Fiction logo

Amaranth: A Maerith Kingdom Novel - Chapter 12

The Evil Witch's Daughter

By Mandy JoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Dax returned to Miserth Castle and sat down next to Qbaris, “He told me to tell you that if you want to know what the plan is that you need to come ask for yourself.”

Qbaris shook his head, “Why am I not surprised? I really do not want to leave the castle, yet he wants me to go over there.”

Darca walked in to Qbaris’ room, “I see Odulore on his horse, Magnus coming through the forest.”

Qbaris got up and walked out to the courtyard as Odulore and Magnus enter. “Greetings, friends!” he says to them.

“Greetings!” Odulore replied. “I know that you wanted to know about my plans for the Maerith Kingdom. I figured I would come out here to let you know. Where would you like to talk?”

“Let’s sit by the fireplace. It’s the best place.” He motions for him to follow him.

They sat down in the chairs and Odulore assured him, “I want the Maerith Kingdom to be one of peace and quiet. I want everyone to be able to go about their own business. I understand that you are wanting the same.”

“Yes, I want peace and to be left alone. I don’t need to be a part of the Maerith Kingdom social club. I have done just fine by myself here at Miserth Castle. Now that Crumazz is gone. I don’t even have to worry about him coming home. I will be cleaning out his room. I want nothing evil here. Where should I dispose of all of his things?”

“What did he have?”

“He had quite the collection of crystals.”

“The crystals will be fine and you don’t need to get rid of them. They are not inherently evil.”

“Ok, that works for me. Although, I do want his room cleared out. I don’t know what I will use that room for, but having him out of there is a great start,” He smiled.

Odulore smiled and replied, “Understood. I will be off and leave you alone. The only time we will contact you is if there is something you need to know in order to protect the castle.” He got up and left on Magnus.

Qbaris sat there. Dax and Darca came up with one on each side of his so that he could pet them both on their heads at the same time. He laid his head back and closed his eyes.

Suddenly there was a loud crash that opened his eyes. He looked up and there stood a wizard with two winged lions next to him. Qbaris stood up and asked, “Who are you and what do you want?”

“I am Avras. These are my companions Axe and Artimas. I am here to find out what you are up to. I know that your parents were Qrizor and Zaleria and that your siblings are Crumazz and Amaranth. So, just one of those is still living. I know that Amaranth took care of Crumazz. What happened to Qrizor and Zaleria? Did you have anything to do with those?” He asked him.

“Ok, so you think I had something to do with them dying? I did not. I was told of both of their deaths. All of my knowledge is second hand. What am I up to? I was relaxing until you got here. I had just had Odulore here that was telling me that his plans for the Maerith Kingdom are peace and quiet.”

They both stood there with their companions by their sides in silence for a few moments. Avras spoke up, “I am glad to hear all of this. I have wanted the kingdom to be peaceful and quiet for some time. I hope that we are entering this time for quite a while. I will leave you and your dogs be in peace.” He turned, got on Axe, and they flew out of the castle.

Qbaris sat back down and thought to himself, Good grief, these guys need to get together and leave me alone. I haven’t done a thing, and they all are up in arms about my parents and brother dying. I have no idea who killed my parents. Honestly, with how evil they both were, I really don’t care to know. They did me a favor. Then he closed his eyes and went off to sleep with Dax and Darca by his side.

Back at the Rissingshire Castle Odulore and Magnus return with Oizu and Irreineot out front of the castle keeping watch. They enter the courtyard and Amaranth walked out of her room. “Where did you go?”

“I went to let Qbaris know our plans of keeping Maerith Kingdom peaceful and quiet,” Odulore told her.

“Good. I am sure he appreciated knowing that. It would be nice if this all goes peacefully. I have had enough excitement for a while.”

Avras appeared in courtyard with his winged lions. He looked at them and announced, “I went to see Qbaris. I wanted to let him know that peace and quiet is the plan and asked him what his plans were. He says it’s for peace and quiet. I hope he is truthful.”

Odulore shook his head and said to him, “Really? I was just there. You didn’t need to go there. He probably feels ambushed.”

“Yeah, well, I went anyway. We need this to be clear that anyone associated with Qrizor and Zaleria know that we will not permit evil in Maerith Kingdom.” Avras said as he looked right at Amaranth.

“Yeah, I get the hint. I know you are talking directly to me. I am all for the peace and quiet. If you remember, I grew up here and not with all the evil. They were my parents, but I never knew them. I did not have their influence at all. No worries,” Amaranth said to him with a snarkiness in her voice and shook her head at him in disbelief.

Odulore shook his head also, rolled his eyes, and looked at him. Avras shrugged his shoulders, turned around, and took off with his winged lions.

They went into Trodus’ room and sat at the table. Odulore laid out the book of spells and the letter from his father. “I think we need to keep this book and yours close together. What are your thoughts?”

“I think you are right. I will add it to your bookshelf. I have ever been in this room. He would never allow me in here. This is a great room. I love all the candles and the crystal ball. Have you used the crystal ball yet?”

He smiled at her, “Yes, I have. It’s pretty accurate. Although, for pictures, it doesn’t give a full picture. For example, I asked where you were and it showed you at a table reading.”

“So, you did spy on me. It is reassuring and creepy all at the same time. I wish it would have given you context along with the picture.” She told him and smiled back at him.

The felines walked in and jumped up on the table in between them. Then the owls flew in sat on the table also. Odulore looked at all of them and then back to Amaranth. “Isn’t this crazy? They all want to be in here with us. Like this castle isn’t big enough.”

“Yeah, it’s nice to have them close by. They are comforting. This whole thing is getting more and more comforting. I feel safe and secure here now. Although, Avras is a bit disturbing.”

Zyrsit flew in and landed on the table, “I saw that Gairrulit is on his way here. I don’t know what kind of trouble he is going to cause, but you needed to know.”

“Thank you Zyrsit. I will go greet him,” said Odulore. “You don’t need to deal with him.” He got up and walked out to the courtyard.

Gairrulit landed in the courtyard in front of Odulore. Soon there were many mystical forest creatures in the courtyard with them. Evatius galloped in and stood next to him.

“What do you want Gairrulit?”

“I am here to warn you that even though you think the Maerith Kingdom is rid of evil, it is not too far away and in a form that will surprise you. Your peace and quiet will not last long.”

“What are you talking about?”

“Exactly what I said. You will be in for a surprise and the day will happen when you least expect it to. Keep a watch out for it.”

Gairrulit turned and flew out of the castle. Odulore looked at Evatius and shook his head. He turned and walked back to Trodus’ room where Amaranth was still sitting.

“What did he want?” She asked him.

He looked at her, paused for a moment and then told her, “He said that evil is coming, and we will be surprised. He did not say how we will be surprised. He also did not say when.”

She sat there and looked at him. Amaranth put her race in her hands with her elbows on the table. She shook her head and looked up at him again. Narella rubbed up against her arm. She scratched her on her chin.

“What do you want to do?” She questioned.

“I think that we can only be prepared, but there’s really not much to do. We will need to have some spells and potions ready for anything. The problem is we have no idea what or who the evil is.”

Continue Reading - Chapter 13

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Mandy Jo

Mandy Jo loves writing fiction and travel. Currently her writings are a fictional story but also a walking training manual; some recipes that she made over Christmas; a mystery series, and a fantasy series.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.