Fiction logo

Alone in the abyss

my journey to madness

By Jc MartinezPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. This is what I had to keep telling myself. To make sure that I didn't go insane. I had a team. Now it's just me by myself out here. This isn't a sob story about how I lost them. It's a warning for anyone thinking about coming to space. Don't do it. Do anything you can to make sure you stay far away from here.

To give you the full story I have to go back to the beginning. Before any of this happened. When I was a hopeful 23 year old college graduate. I was presented with what I thought, was the opportunity of a lifetime. I was able to go space for free. As part of an experiment. Finally I would be able to see what was out there. Me Maria Fernandez. It seemed like a dream come true. Little did I know it would be my worst nightmare.

I was joined by Liz a 27 year old biologist, who wanted to find a new life form. David a 33 year old tech millionaire, who wanted to create his own city here. Finally there was Mike a 60 year old retired engineer, who wanted to scratch going to space off of his bucket list.

I immediately bonded with Liz as we were the only women. We would talk about Science which we both studied. She told me about her family back home. Two parents who were together for 30 years. Two siblings and her nieces and nephews. I didn't have much to talk about there. My Parents are divorced and I have one sibling. I taught her Spanish and told what it was like growing up in a Latino household.

Everything was going great until the forth day. I was in my cabin on the ship. I heard yelling coming from the hallway, so I went to see what was going on. I saw Liz and David standing there. As I got closer I noticed that David's ear was bleeding. Mike came to help David. Liz walked away and I followed behind her.

I wanted to know what happened between them. I met up with her at the back of the ship. I asked her what happened and she just looked at me. She was angry but smiling at the same time. She then started chasing me. I was running faster then I had ever before.

I was able to get to my door and lock it. Mike was in the hallway outside of my door, when Liz came up behind him and started biting his neck. I wanted to open the door but i didn't. I just watched it all happen. She then came up to my window and banged on it. I backed up into my room. I thought she was going to brake it.

Liz seemed so nice before. What could make her change so quickly ? Could the same thing happen to me ? I sat in bed and thought about this for the night. In my morning Mike's body was still there. Or whatever was left of it.

I made my way to the call room. This was only communication with Earth. I called my commander and told her what had happened with Liz. She said that she would look into it and get back to me. That didn't give me any type of reassurance.

I started to head back to my room. I stopped in front of David's cabin. He was laying in bed. I knocked on the door and he turned around with a scared look on his face. He opened the door when he saw that it was me and not Liz. I asked him what happened between them. He told me that they started kissing and then out of nowhere Liz bite his ear. He yelled at her after which is what I heard.

All of a sudden we both hear a gruesome noise from the hallway. Before we can close the door we see Liz standing there. She has the same look on her face as last time. I looked at David and could tell he was afraid. She went for him first. As she was biting his neck he told me to save myself. I ran out of that cabin as fast as my legs would take me. Again I was able to escape her. Mike and David didn't have the same luck as me. I knew that I had to survive for them.

I was able to fall asleep despite what happened. I hadn't eaten in days in fear of running into Liz. I couldn't wait anymore. The next morning I opened my door and made my way to the kitchen. Looking out for Liz every step of the way. I was finally able to eat. After I was done I grabbed a knife. I didn't know if I was going to use it. As I was leaving I saw her. She locked eyes with me and started running full speed. I got my knife and stabbed her in the neck before she could bite me.

She fell to the ground. I went to the ground and kept stabbing her. I wasn't going to take any chances. I don't know why it happened but what I do know is that i'm the only one left. Nothing can make me forget about this trip. In the worst way possible.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.