Fiction logo

Amie's Diary

A Wasteland Romance

By T. J. WardPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Amie's Diary
Photo by Warren Wong on Unsplash

April 10, 2238

This is going to be my first entry. I just turned 18 today and received this notebook as a birthday gift. Not that I’m ungrateful, but the older you get around here, the lamer the gifts get. What am I supposed to do with this thing? Write about my super exciting life here in the bunker? Well I’ve got news for mom and dad. I already spoke to the head supervisor, and he said since I’m 18 now I’m old enough to leave if I really want to. And I’m leaving tomorrow.

So far I’ve only told Brooke and Tiffany. Both of them tried to talk me out of it, said I should think about it some more. But I’ve been thinking about it since I was a kid, and now that I’m older, I only want to leave more. I want to see the ocean, some mountains, THE SKY. And I really, really want a boyfriend. I mean come on. The war was generations ago, and the bunker has let people OUT but has never let anyone IN. So let’s just say the gene pool is kinda shallow.

So yeah, I’m done thinking about it. This is my last night here.

April 11, 2238

Mom and dad didn’t take my leaving very well. They warned me that once I go outside, I can never come back, Bunker Rules. Well, what’s done is done. I’m already out. I will definitely miss them, but it is what it is.

The surface is… amazing? I mean, the sky is bigger than I could ever imagine. Clouds are prettier than I expected. And the sun is BRIGHT. But everything is so dirty. And gross. And smells BAD. Haven’t seen any mutants yet, though, so that’s a plus.

I easily found my way to a place built out of the metal boxcars from trains (just like the ones in all the old books) and a lot of tents. It’s called Scraptown, which is pretty accurate. I had brought all my old toys to try and trade for a weapon for protection. But no one in Scraptown was interested in them. I ended up leaving them with one trader who promised to give me credit towards a pistol, but I would have to bring him more stuff to barter. He wrote it down in a book. I don’t know if I trust him, but I really didn’t want to keep carrying all the stuff around, so may as well leave it there.

There was another guy attempting to barter while I was there. Name was Toeslicer. He guessed that I was new in town and offered to let me crash in his tent tonight, which is where I’m sitting writing right now. He’s cooking us something for dinner that only smells slightly better than wet garbage, but I’m pretty hungry, so I’m gonna eat it.

Tomorrow, he’s gonna take me scavenging. I’m excited.

April 12, 2238

Toeslicer woke me up before dawn, said the best scavenging is done early. Something to do with getting to the traders with it before they get burnt out with everyone else’s junk, yadda yadda. I’ll take his word for it. He seems to know what he’s talking about. And despite wearing dirty, torn clothes with a ridiculous number of rusty spikes, he’s actually a really nice guy. I bet he cleans up nice.

He took me to a burned up house off the beaten path and showed me how to sift through the wreckage and what kind of stuff to look for. He discarded things I would have thought were valuable, like books for example, and kept things I wouldn’t have thought twice about. I can tell he’s done this plenty of times, which is kinda cool, but I can’t stop thinking about how casually he looted the dead bodies we found there. Ew.

We came back to Scraptown with a pretty good haul, and I was able to get the pistol I wanted. Toeslicer seems to like me as much as I like him and invited me to stay at his camp as long as I wanted. He’s really growing on me. And he’s kinda cute. I can write that in here and don’t have to worry about him seeing it because he can’t read. Ha ha ha :)

April 14, 2238

Toeslicer and I have been talking a lot, and I told him I’m from a bunker. He said he guessed as much because my clothes were so clean, but promised not to hold it against me. And then he winked. I’ve never had a guy that wasn’t my cousin wink at me before, so that was thrilling.

Toeslicer’s been teaching me how to shoot, and he says I’m better than he expected. I guess all my time spent playing video games in the bunker wasn’t a waste. He’s been teaching me everything I need to know to survive in the wasteland, and I’m sure I don’t regret leaving the bunker. The only thing I really regret is not bringing more soap. I knew they didn’t have transmutation chambers for producing stuff like that on the surface, but I figured they would have come up with some process for making stuff like soap and deodorant by now. Nope. He says no one cares about that. Says he doesn’t smell any of the things I’ve been complaining about and that I’ll probably get used to it like him.

I don’t wanna get used to it. I want him to take a damn bath. But how do I get him to?

April 20, 2238

Toeslicer has been getting pretty forward with me, and I’m trying to be open minded, but everything out here still smells like one big rotting carcass. And he IS pretty cute, but I’m not even sure how you go about kissing someone with that many facial piercings. Hell, I’m not even sure how he was able to get them out here without his head getting gangrene.

He asked me out on a date tomorrow, and I said yes. I’m both anxious and eager to see what a date is like on the surface.

April 22, 2238

Well. He took me to a bar where I soon discovered Toeslicer is by far the cleanest, nicest smelling guy in town. We ate steaks from some exotic animal I’ve never heard of and drank wine by the light of a burning trash can. It was the most romantic thing I’ve ever experienced.

I’ve never had wine before. Turns out, if you drink enough of it, all the dirt and stink in the world kinda fades away, and also I’m a good dancer.

I had a really good time last night, but I feel like I have the flu today. Toeslicer says it’s just a hangover. We’re taking the day off from scavenging so I can recover. He wrapped me in a blanket and keeps bringing me water. I think I might be in love.

April 30, 2238

Toeslicer and I are going to get married!

He proposed to me today with a heart-shaped locket. I’m pretty sure it’s one he looted off that dead body at the burned up house, but I can’t prove it. Oh well.

It doesn’t matter, I’m so excited to start my new life with Toeslicer and have all his dirty little babies!

He’s currently working on welding the body of a VW bug and a bunch of spikes to the frame of a pickup truck, and we’re going to ride it out into the desert for our honeymoon. The wasteland is everything I hoped it would be and more. I’m so glad I left the bunker.

Love
Like

About the Creator

T. J. Ward

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.