Fiction logo

Adjustment Period, Deconstruction Day

Head, Shoulders, Knees and...

By Dana CrandellPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
25
Adjustment Period, Deconstruction Day
Photo by Kevin Kandlbinder on Unsplash

Patricia tuned the transistor radio she'd found to an automated station, holding Dale's hand in hers. Unfortunately, it was no longer attached to Dale.

A mere shell of the man he once was, Dale tried to cheer her with his boyish grin, but only succeeded in dislocating one side of his jaw. Holding his tongue, he tucked it into what was left of his cheek, but it slipped. Keeping an eye out, he popped the other back in.

Silently, they watched the fading glow of the burning city on the horizon. Patricia giggled neurotically, pointing, “Look, Dale! The cat's got your tongue!”

***

Authors Note: This is an episode in a series. If you're confused, or simply for the best experience, please click here to start with the original microfiction story. Ready to move on? For the next episode, click here. You'll find links to subsequent episodes in the notes after each story. Also, as you read these stories, please take an extra minute to read the comments below them. This is the kind of support that Vocal creators give each other.

If you've caught up on the series, I hope you recognized a few tongue-in-cheek references in this episode, and please read on.

Author's (somewhat long) Note Part Deux: First things first. Roy Stevens gets an extra shoutout for his excellent theme song suggestion. (You DID play the video while reading, right?) For the eye-popping and tongue-in-cheek references, I need to thank Mark Gagnon for yet another clever comment.

I've had more fun than I can possibly express while writing this series. It never would have happened if not for the input in comments from my friends and fellow creators. I've credited the person that made the 'punspirational' comment in each of the previous episodes. PLEASE follow the links and read their stories. I'm surrounded by a plethora of creative genius on Vocal, and I'm deeply grateful for the inspiration that brought these stories to life. Thank you all - and I mean each of you that commented. This is OUR series.

I also have to thank my wonderful wife, Pam! Without her patience, grace and sense of humor, I'd be - well, dead or single. She's patiently let me bounce pretty much everything in this series off of her, and hasn't bounced anything off of me, yet!

So, is this the end for our "mixed" couple? I have some ideas bouncing around in my head. On the other hand, I don't want to repeat a good thing 'ad nauseum'. Maybe a new series with the same protagonists? I have a really catchy title in mind.

Let me know your thoughts! And thank you, thank you, thank you!

SeriesSci FiHumorHorror
25

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer7 months ago

    You know I like the puns but these micros are good stories as well

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    These puns are far amusing for me! I'd love to add one but I'm a little tongue tied at the moment! 🤣

  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    You're clearly having too much pun.

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Oh man! This series is great! I wonder what will happen to the cat 🤔

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Lmao Late to this party but I’m enjoying your writing and the exchange between the cast. 🥰😂

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Love it! 😂 Would love 2 see more of them!!!! :)

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    These are just pure fun. I love the amount of fun we are all having and the amount of fun you are clearly having writing them. Your wife must be enjoying them too! Seriously great job, Dana! These are face-achingly good!

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    These are an absolute joy to read! I love the humor and play on words so much :) I'd love to see you keep going!!

  • ARC11 months ago

    The saga continues... what a joy to be on this ride. Thanks for continuing to be an inspiration, Dana. Also, really enjoyed your '(somewhat long) Author's Note'. Maybe I'm just a 🤓 but I find that sometimes to be one of the most fun parts of reading a piece. I love knowing the thought that went into it. Makes the piece more multi-dimensional to me. (Yep, definitely a 🤓 )

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    lol. That last line.

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    Great stuff, Dana. Love the music Roy suggested, it fits perfectly. These have been so fun to read!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Roll credits... 👏👏👏This was a fine piece of memorable work, Dana. I feel I got to know Dale even though he had one-foot in the grave...or maybe one stump that is. Thanks again for the lighthearted entertainment.

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Oh, more, more, more please. For heaven's sake, don't stop now Dana! Patsy's still singing and I'm still sittin' here grinning...

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    ‘The cat’s got your tongue’ - haha! This is the best one!

  • Mark Gagnon11 months ago

    As rotten as it is to say goodbye, it’s obvious Dale just isn’t able to hold it together anymore. Fun series!

  • Haha, that last line😆❤️📝

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    'D' ~ As I 'Adjust' my artificial 'Knees' continuing to comfortably hang-out with you - "Period" - It's been my pleasure! 'J' Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Author Community -

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I learned a new phrase, a pillar post. It is an after the fact post with links to all of the stories. I think, if you add some explanation of why/how you write these, it would be a good way to gather the series together, and an additional entry for Fiction.

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Haha! I’m literally laughing out loud! Simply brilliant, and the song is perfect! Definitely could continue reading about this pair- I’m pretty attached to these characters!

  • How incredibly tasty! (At least the cat thinks so.) As far as the story is concerned, I'd say she's ready to stand pat--but while it appears she may manage to get over hill, it doesn't seem she'll ever get over Dale.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I hoped it would end with him always having Patricia's heart... but I guess a) you've already done a heart one, and b) why would you fridge Pat? 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.