Fiction logo

Adieu

The hidden promise

By Tanvir Rashik Shafim Published 2 years ago 3 min read
2
Movie: "Good hunting day"

"Papa, when will we reach? I'm so tired of walking." “Just a few minutes my son, we are just there."

Yes,he is my son; , a 10 years old naughty kid."Papa,there he is,uncle Mehedy. I recognized him.We went to his residence last week.” “Yes,my son.You are right.We are going to meet him.” “You said he is in the Army.Our teacher told us Army officers are the saviours of our nation.Did he get the responsibility to guard the university?” “No,no”, laughed at my son's childish thought. “He always comes here and there's a reason.”

Captain Mehedy welcomed us with a slight smile.But I didn't find any match between that smile and the one which was always there on his face 4-5 years ago.

"Ahh it's already 11 am.Where is Tanya?" "Maybe stuck in jam." "No,I'm sure she is still doing makeup." "Mainul,You go.Start the rituals.” "No it's okay. I'll wait until all my friends aren't arriving.”

"I'm here. Sorry for coming late",Tanya said panting.

"Oh, here you are.I thought you directly went to the fashion show." Loud laughter among us...

So this was Mehedy and Tanya.They were best friends;more precisely soulmates.I’m sure many among us in university envied their friendship.They took the main responsibility to arrange my marriage ceremony.My god,I still couldn't forget a single moment of the day.

……

We were graduated and things were going well.

It was the day of Tanya's birthday.We all were at her house,in a birthday party.We were gossiping.All of a sudden,the light goes off and only white lights were on."It is a good vibe though",Mehedy said."Yes",I agreed with him."May I have the privilege to get your hand,Ms.Tanya?"An unfamiliar voice was heard.Tanya was startled.And more than her we were shocked.Because she didn't tell us about it.

"Go to him, dear." "But mom...." "We'll talk about it later. Now go." They exchanged rings. A huge clap in the room...Later I came to know that the engagement was arranged by her parents.She told her parents to think about marriage later.But it was totally unexpected.She couldn't tell anything over her parents that day.Mehedy didn't tell anything except this,"Is it a drama or anything else?I dont like it." I couldn't answer him that day.

…....

"Hello, Doctor Imran.Please come fast to the operation theatre.Road accident case; a young girl severely injured,excessive bleeding.Please come fast."

"Get the machines ready.I'm coming in a minute."

"Nurse, nearly 1 hour ago someone brought a girl,road accident case....."

"Yes, we are informed. Pleaee visit Doctor Imran.Room no-104"

"What happened to my daughter?",Mrs Selina screamed."Is she alright? Is she?" "Sorry,madam.Your daughter got severe injury at her head.It was too late to save her. "Mrs.Selina burst into tears.And the poor girl was none but Tanya.The girl who was going to be married few days later…As soon as I got the news,I informed Mehedy and rushed to the hospital.I couldn't hold myself crying.And Mehedy was as silent as a stone.Just he said,"Look at her hand.The very bracelet I gifted her",He sighs.

From that day; yes from that day his soul said him goodbye.He remained as a man with no emotions.

"Hey Mainul,what are you thinking?" "No nothing...Ohh,let's go to my house today. My son loves to hear the military stories."

"Sorry,I can't today. You know,I’m waiting for her.I'm sure one day she will come and say that this was a prank.I know she is naughty",he laughed. As same as the previous times I’m the silent actor again.I have nothing to do. “OK,as you wish”,I sigh.

I know my eyes are wet and my glasses are blurry.Not because I feel pity for Mehedy, but recalling the last moment we enjoyed together, indeed a beautiful obsession; the song we sang together at my marriage, “Ek guccho kodom haate bhijte chai tomar sathe…….”

“The most painful goodbyes are the ones which are never said….”

---Bilal Nasir Khan.

Love
2

About the Creator

Tanvir Rashik Shafim

I'm an enthusiastic writer and want to make sure that people can experience life in all of its forms through writing | Writes about Philosophy, Geopolitics, Tech, Psychology and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.