Fiction logo

Always Late

But got there in time

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
6
Always Late
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I didn't mean to procrastinate, but I couldn't help myself. I did my homework and school projects at the last minute. I was always the last one to the table, and still eating after everyone else got up. I was typically the last one in the car when my family went to the grocery store, to Grandma and Grandpa’s, or anywhere else. I stayed up late, often until midnight, and slept in. I was frequently late for class. Mom teasingly called me "Susie Sloth."

I was a tomboy, hanging out with my brother, Jim, and his friends. We would shoot hoops, swim in the river, and build secret forts in the woods.

It didn't bother me that all the girls and boys around me had hit puberty. I liked me the way I was.

Finally, as a high school freshman, I grew breasts, and I began to see why the other girls were excited about boys. I developed a crush on Jim's friend, Joey Caselli. He was a year older, but I was determined to catch his eye. I tried flirting, but when I fluttered my eyelashes, he asked, "What's the matter, Susie? You got something in your eyes?" He walked off, not waiting for a reply.

I tried to impress him on the basketball court, making a bunch of layups and three-pointers, but he hollered, "Hey, Susie, don't be a ball hog." So I passed the ball to him. Hard. In his stomach. He landed on his back. What had come over me? I ran to him, tripped on a crack, and landed on top of him.

I mumbled, "Sorry." I was near tears.

He choked out, "Nice pass," and looked at me with a wrinkled brow, like he saw me for the first time. He sat up and asked, "Hey, Susie, you wanna go to the dance next Friday?"

My heart raced, but I didn't want to seem too eager. I said, "Sure, but on one condition. Call me Susan."

He smirked and said, "Then call me Joe."

I felt my smile widen. "Deal." I extended a hand and helped him up.

From then on, we were inseparable. My brother teased us both, but I could tell he didn't mind his best friend dating his sister. At least he knew he was a nice guy.

We were both virgins, but not for long. We awkwardly put our toes in those waters together, until we could swim a marathon. We were diligent about using condoms.

When I was a junior and he was a senior, things got really serious. We expressed our love both verbally and by our actions. We talked about how we could still see each other when he went away to the closest college from which he got an acceptance letter.

Then, I experienced a different kind of late. I put off buying a pregnancy test until I was pretty sure. The little plus sign confirmed my suspicion. I don't know how or why a condom had failed us.

I was afraid to tell anyone. I didn't want an abortion, but I wasn’t sure if I could mother a child either.

Finally, I took Joe down by the river. We sat on a fallen log. He said, "You've been very quiet. I can tell something’s bothering you. Tell me what's on your mind."

I decided not to procrastinate any longer and came out with it, Looking at the ground and holding a hand to my abdomen, I confessed, "Joe, I'm pregnant."

Several expressions went across his face in rapid succession - joy, panic, fear, determination.

He took my hands in his, looked me in the eyes, and said, "Susan, I love you. We can do this. Let's get married and have this child."

All of our parents were against our decision. They thought we were too young. His dad suggested abortion, both of our moms wanted us to adopt out, and my dad muttered something about a shotgun. But, eventually they came around.

After we made the decision, my mom took me aside and confided, "When I was just a bit older than you, I had an abortion." Tears were streaming down her face. "I always regretted my choice, so don't you let anyone tell you what to do with your body."

We were going to rent the basement of my parent's place until we could afford our own, but our high school friends surprised us by starting a collection. They raised over $5000 so we could set up our own apartment. We chose a modest two-bedroom place and spent the most money on the nursery.

Joe took a job with Sundown Heating and Cooling, and I started teaching English online. Although we were tired all the time, we were happy.

We were married at the Court House, with all our family standing by.

Just like me, the baby girl procrastinated. She was two weeks late when I finally started having contractions. Giving birth was the most difficult thing I had ever done, but Joe stood beside me, holding my hand, wiping my brow.

Our daughter, Cecilia, was born healthy. We worked hard to keep our little family together. Two years later, we had a son, Anthony - "Tony."

Joe was promoted. He always felt inferior for not going to college, but I asked him, "Who do doctors and lawyers call when their HVAC system goes on the fritz?" I hugged him and said, "You are more than smart enough."

Joe and I stayed together until he passed away at age 67 from a heart attack.

Our happy family had grown to our first great grandchild by then. It all started because I was late back in high school.

family
6

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat2 years ago

    A lovely story! It is relatable and well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.