Fiction logo

Ahri's Journal

By Clarence Demaree

By Clarence DemareePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Day 1: I’m starting this journal because… well, I don’t really know why I decided to start a journal. Something inside me just compelled me to start this for Sera’s sake. It’s funny that I don’t really have a reason and yet this just feels like the right thing to do. Anyway, it’s been a whole day since Sera disappeared. I can’t explain how or why she would vanish without telling someone that she's leaving or why. In fact, I don’t know how she managed to leave without anyone seeing her. This college is a huge place and someone would’ve said SOMETHING, you know? It didn’t seem like she was depressed. I mean, she took down that underwater stallion all by herself, and when she came back, she seemed extremely happy that she finished such a dangerous hunt by herself. I was happy for her too. That stallion had been causing problems here in the north for longer than any of us have been alive and yet Sera managed to take it down! I wish I could’ve been there to see it. I also wish I could’ve helped her somehow. But back to the main issue at hand. I can’t figure out where she would go. I’m sure she misses her old home, but Sera isn’t the kind of person to just leave, especially after making so many friends here at the college and after everything we’ve done together. Wherever she’s at, I’m sure she’ll be fine though. After all, she’s the Mistress of Fire and Ice! And even without the power of those two elements, she’s pretty tough on her own. I just hope she comes back soon…

Day 4: I figured that after the first day of writing in my journal, I was simply just being paranoid of my friend Sera, but now I’m getting even more worried about her. I’ve asked around to pretty much everyone Sera was close with at the college and I even went so far as to ask those that don’t really even talk to Sera and no one has seen her at all. I would go out and look for her myself, but I wouldn’t know where to begin and after four days, she could be anywhere by now. Again, I keep telling myself that I shouldn’t worry too much about her, but as a friend it’s hard to not get a little anxious when it comes to wondering where she is and what she’s doing. I’ll try to work on it, but I get the feeling that if she doesn't come back soon, my anxiety is going to increase drastically.

Day 8: IT’S COLD!!! I mean, it’s been cold the entire time I’ve been living up here in the north, but the temperature has gone down considerably from what it normally is. All of Sawo Lake is now completely frozen over. No one is able to figure out the cause of it. And it isn’t thin ice either. It looks like the entire lake is solid ice from the top to the very bottom! The largest lake in all of Ivaria is frozen solid! I can’t believe it. This may sound crazy, and this is why I’m glad no one else is reading this journal, but I get the strange feeling that Sera might be involved with the lake freezing. Stupid, I know, but it’s just a feeling. Anyway, I went out on a hunt with Wungo today and the moment we stepped outside, the warm clothes we were wearing weren’t keeping us warm. We had to turn around and get more clothes on. Even with the heaviest and warmest clothes we could gather, it still didn’t do much to stave off the cold. The hunt itself wasn’t too bad, but poor Wungo. He kept mentioning how much he misses Sera and how it’s very cold. That gentle giant was doing his best to try to find Sera while we were out on the hunt. If no one else shows the same amount of concern, I know that I can always turn to Wungo to keep Sera in my thoughts. Shoot, I feel like it’ll be him and me that finds her.

Day 10: Zadon has suspended everyone from going on hunts for the time being. The weather has gotten far too cold for anyone to go out for extended amounts of time. It’s a bit of a shame, but I guess I can’t blame him for looking out for the benefit of everyone at the college. He says that no one is to leave the college unless it’s absolutely necessary and that only he and the counsel will determine what is necessary and what isn’t. I wonder if asking to go look for Sera would be considered necessary or not. I’m not going to go, but it’s just a thought. I just hope this suspension doesn’t last too long. I don’t know what I am going to do until we are allowed to go back out on hunts again. I guess in the meantime, I could probably go to the library and do some studying. It’s not like I have a better use of my time. Plus it’ll help keep my mind off of Sera and not being able to go on hunts. I wonder what Wungo is going to do now that he won’t be able to go out for a while. I guess I’ll be spending a lot of time with him as well.

Day 20: It’s been a little over a week since I wrote in this journal. Part of the reason was because I forgot and the other part was because I’ve been spending pretty much all of my time at the library. The world of Ivaria has some very diverse and interesting history. There was some stuff that I already knew about, but there were some things that I had absolutely no clue about. I won’t go into detail because I fear I may be at this desk, writing everything out that I learned forever. But I will say that it’s all so incredibly fascinating and it makes me wish that Sera was here to read this stuff along with me. Actually… now that I think about it, I’m sure she may have known about a lot of this stuff already. That girl is incredibly smart, unbelievably so! It’s actually scary just how smart she really is. I think she could do just about anything she wanted if she really wanted to. It sometimes makes me wonder exactly why she decided to become a hunter. I’m glad she did, because I made a very close friend, but at the same time, she is letting her smarts go to waste by being a hunter. She could’ve been anything else like a scholar, a philosopher, or literally anything else that involves high levels of thinking! When I asked her about it in the past, she never really gave me an answer. She would say something like it was what one of her friends wanted, but she would never really go into further detail. I know it’s not my business, but I really wish she could come back so I can ask her about it again. I doubt she’ll give me an answer this time, but I’m holding out hope that she does!

Day 31: It’s been about a month since Sera disappeared and even now, there is no word about her location anywhere. Someone has to have seen her by now. It’s hard to really miss her since she is the only person I’ve seen on Ivaria who has red hair. Someone has to have seen her, right?! I don’t want to jump to conclusions but she can’t be… dead, right? No way! She can’t be. She’s the Mistress of Fire and Ice! Not to mention, she became a master hunter before she reached her mid twenties, so she knows how to take care of herself better than a lot of us here at the college. Plus that huge scythe she carries around no doubt is a factor in helping her as well. With all of that going for her, I refuse to believe that she’s dead. But that just leaves the question: WHERE IS SHE?! I’m overthinking this. Wait, am I overthinking this? I’ve never been in this kind of situation before, so I don’t really know if I am or not. Either way, I think I need to call it a night and just go to bed.

Day 50: The lake has thawed out entirely! It’s really hard to put into words exactly what happened, but the Sawo Lake is no longer frozen over. Zadon gathered everyone at the college to make the announcement that because the lake is no longer frozen and that the temperature is a bit warmer, we will be able to resume hunting again soon! It’s still rather cold outside, but it’s not as bad as it was when the lake first froze over. I shared the news with Wungo when our meeting was over and the first thing he asked about was if we could go look for Sera. It pained me to say, but I had to tell him that we would need to wait just a bit longer until we could go look for her. While I’m thinking about her, I have the same feeling I had when I thought that Sera was somehow involved with the lake freezing. I’m not sure if she’s the reason why the lake froze and why the lake thawed out, but it’s this same weird feeling. Even if she wasn’t the cause, I feel like she’s somehow involved. Again, I’m really glad no one else is reading this journal. I’m sure Wungo wouldn’t say anything negative about it and he might actually enjoy reading it if the giant was able to read. Maybe that might be something Sera and I can do when she comes back, help teach him how to read and maybe even write! But for everyone else at this college, I’ve no doubt that they would say that my way of thinking when it comes to the lake is absurd. I don’t even think I can explain it myself. I might need to sleep on it. That might help.

Day 51: Zadon said that we would be able to start hunting again soon only yesterday, but I never would’ve guessed that his definition of soon would be tomorrow at the earliest! As much as I enjoy spending time at the library and studying, nothing beats going out on a hunt and coming back home after a successful day. I know that I’m going to take advantage of going hunting starting tomorrow. I tried to get Wungo to go with me, but he said he’d rather look for Sera than going hunting. He’s so determined that I told him that if he would wait for me, I would go with him the day after tomorrow. Since I plan on hunting tomorrow, I better turn in for the night.

Day 52: I knew I was going to be a tad bit rusty when it came to hunting, but it took longer than I would like to admit. Sera always made it look easy even though she joined a few years ago, whereas I’ve been here for way longer. In that regard, I envy her, but I can’t say I’m mad. It certainly reminded me of the good times we had going on hunts together. I really want to have moments like that again, which is why Wungo and I are going to go look for her starting tomorrow. I talked about it with Zadon and it took some convincing, but he’s going to let us go searching for her. The only problem was that it’s only going to be me and the giant. That’s alright though, after all, we’re Sera’s closest friends here at the college!

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.