Fiction logo

adventure

adventure

By guliPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

In the fall of 1982, I returned from Baoding Prefecture to visit my relatives in Northeast Gaomi Township. It was past nine o 'clock when the train arrived at Gaomi Station because it was late. The bus runs through the town only once a day until six o 'clock in the morning. Looking up at the sky, see half a piece of moon hanging high, clear air, I decided not to stay in the county seat, take the moon back home early, one can see parents early, two can breathe some fresh air in the fields.

I only carried a small bag on this visit, so I walked quickly. After crossing the railway bridge, I didn't take the tarmac road because it was much farther at a right Angle. I incline up the dirt road that has been abandoned for years and slopes into Northeast Gaomi Township. The dirt road has been dug up in places in recent years, so there are few pedestrians, so the road is overgrown with weeds, but there is a line of tread marks in the center of the road. On both sides of the road were fields of corn, sorghum, corn, sweet potatoes, and so on. The moon shone on the branches and leaves of the crops with a faint silver light. Almost no wind, all the leaves are motionless, grass grasshoppers did the sound from the crops, very loud, as if the sound into my flesh, bones, the sound of the grasshoppers did the moonlight seems particularly silent.

The further the road extended, the more dense the crops, the lights of the county long ago out of sight. County from northeast Gaomi township there are more than 40 miles. In addition to the sound of the katydid, there are also occasional sounds of birds or small animals in the crops. I suddenly felt a chill at the back of my neck, and heard my own footsteps grow particularly loud and heavy. At the same time I felt a thousand secrets in the fields on either side of the road, a thousand eyes watching me, and I felt something following me behind me, and the moon suddenly grew dim. My pace quickened imperceptibly. The faster I walked, the more insecure I felt behind me. Finally, I turned around.

There was of course nothing behind me.

Go ahead and scold yourself as you go: Are you a PLA officer? Are you a Communist? Are you a Marxist-Leninist teacher? You are, you are a materialist, and a complete materialist is fearless. What are the communists afraid of if they are not afraid of death? A ghost? There are evil? No! Are there any wild animals? No! The e world is nothing, much ado about nothing? But he was still nervous and his teeth were chattering, and the ghost stories he had heard when he was a child in his hometown came to his mind: a man was walking on the road when he suddenly heard the creak of a vendor's pickles in front of him. When he looked closely, he could only see two pickles and two legs moving. A person WALK NIGHT ROAD ENCOUNTER A PERSON to HE HEY HEY SMILE, a careful look, is a woman, this woman face only a red mouth, in addition to mouth besides what ALL have NO, this is "SMOOTH face" ghost?? A man was walking in the night when he saw an old man with a white beard eating grass.

I later learned that I was drenched with sweat and wet my clothes.

I sang aloud, "Onward onward onward - kill -"

Of course nothing happened along the way. Near the village head, the day has dawned, the red sun will not come out, the east sky a red halo, the village cock cock-a-doodle-doo, a peaceful scene. Looking back at the road, the crops are crops and the road is the road, think of this way of fear, feel very stupid.

When I was about to enter the village, I saw an old man in the shadow of the trees. He fixed his eyes and saw my neighbor Uncle Zhao SAN. He stopped, neatly dressed, three or five paces from me.

I BUSY ASK ": THREE BIG YE, get up so early!"

He said, "Get up early and go to town until you come back. Wait here for you."

I exchanged a few common words with him and handed him a filtered cigarette.

Lighting his cigarette, he said, "Three, I still owe your father five dollars. I can't use my money. You can take this pipe to him and I will pay him back."

I say ": Three big Ye, why?"

He said, "Go home at once. Parents are waiting for you."

I took the cold agate cigarette mouth handed over by the three uncles, hurriedly said goodbye to him, then hurried into the village.

When I got home, my parents stared at me and asked me questions. They told me that I should not walk alone at night, in case something happened, it would be very serious. I ha ha said: "I want to meet a ghost, but the ghost dare not see me!"

The mother said, "Children don't be crazy!"

While my father was smoking, I took the agate cigarette mouth out of my pocket and said, "Dad, just now I met Uncle Zhao SAN at the entrance of the village. He said he owed you five yuan and asked me to take this cigarette mouth to you to pay off the debt."

The father asked in surprise, "Who did you say?"

I say ": Zhao three big YE!"

The father said, "Are you wrong?"

"Absolutely not," I said. "I talked to him for a while, and I offered him a cigarette, and the mouth!"

I handed the pipe to my father, who hesitated to take it.

The mother said, "The Zhao three uncles died the morning before yesterday!"

So, I accidentally saw the ghost, saw the ghost also do not know, the original ghost is not as terrible as the legend, he is amiable, he did not pay his bill, the ghost does not harm people, really harm or people, people than the ghost to much more severe!

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.