Fiction logo

An Invitation from beyond?

When nightmares, dreams and reality collide.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 10 min read
2
An Invitation from beyond?
Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

I know that boxes cannot fly. I must be dreaming. Be it dream or reality, this box was flying towards me, tiny propellers beneath outstretched wings. I ran, but it chased me, caught up to me, and.........................,bang, bang, bang. Loud knocking?

Doorbell ringing. My eyes popped open. Between the hammering on the door, the incessant ringing of the bell, and the rude awakening from the dream, my head started to pound.

"Ok, I'm coming, geez what a racket"! I shouted

My friend Ayana was standing there. We had decided to carpool to save gas, the prices were atrocious. "Were you still sleeping Mayani"? She was a bit annoyed since we were now sure to be late for work.

"Did you bring that thing with you"? I asked her, pointing at the steel grey drone buzzing like a fly close by.

"No, it's been here for the past fifteen minutes or so, buzzing and waiting for you. The neighbors are getting annoyed, it's distracting the children. There is a box, and the thing has a note".

The drone was.hovering above the box as if protecting it, was it going to shoot anybody that touched it who was not me, I wondered, smiling. That would be ridiculous, wouldn't it? I was not so sure. I reached for the note and the drone actually pulled back and rudely facially recognized me. It said, "take the note". I did, and it turned and flew away. I picked up the box and we both went inside.

By Josh Sorenson on Unsplash

"What is going on". Ayana asked, an impish look and a mischievous smile on her face.

"Don't start that, I have no idea what this is about". I opened the note. It read, "For your Eyes only". It was our song, Brantly and I.

"Whatever do you mean? My friend said, laughing and trying to seem innocent. "But seriously Yani, Brantly has been gone for five years, it's time you moved on with your life. Maybe this is a suitor who is too scared to death to approach you. You have chased everyone else away".

"I told you, he is still alive, I feel it in my heart. Wherever he is, he is in trouble. I am still holding on to hope".

"Well, open the box. Maybe there is a clue or something". She picked up the scissors from the desk and handed them to me.

"You know what is strange, Ayana. I was dreaming of a flying box chasing me just before you woke me up. What do you think it means"?

She turned and gave me a comforting hug before replying. I was grateful, my mind was conjuring up all kinds of images.

By Benyafez Studio on Unsplash

"Let's find out. You should always listen to your dreams. What does the note say anyway"? Ayana asked.

"Nothing important, just a delivery thing". I lied, slipping the note into the pocket of my robe. I needed time to sort out what this was all about.

Brantley and I had been engaged when he got sent overseas to North Korea for a short tour of duty. He is a member of the military, and should have been gone for only six months. That was five years ago. Somehow on the return journey, the airplane had suddenly lost radar signal and just disappeared into thin air. There had been thirty military personnel on board. No wreckage was ever found. The search for them is still ongoing, and everything possible had been done to find them.

I got ready for work, and despite the insistence of Ayana that I open the box, I decided to wait until I got home. The truth was that I was just too scared of what I might find within the contents of this ominous box. I think that my friend understood, and she said nothing more about it during the day. She drove me home after work and told me to call her when I was ready for a listening ear. I had gone about the business of work as if in a dream, my mind was in turmoil as to the events that were to unfold with the eventual opening of the package. I changed to my gym clothing and walked the two blocks to work out my problems on the machines. Feeling a little better, I returned home, showered, ate a light meal, and turned my attention fully to the task at hand. I could ignore it no longer.

I placed the box on the floor, sat down on a chair facing it, and stared at it for a long while. I looked again at the note that had been handed to me. There was a strange symbol on the back that seemed otherworldly, it somehow appeared to move slightly if you looked keenly at the design. With a sigh and great resolve I grabbed the boxcutter and sliced into the taped up box. Gingerly, I pried open the flaps. An unusual shaped object was tightly embedded in the center, with protective plastic that I had never seen before. I felt afraid to touch the fragile looking thing. To the side with again, very strange etchings, was another larger note on a sci-fi looking tablet.

Taking a deep breath, I removed the note, opened it and started to read. I read it three times before the intent of the writer etched itself clearly into my brain. It was from Brantly. Of that I was sure, I knew his handwriting.

"My sweet, kind Mayani. I cannot begin to imagine the pain and agony that the past five years have caused you. But you have to understand that where I am, time does not elapse as it does for you there. What had been five years for you has been but a moment for me here. I shall explain and expand on that a bit now.............We boarded the plane in South Korea and everything seemed fine. We were all a bit tired, and some of us slept for a while, I was awake when the plane suddenly stopped flying in mid-air. It just stopped! Panic ensued, we thought we were sure to fall from the sky. Then amidst the questions, fear and terror, we felt ourselves moving, rising, not the way the airplane normally does, but more like being manually lifted".

"Suddenly, we moved at such a great speed, that before we knew it, we were landing, or docking. We waited in fear of our fate. I cannot aptly describe the intense quality of the air when we were allowed to disembark. It was like breathing heaven. The air was so cool and clean, I felt euphoric. There were people there, like us, but no longer like us, their skin, their eyes, their, well just.....they looked reborn and pure. We had found ourselves in a kind of Isaac Asimov world. The original beings of this world look like us, but are a different species, they have evolved way beyond our capabilities. Imagine no crime, clean air, food and water in its purest form. There is no time for boredom, here everything is constantly moving, evolving, changing, there is so much to do, so much to learn".

Logan Troxell_Unsplash

Mayani felt breathless with excitement as she continued to read.

"The Aestheque, as they are known, are not forcing us to stay here. The planet is called Oblivion and we do have a choice. So far no one has opted to leave. They choose who they want from other planets with a far-reaching technology that is way beyond my limited knowledge and understanding. Those with families are free to bring them here. People have been going missing for years, the government has just kept it under wraps, they do not understand what is going on, and want to avoid wide spread panic........Now, my dear Mayani. I would like you to come to me here. There is so much more to say, to see, but that can wait. Tell no one about this please. That is very important.

Inside that box is the means to get you here. The instructions are simple. Clasp the object to your heart and press the green button. If you press the red one, my heart will break, it will mean you have no interest in joining me, and the object, the box, and the knowledge that I have just imparted to you will simply disintegrate, disappear, causing you no harm whatsoever. You will remember nothing of what just transpired. I eagerly await your response.....Ever your love, Brantly".

The note fell from Mayani's hands. Her hands flew to her mouth. She burst into tears. Brantly was alive. Alive. She did not care where he was, she had to be with him. Emotions overcame her. Then reality reared its practical head. How could what he just outlined possibly be? Does that mean that he, and a whole airplane full of military personnel were abducted by aliens. Was that really a thing that had been happening all these years. No matter. She would deal with that reality later. Mayani stood up, wiggled the contraption from it's enclosure and stared at the unusual craftmanship. She had no doubt whatsoever about what she intended to do. Her mind had been made up from the first mention of his name.

Mayani scribbled a quick note to Ayana. She went over to her friend's house, told her how much she loved her for her friendship and support over the years.

"Are you ok Mayani. You are acting weird". Ayana said.

"I have never been better. I just wanted you to know how much you mean to me. Can't a friend hug a friend just for the sake of it"?

"Definitely weird. But ok. I'm happy to see you are finally embracing your independence again".

"Take care of yourself. If you want to come over later, the key is under the fake stone as usual.".

"Sure will, after I finish cleaning". She waved a tentative goodbye knowing that something was surely up with her friend, she was acting strange.

Back in her apartment, Mayani picked up the note telling her friend goodbye, and saying how sorry she was that she could not explain in more details, but not to worry, she would be ok, and placed it on the table where she would see it. She wasted no more time. Taking the object from the table, she hugged it to her heart and pressed the green button.

Time and space disappeared, she felt lifted in gentle arms, enveloped in a cocoon of warmth and comfort. In the space of a heartbeat, Mayani was in a vast room filled with lovely perfumed flowers, huge domes rose as high as the eyes could see above her. Strangely, the trip had not affected her in any way. Through the ceiling which seemed endless she saw beautiful blue skies. Wow, she thought, this sky is unususlly blue and clear. Out the irregularly shaped windows she saw more futuristic well designed buildings pointing their domes and spires at odd but lovely angles. Brantly had not been exaggerating. The place was extravagantly beautiful. She turned and saw him coming towards her at full speed.

Mayani started to run, they practically collided with each other. Mayani and Brantly stood holding each other for a long time, each saying nothing, but knowing what was in each other's hearts. Finally, they pulled apart and kissed each other long and deeply. They looked at each other and laughed.

"Come". He told her, taking her hand, there is so much I have to tell you, show you. I am so very happy you came."

"Why would you even doubt that I would. Five years passed in a blur for me. My eyes are finally clear again".

Back on earth, Ayana took the key from under the rock, walked in calling her friend's name. No one answered her enquiry. She found the note on the table telling her goodbye. The note asking her to take whatever she wanted from the apartment for herself, and informing the complex manager that she would not be back. She had found Brantly, could say no more about it, was all she said. Mayani apologized for her abrupt departure and for not being able to explain it all. She would be all right, and she wished her friend all the happiness that she was sure that she had finally found. Tears flowed down Ayana's cheeks.

On Oblivion, Mayani looked around, joy and happiness filled her heart.

Robida_Unsplash

It was then that she saw another Brantly over in the corner watering some plants, another was standing at the door speaking to someone. Yet another was working at a well crafted table. They turned to look at her, their eyes glowed. "Oh God"! Ayana was right, she should have heeded the dream. Mayani turned and started to run.

N.A.

Sci FiFantasy
2

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Oh goodness... I was really digging the happy ending. Poor girl... A wonderful well written an unique story

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    This is a really heartwarming story. I almost sobbed reading it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.