Fiction logo

Alone

Unscramble Challenge

By Sandra MatosPublished about a month ago 1 min read
6
Alone
Photo by Kyle Cleveland on Unsplash

My word~ Gynecologist ~ 21 words

Tony is a stoic ecologist who moved from the city to the rainforest. There, despite his bee allergy, he built a nest to live in. He wanted to see if the soggy environment of the nest would affect the tiny organisms growing there.

Tony loved his work but was a lone figure in that nest. Logic dictated that he should not try to enlist some nice lady or a stony-faced old friend to share this experience with him. He was a real gent, but most would find his work boring. Still, he longs for companionship.

Suddenly, he feels a tingle in his toes and thinks,

"What if I have diabetes?" He realizes that no one would know if he was dead and gone.

What if he accidentally ate a stone, and it went on to clog his colon? He sat nervously on his seat and knocked over a hive.

"Crap" was his last thought.

I wrote this for Heather Hubler's Unscramble (unofficial poem/microfiction) Challenge. Follow the link below to join in the fun!

https://vocal.media/writers/unscramble-challenge

Microfiction
6

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    This subverted expectations in the coolest way! What a character you developed using words from an unusual source! Very nice!

  • What a fun take on this challenge! I do feel sorry for Tony… he was doing it for the good of mankind!🥺

  • Heather Hubler25 days ago

    Oh poor Tony!!! This was wonderfully creative, and I loved your starting word. The line about the stone in the colon made me laugh out loud!! Great entry, Sandra :)

  • Caroline Cravenabout a month ago

    This was great. Can’t believe you could get so much out of gynaecologist.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Love "soggy"!

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    A CUTE STORY!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.