Fiction logo

A wild pear

Short Story

By Lily AnnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
A wild pear
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

It was raining when I got out of my truck this morning, I blinked as I climbed out, the rain dripping from my bangs onto my lips slowly, I put on a soft smile as I made my way in through the rain to the office. I let out a sigh while I typed away on my computer on what was meant to be the best love story of my life, I leaned back in my chair as I studied the first few words of my work. "Damn it Angie, can't you write anything more interesting?" I asked myself under my breath. I heard a squeal on the floor behind me as Lou moved his chair back to look at me, "Having some issues Ang?" I heard him chuckle as I turned and glared over my shoulder, "The story is not for another few weeks, you have more then enough time to get it done." Lou stated as he went back to his desk. If only you knew Lou... I thought to myself as I remembered the past few times I had been on a single date, I leaned over onto the desk and folded my hands to lean my head on them and stared at the computer screen. "Think...Think" Angie told herself as she remembered all of the dates she had gone on, then she remembered the one single date one she would never forget, She then deleted what she had already written and started typing her new story.

June 3rd, 2020

Walking into the library I smiled at a few of the classmates that I had known, I was never close to them as I knew school was made for education and not friends, my parents had made that perfectly clear to me as I moved my way through my education. Though on this particular day I had recieved a note from Blake who asked me to meet him inside the campus library as he wanted to ask me something, hoping he needed help I agreed and had made my way over to the library with my notebooks from Pshychology class in hopes of helping him out. Though, once I found him I noticed he had two cups in his hands. "Hey Blake, what's up?" I asked hoping to start a conversation. "Yeah, I was hoping you would join me for a walk today, since the weather is so beautiful out and I wasn't sure if you were going to be busy or not." I thought for a moment then smiled and agreed, we walked around the library for a few minutes before making our way over to the doors to leave the campus library, we walked the campus and drank the coffee Blake had grabbed for us. We walked until we found a small pear tree which was near the far right side of the campus, "Want to rest here?" Blake asked, he looked hopeful giving him a smile I nodded and sat down. "How old do you think this pear tree is?" I asked, Blake shrugged his shoulders "Ten, maybe twelve years old?" He guessed. I nodded slowly agreeing and then looked over at Blake who was now staring intently at me, I gave a small smile before looking up at the now fully grown pears on the tree. "Can I kiss you?" Blake asked, I looked back at him in shock. "What?" I asked, "Can I kiss you?" He repeated, now I knew Blake for a few years, I watched him grow these past few years from a college freshman to a college senior, I never saw him with any woman before I thought. "Sure..." I slowly responded before Blake kissed me with the most passion I have ever had, underneath the pear tree.

Present Day

"Did you get something?" Lou asked over Angie's shoulders, she grinned and looked back at him. "Who knew a simple pear tree could hold so many memories." She smiled as she played with the gold ring on her left finger.

Love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.