Fiction logo

Alien

Really. In space no one can hear you scream.

By Cat TurnerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I read that somewhere when we still read. The memory popped up from my external memory feeder as I reminisced over my school days in my third retirement. As every older person must do since the dawn of time, I like to bore my offspring’s clones with tales from my childhood.

I had to write a paper from a poster in primary school from the vintage movie ‘Aliens.’ Have you ever heard of movies? They were flat screen, moving pictures with just a few waves on the electromagnetic spectrum with scratchy sound waves. I never saw one, but I heard about it once from a storyteller on Jupiter’s moon Europa. The poster said, “In space no one can hear you scream.” I laughed out loud at the assignment, and the teacher turned off my visual for twenty minutes because I interrupted the Holo classroom. We had it tough in those days, not like you kids today. Your teachers can’t disconnect you with your chip, directly linking you together across the six-dimensional cosmos.

I had a bootleg pair of gaming glasses my great grandpa bought me for my clone date, so I just played the latest round of Assassin's Creed Nebula 8,000 until my teacher added me back into the class. I missed nothing as it was still expanding on the same assignment. Create a six dimension model representing the ancient science behind the now defunct movie entertainment, specifically assigned to me, the movie Alien. The assignment seemed juvenile for a five-year-old, but I always strive to give the teacher what it wants.

How quaint a notion. In our uncivilized past in the twenty-first century, humans required sound waves for their ears. The collisions between objects in the atmosphere or some solid like the ground caused noise that they interpreted as sound. This basic concept was the movie's entire plot, as much as I could ascertain from the few bits of information available in the interstellar library. I had this vision of humans and their cute pets in space, just yelling at each other. From what I could tell, the humans carried their pets around in their chests and yelled for them to come out when it was time for dinner. Those poor pets could not hear when it was time for dinner because they still required sound waves. No wonder the movie was considered a horror story.

I can’t imagine not being able to hear a rainbow, a solar flare, or a meteor as it flies by the family ship as we vacation on Mars. Sometime in the 27th century, a child was born with the ability to hear radio waves by converting the frequencies into mechanical vibrations that the brain interpreted as sound. I was too young to remember, but I recall my clone source materials discussing it at the hydration station. Everyone recognized the superiority of this way of hearing, and it became an immediate fad to manipulate DNA to match the new ability. The trick now is to try to drown out all the sounds of the electromagnetic spectrum. It gets deafening when all you clones visit these old bones, but I love the sound of your visuals. I heard some old Earthers were even reverse engineering their DNA only to hear sound waves. Well, back to my project, and do not roll those eye stalks at me! That was another mutation that we all loved. You can see the back of your hair when you fix those elaborate hairstyles that are all the fad these days. The teacher thought my project was passable and appreciated the history component. It had forgotten that humans used only to be able to hear sound waves and checked itself into the clinic for a memory upgrade.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Cat Turner

My stories range from the whimsical to the down and dirty of a serial killer. A balanced left and right brain with my varied life experiences make me an eccentric bird. I have been blogging two years now. I hope you enjoy my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.