about me. She cares more about the company. The company had been in the middle of a crisis, which is why she arranged for me to be in this situation. She lost her partnership with an international company because she let her secretary take care of everything, including the transactions that led to the downfall of her company. Her secretary stole the company's shares.

 I never wanted to work there because she never trusted me in the first place. And the fact that she's controlling I've been staying in the States since I graduated from law school. I've been there for almost five years, and when I got home, I was so lucky. She already planned my marriage life. I consider myself extremely fortunate to have had to marry at such a young age, when I barely knew my future husband.I don't even know how old he is. I swear, I just wanted to stop breathing the moment she told me everything. My grandma wanted me to marry for good, so she'd settled on her decision. 

After we talked, this man and I came up with an idea that we would agree to the marriage, but there would be rules between the two of us. His parents, and my grandma as well, should not know what was written on our contract. We both agreed that after a year of marriage, we would file for an annulment and declare that nothing works between us.

My grandmother wants me to marry him because she believes that it's the only way to get back our company. I explained to her that I could earn the money that she needed to get back everything, but she refused. After all, I'm the company's lawyer now. I could win against her secretary. God knows how much I wanted to enjoy my life without a guy. We all know that men could just ruin your entire life. I mean, women tend to love men without being sure if a guy really loves her. It's so embarrassing to know that guys are only good at playing around and fooling every woman. Well, I am not included. I never get into a relationship and it is absolutely better this way.

Most of my clients in the States are divorced. A lot of them were women left by their partners through cheating, or sometimes they say things didn't work for them. I've witnessed a guy who was left behind by his wife. It's totally unacceptable and disgraceful. I have a very close friend in the States. I met him five years ago. He had an internship in the States when I met him. Actually, he helped me at that moment that led us to becoming friends. Luke is a licensed doctor. I admire how dedicated he is to his work. How he cares for each patient, whether he has enough money or not.Not everyone could care more that way. I know some of the doctors look at the status of a patient's life. He has been staying in the Philippines after his internship there. I forgot to mention that the guy I'll be marrying is also a professional doctor. But Luke has a warm approached, unlike this man, who was like the statue of liberty. Oh, no! He has beautiful eyes. He's a jerk, so stop Allie.

In fact, they had already met at one of his friends' parties. They have a common friend, who is Amy. Before they met at his parents' house, they already knew each other from this certain party.

1 Month Before Wedding Arrangement...

Allie gazed at the dance floor. She was mesmerized to the paintings hanging near the room where the party was held. She fidgeted thru' the door but her back meets the wall. She was dragged by two bodies. She was very shocked that leave her mouth ajar.

The guy was kissing the woman torridly and the moment that man noticed she was kinda' watching them closely, he asked, "Do you want me to kiss you either?"

"Wha... what?" she uttered. She was so mad to the guy because she knew the way he talked were rude and very proud of himself. 

"Do you want me to slap you?" she asked sarcastically. She flinched when the guy touched her hands and quickly got out of the room without a word.

"What was that for?" Nicole asked desperately. Soon, Nathan stopped what they'd done in that room and flatten his suit.

"That's it for tonight," he blurted.

Nicole and him had no any sort of relationship. Yes, his having sex everytime he wants and needs, too. They are not mutually attracted but that's precisely he knows because Nicole desperately wanted to be his wife. Nathan briskly followed the woman outside and searched her on the dancefloor. When he didn't see any signs that she's still there, he shots another glass of wine. He sat on the stool bar and what caught his attention was the woman sitting beside him. It was the woman he tried to find. As their eyes locked to each other, Allie looked away and holds the glass tightly. He discerned that she was a bit embarrassed to what has happened earlier.

He stood by her side and asked, "Was it the first you have ever seen two people having fun?"

She almost felt his breathing was on her neck. He then laughed at himself. Allie knew that there was something different about her feelings.

Unexpectedly,  Luke came and Nathan approached him, "I guess you're with someone huh? Someone new... I mean you're girlfriend?"

Luke grinned and tapped Allie's shoulder, "This is Allie."

"You're girlfriend, right?" Nathan asks.

Although he was disappointed, he tried to sound glad.

Luke laughed, "I'd be grateful for it if she was my girlfriend, but she's my best friend. The woman, as I told you before, Do you still remember? "

Allie's smile was almost fake. "Ah hi," she uttered, Nathan smiles at her and gestures to shake her hand, "Nathan."

Allie responded, but she refused to hold him longer. On the other hand, Nathan tightly held her hand and that made her look at his hand. He was trying to conceal his laughter, but it only made him laugh louder.

"Any problem?" Allie asked nonchalantly.

"Nothing," he then said. They were arguing as if no one was accompanying them.

"Oh, so he's laughing without any reason? Crazy, "she whispered to herself.

"I heard that one," he said. Allie pretends she has not heard anything. She ordered another tequila, but Luke stopped her, "Hey, it's enough, we're going home." Nathan furrowed,

"So, you and this Allie are living on the same roof?"

Then, Luke and Allie looked at each other and laughed hard.

"Sounds good to have fun with me?" he asks, annoyed.

You heard me an hour ago, right? best friend Allie and I are not the same thing as what you're thinking, Dr. Nathan. I think there's something you're hiding now, "he teased.

Luke distinguished that there's something that Allie and Nathan are hiding, so he explained it further.

"Luke, I was just curious... was she the woman you told me about?" Nathan asked.

"It's getting late. We should get home," Luke alibied.

He couldn't tell in front of the woman he was trying to win. Little did they know, they would be forever connected to each other.

One month has passed...

Allie's POV

We're at the gown stall, deciding on the gown I'll wear next week.Next week, you read it right, next week! In just one month of preparation, they were getting married. Luke still does not know that I am getting married and is thinking about it with his best friend. I wonder if Nathan already told Luke that I was marrying him. I know he'll get mad at me if he finds out, but I also know that he'll understand me. I have the most understanding best friend in the world. I couldn't ask for more. I have a very loving and supportive family, but they're in Europe. They were in Italy after I graduated. This would become one of my biggest problems because my family doesn't know anything about this "marriage thingy." I don't know how I will get out of this mess after one year. For now, I need to do this to help my grandma get her money back, and then I'm done. I hope it will be easier afterwards. I know she really wants to earn a lot of money. She never dares ask me if it's okay with me, or at least if I am comfortable enough with the guy I'll be marrying. I am embarrassed. That guy may think I'm after his wealth and fame. God knows I could provide for myself, plus I am also a vlogger, so I could lend the money to my grandma the amount she needed. If only I knew it could happen. I would not stay here. But, I have to stay because of the film I need to shoot and also because I have a client.

I waited for him for nearly thirty minutes because he wanted to pick out the ring we'd wear on our ostensibly wedding day.That guy was really getting on my nerves. I already chose the gown, and still, he isn't coming yet. The gown was purely white, off-shouldered with long sleeves. Once I entered the stall, it really caught my attention. I just so loved it. The veil has detailed designs on every corner. Although it was a show-off wedding, I had this feeling I would stay in this marriage. Oh, no! Shut up, Allie! It'll never happen. "

I felt dizzy and everything around me started to get blurry. I held on to the nearest counter, but it was somebody's arms I was holding.

"Are you okay?" someone asked. The serious tone I've heard before As soon as I opened my eyes, it was him. Nathan. Our eyes were locked, but I couldn't stay longer looking at him. I breathed deeply. I could smell his minty breath. I nodded and took my arms off of him.

He furrowed his brow and slid his hands into his side pockets.

"Did you have your breakfast?" he asked.

There was a concerned tone behind that question.

Oh, I was just imagining maybe. He would never care about you, dear, I thought.

Nathan discerned she was uncomfortable with him, so he backed away.

"Let's have our lunch first before we go to the jewelry shop," he said.

Allie was walking behind him, "Sorry I was late." I had surgery that I finished, "he apologised.

"No, it's okay. I understand, "without noticing the words that came out. "Well then, thank you," Allie and Nathan say to each other in a professional tone.

" Soon, Nathan was walking beside her. Did Luke know about this? The marriage? "he asked coldly.

"Nope. I couldn't tell him yet. Knowing Luke, he'll get mad at me."

Nathan clenched his fists inside his pockets. His jaw stiffened. Minutes passed before he uttered a word.

"How am I going to invite my best friend when you haven't told him yet?"

Allie looked down at her feet and said, "I'll tell him soon. I just needed the right words for him. I honestly don't know if he would attend, "Nathan lost at her words."

He knows there is more to this woman, but he does not have any plans to make things serious between them. After their lunch, they headed to the jewelry shop. They've been choosing different designs for about an hour. Allie wanted something elegant, but Nathan wanted something plain.

"That one," she said, pointing to the ring with a Greek letter accent underneath.He looked at her, amazed.

 

•••

"Ms., can we try that one?" she asked the salesperson.

 She smiled and turned to him, "Hey, do you like this one?"

He saw her smile again. One genuine smile. Her teeth and dimples are shown.

"Yeah," he said, nodding and smiling at her.He was not actually looking at the ring, but at her feisty and innocent face.

"Do you have a smaller size of this one?" Allie asked the sales lady.

 "This one is twice as big as my size," she uttered.

The sales clerk said they would resize the ring and their names would be engraved on it. After one hour, they received the ring and paid for it. They headed to the venue where their wedding would be held. Allie wanted the wedding to be a small and private wedding. The designs were all in place. Nathan decided the set up of the venue that Allie agreed upon. The wedding was entirely an agreement, yet they were busy, as real couples are. 

While they were on their way home, Nathan mentioned, "I forgot to tell you, you're moving to my house tomorrow." Please pack all your things tonight so my driver can just pick everything up tomorrow. "

His words didn't fully register:

"Are you serious? "Do we need to do that?" she asked, bothered.

Of course, after all, we're getting married next week. How could we even call them husband and wife if we live in different houses, Ms. Athena Claire Allie Spencer? " He mocked.

She furrowed her brows and crossed her arms. "Firstly, Dr. Nathan, our marriage is just merely an agreement. This is basically far from the relationship those married couples could have. Second, it was not written in our agreement that we'd be living in the same house. Third, we could pretend in front of them that we're staying in the same house, "she breathed deeply.

Nathan looked at her in disbelief. He couldn't have imagined that there would be a woman who would disagree with him and never want to be with him. Every woman he met wanted to stay with him.

How could she refuse me? he asked himself.

"Oh, I guess I didn't make it clear to you, Atty. Allie Spencer? I, as your husband, who signed a legal contract of marriage, have the right to make the decision. Once they figure out that we are not living together, they will doubt us and everything. What can you say?" She avoided his gaze.

 "Fine. But we won't be staying in the same bedroom. Period. End of this topic, "she remarked.

He turned his gaze to her and held her chin. He felt her soft skin and noticed her collarbone beneath the suit she was wearing.

"Oops... So someone is scared of me? Or was it, are you scared of your own thoughts that we could end up f*ckin' each other? "he smirked.

He leaned closer as Allie tried to escape from his arms, caging her. Her eyes widened. Will you get your filthy hands off of me? I don't care about your f*cking sex life or any woman you're sleeping with. Just don't put that joke on me, "her brows creased.

Nathan unclasped his hands on her and talked to the driver, "Drive her home."

After they reached Allie's house, Nathan got out of the car and opened the door for her.

"Thank you," she uttered.

As soon as she went upstairs, she laid her entire body on the bed. She tossed her shoes on the floor and spread her arms freely.

"What a stressful day and what a stressful husband I could have," she shouted into the air.

The next morning, she got up early and took a bath. She didn't pack all her things because, at some point, she would still sleep in her house. She just put all the necessary stuff and clothes in her luggage. After some time, she was on her way to sleep when she heard the doorbell ring.

"Who would visit this early?" she asked herself, annoyed.

She lazily went through the gate and opened it. "Holy," she uttered to herself.

Did you always have to curse? "he asked firmly.

She frowned and let him in."What are you doing here?" she asked nonchalantly.

I'm fetching you, just in case you've forgotten to pack all your things. You know I'll be helping you, "he smirked.

"No thanks. I'm done, btw. But why are you so early? I could even go there by myself. I have my car, "she protested

He smiled, "I wouldn't want them to think that I didn't care about my wife. Just so you know, wife first before anything else. "

She just let it pass and went to the kitchen. Nathan followed her and went to the dining area. He scanned the entire place, and there was one thing that caught his eyes. A painting indeed, enthusiastically. He read the name that was written below the painting.

Once he read it, he already knew.

"Do you paint?" he asked, mesmerized.

 She was cooking pancakes as he approached her, so she wasn't really focusing on his question. She was still making the pancakes. Nathan was taken aback by her reaction, but he shrugged it off.

'Argh! It's just nothing. There were a lot of women out there,' he convinced himself.

Allie gracefully put the pancakes on the table as well as the hot chocolates he made for him.

I hope you'll like it. "I honestly don't know how to cook," she said boldly.

He looked at her. She was different from the other women she met. Is it a good or bad difference? I guess I'll figure it out soon. Allie was seated facing him.

"It tastes good," he said sincerely.

"Really?" she asked, cheeky.

She laughed, "I think it turned out good because I always prepared that one."

He thought she was joking, but on the other hand, he had seen seriousness in her face. The room filled with silence after that.

Nathan and Allie sat on opposite edges of the sofa like they hadn't known each other.

•••

After settling her things in the compartment, Allie locked the windows as well as checked if all the doors were closed,  she went outside. Nathan was waiting infront of her house. Nathan observed that Allie was avoiding him. He went closer than she expected.

"Are you avoiding me?" he whispered smirking at her.

Her eyes widened and she gracefully regained her composure.

"No, why would I?"  she uttered.

"We need to talk," he remarked.

 "Go on, I'm all ears," she uttered.

 Nathan crossed his arms and looked at her seriously, "I don't want this marriage. "

 "Me either," she laughed. 

 "I'm serious. I don't want to marry you. "I don't like the idea of marrying you," he said. Don't attend the ceremony. In fact, I could give you the amount that your grandmother needed, "she felt he was insulting her. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Love
1

About the Creator

Emlyza Studio

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.