Fiction logo

After graduating from graduate school, I went to the front desk of my father's company. However, my boyfriend broke up with me because my job at the front desk was not worthy of his noble status.

I just want to be a receptionist at my dad's company. I didn't expect my boyfriend to break up with me, and even my old friends said bad things to me. Well, that's not my fault.

By minPublished about a year ago 13 min read
Like

"Hello, I'm here to apply."

I am a graduate student, I came to a listed company as soon as I graduated.

"Emma, you're a graduate student, and you're applying for the receptionist position?" The interviewer in front of me is an old woman in her 40s. She looks like a small leader at the front desk or something.

I don't have a problem with her question, since my father owns the company.

"What's wrong with that? Clearly this interviewer doesn't know me.

But that's exactly what I wanted.

Before graduation, my father asked me if I wanted to work as an intern in the company, but I said I wanted to start at the bottom, so that I could grow quickly and no one would doubt my strength.

"In fact, you can interview any position with such a high degree, why must come to the interview desk?" The interviewer's tone was ironic.

It seems to say that even graduate students can only apply for jobs as receptionists.

I did not take her words to heart, of course, but explained to her:

"Well, I think our company has a very promising future, and the development momentum of our company will be better and better in the future, so the receptionist is the front of our company, I can't go wrong."

After saying this, I looked at her and said:

"What's more, as soon as you seem to be able to lead the receptionist position to a better future, I am sure to have a better harvest under your hands than in school."

I won't worry if she doesn't agree with me.

But the result was obvious, and as the smile spread across her face, I knew it was done.

Sure enough, I received the offer as soon as I left home. I have to say, my father's company is doing well.

After the interview, I went to see my boyfriend Kelly.

Kelly and I have been dating for seven years, from college to graduate school.

One more thing I came to see Kelly today is to talk about getting married.

Kelly told me that as soon as I got a job out of grad school, she would come home and talk about a wedding date with me.

Because Kelly got a job earlier than I did, he worked at a publicly traded programming company that did the same thing as my dad's company.

At five o 'clock, Kelly just got off work, and I just arrived at Kelly's office downstairs.

"Kelly! I shouted happily towards the figure running towards me.

"Emma, have you found a job yet?" The first time Kelly saw me, she wasn't concerned about how tired I was today, she was concerned about whether I had a job.

I keep telling Kelly that my family comes from the countryside and we don't have much money. This is what my father told me, that I should not tell others about my background easily.

That's what Kelly always thought, so maybe he wanted me to earn some dowry money so I could marry him.

"Yes, I applied for the pole news company's receptionist, is also a boss, the salary is 5,000 yuan, two days off, I think it is quite good." I spoke to Kelly triumphantly, completely unaware that his face had changed.

"Receptionist, Emma, you're a graduate student. What better job than a receptionist?" Kelly's voice was full of disgust.

"I don't think so, and..."

"Kelly, is this your girlfriend?"

Before I could finish my sentence, a fashionable woman offered to say hello to Kelly.

"I..."

"No, hehe, my sister."

I was about to introduce myself when Kelly cut me off.

"Oh ~ sister, then you talk, I went to eat."

The fashion girl gave Kelly the glad eye as she spoke.

I tried to go up and talk, but Kelly grabbed me.

After the fashionista left, I confronted Kelly and said, "Kelly, what do you mean? I'm not your girlfriend?"

At this time, Kelly's face was full of disgust for me, I was angry and he was indifferent, just looked at me coldly and said:

"Emma, let's break up. Your family is from the countryside. I thought you would make great efforts after entering the graduate school, so that we could still save money to buy an apartment in the city.

Every word, is despise for me, look up to me.

Why did he break up with me when I was going to tell him about my life today?

"Have you decided? Are you willing to give up seven years?" I asked, looking at him tearfully.

He wouldn't even look at me and said,

"Well, think well, seven years is only a fleeting moment for me, and you don't lose, I also take seven years to accompany you, is enough, OK, you hurry to go, don't let others misunderstand our relationship."

He didn't even want to say goodbye to me and headed straight for the building.

And I looked at his back that refuse, this just understand, the original seven years of my time to feed the dog!

2

Home in the evening I cried a hard, until crying eyes are swollen I made up my mind, must be in their own home company out of the appearance!

The next day, I put on a delicate makeup, wear a shirt suit, hair up, unexpectedly show the temperament of a city woman.

Even my mother complimented me on being a bit of an office worker.

But unexpectedly, as soon as I reported to the company, I was scolded by the leader of the front desk, that is, the person who interviewed me that day: "Who let you wear this? Wear the same real estate sales, more lose our company's face."

I kept my head down and looked around at the people wearing their own clothes. No one seemed to be wearing anything like me.

"I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm now, I'm now..."

Thinking I couldn't lose my job on my first day, I quickly apologized.

"Forget it, go to the toilet to take off the outer coat, this hair comes down, young dress fashion, don't straighten old age."

She cut me off before I could finish my sentence, so I had to go to the bathroom and take off my coat and let my head hang out.

"Did you know that our new receptionist today is a graduate student?"

"A female graduate student? So good?"

"What are you doing? You're applying for a job as a receptionist."

"I don't know. Maybe I have a mine at home, or five thousand dollars will do anything in this city."

"I think it's just that she came here when she couldn't find a job. So what about postgraduate students, who are doing the same job as those of us who didn't get into college?"

.

Outside, there was discussion after discussion of my life.

I don't get it. Why can't graduate students get to the front desk?

But I don't have time to think about it. I need to learn the business as quickly as possible.

I cleaned myself up and went out of the toilet. The two people who were talking about me were long gone, so I didn't know who they were if I saw them.

"Leader, can I do this?" Although I was told a lot, but I was not discouraged, and actively went to the leader's office to ask her.

The leader didn't even look at me, playing mobile phone all the time.

I was afraid of making another mistake, so I asked again: "Leader, can I do this?"

Did not expect her impatient wave, said to me: "with you have said your ears can not hear or mind can not remember ah? You are still a graduate student. You can't do such a small thing well!"

I don't understand what I did wrong, accusing me like this without saying anything.

I am a little aggrieved to walk in addition to the office, looking at the office of outsiders coming and going colleagues some at a loss.

Then a little girl took me aside and said to me, "That's OK, actually next time there is no need to wear so serious, just wear their own clothes normally, we have a working license."

Her voice was small but gentle, which made my grievance worse.

"Yes, thank you." I said to her through tears.

"It's all right, it's all right, don't cry, you'll be scolded." "She said as she handed me the paper.

I wiped my eyes and steadied myself. "What's your name?" I asked her.

She froze, then shyly said to me: "My name is Kate, you call me Xiao Liu."

See her like this, I burst into tears and laughed, in the heart secretly wrote down her friendship.

"What's your name?" When she saw me, she smiled and became more daring.

"My name is Emma." I smiled back.

Her smile widened and she said to me, "Emma, that sounds pretty good."

"What are you laughing at? Nothing to do?"

Maybe it was our voice that finally alarmed the leader. She came out of the office and said sharply to us.

"Yes, yes, that, Sophia, I'm taking my new colleague to familiarize myself with the process." Kate is a little afraid of Sophia. When Sophia speaks, she immediately laughs.

Seeing as Sophia didn't object, Kate dragged me away.

Kate was also very enthusiastic. She took me familiar with the work of the front desk, told me what to do every day, and told me how to touch the fish so that Sophia wouldn't find me.

Kate and I had a good conversation, and the unpleasant words Sophia scolded in the morning have almost disappeared.

I even had lunch with Kate, and I wanted to have dinner with Kate, but Kate said she couldn't make it tonight.

- Over the last few days Kate and I have been getting along better and better. We are almost inseparable.

But Kate would occasionally ask about my family affairs, so I told Kate what I told her at school, without telling Kate who I really was.

After all, my dad told me that no matter who you are, you should never reveal who you are unless you have the ability to keep that person from knocking me down and hurting me.

After Kate heard that, I took care of me even more, which made my heart feel warm.

I used to think of Kate as my best friend, thinking that after I successfully understand the operation of the company, I will give Kate a promotion and a raise, to repay Kate for her help when I don't know anything.

3

With Kate as a good colleague, I have gradually adapted to the life of the company. Although sometimes I still get scolded, I can try to adjust my mind.

Today is also my second week on the job. I specially charged my mobile phone so that I could receive the information from the leader.

Kate and I were sitting at the front desk discussing what to eat for lunch when Sophia called me.

"There's going to be a big customer today, and remember, the chairman personally said to take care of it, don't screw it up for me, okay? !"

Sophia's voice was as grumpy as ever.

"Ok, Sophia, what time will it be?" And I've seen it all before.

"Five minutes later, you and Xiao Jiang to arrange the meeting room, all the tea is ready, OK?"

"Ok, got it."

Sophia hung up the phone and I immediately told Kate, "Sophia asked us to set up the conference room, saying that a friend of the president is coming later."

Kate was stunned. Then, as she followed me, she asked me, "Sophia said the president's friend?"

"Yeah, Sophia said that. Hurry up. Sophia said they'll be here in five minutes." I hurried Kate for fear of being delayed.

Kate, on the other hand, took her time and didn't seem afraid to delay her work.

"Well, Emma, I've got a stomachache. I'm going to the bathroom. I'll be right back!"

When Kate said this, I dropped what I was doing and asked her, "What's wrong? Why is your stomach bothering you all of a sudden? Are you on your period? Do you want a day off?"

Kate clutched her stomach in pain and said to me, "No, no, I just ate something bad. I just need to go to the toilet."

She ran to the bathroom, telling me, "Emma, please go to work. If Sophia comes back and sees that your office is not ready, she will scold you again."

It dawned on me, too. Five minutes had passed three minutes, and I had to hurry.

And no more crap with Kate, and I just ran into the office and cleaned up.

Fortunately, I used to pack up my office in advance, just to be on the safe side, and now all I need is two cases of mineral water.

I thought there was still some time. I planned to go to the warehouse to fetch water by myself. However, Sophia came to the office with a group of people as soon as I left.

"Emma, is the office ready?" Sophia asked me with a big smile.

I guess I was afraid of losing face in front of other companies, so I was kind to me.

But this, Sophia, makes me feel even more guilty.

The water in the office hasn't been filled yet. If we let them in now, I'm afraid Sophia will tell us.

"Sophia, I..."

"Packed up Sophia, I'm going to help Emma with the water, just let the guest in." There was no sign of a stomachache as Kate pushed two boxes of mineral water in a cart.

"Why are you staring? Why don't you go help? !" Sophia gritted her teeth and said to me, completely losing the first hint of kindness.

"There's no hurry. We'll go in when we've finished." Did not expect at this time this group of people in the leadership light said a sentence.

"Ha ha, Wu general manager, this how bashful, the chairman specially metasomatic..."

"It's okay. I'll explain it to Uncle Chen sometime."

'Come on!

As instructed by Manager Wu, Sophia's face was getting worse and worse. I quickly cleaned up my mood and carried the water into the office with Kate.

After everything is ready and everyone is in the office, Kate and I can finally take a break.

"Emma, who do you think came here this time? The chairman is called Uncle Chen. Is he a relative of the chairman's family?" Instead of explaining to me why she pulled water from the warehouse, Kate just gossiped to me.

"I don't know." I really don't know. I never ask questions about the company, and my father seldom brings it up to me.

"It is said that the full name of the general manager Wu Feng, he and our company is doing a type of project, tut tut, so young to have the ability to have money, I don't know who will be so blessed girls in the future."

Kate was so interested in this Wu Feng that she kept telling me about him from the moment I sat down.

I was not interested, and my mouth was perfunctory.

"Hello, which office is the Asahi Group meeting in?" I heard a familiar voice in my ear.

I looked up in surprise and didn't expect to meet my ex-boyfriend here.

"It's you

Short StorySatireFan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

min

An account to share stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.