Fiction logo

A Whole New World

Alice

By Tanjanika LewisPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
1

A Whole New World

Staring out my window at the houses across the street, I really can’t tell that anything is different. Its quiet out and the sun is peeking through the trees. I’ve lived here all my life. My family has lived here decades before I was born but life since the Great Divide is very different.

“Alice, Alice.”

‘Yes, mom.” I call downstairs.

“Do you have everything?”

Coming down the stairs, my boots make a loud thud as I jump to the bottom.

“Yes, I went through the checklist twice.” I say as I turn the corner into the kitchen.

“Are you sure…” I nod my assurance. “Absolutely sure?” She asks.

“Yes mom. I know the routine.”

“Okay. Try to make the best of today, okay Hun.” She says pulling me in to kiss my forehead and give me my lunch.

“I will try.”

Heading to the door I stop to touch the photo of Dad hanging on the wall next to the front door. I know it’s there as more of a reminder of our new way of life then for sentimental reasons, but I still miss him. My hand moves to my chest, evidence of my muscle memory and I feel the heart shaped locket my papa gave me. Blinking back the feelings welling up in my chest I take a deep breath, check to make sure my handgun is fully loaded and the five knives I carried daily were in their place. By the time I finished and opened the door I could hear Mom’s footsteps heading to the door behind me. The sun is blinding, and it takes my eyes a few seconds to adjust, by the time I open my eyes fully, Mom was at the front door.

“Alice.”

“Yes mom.” I sing-song.

“What’s the motto?”

“Don’t shoot, but if you have to, shoot to kill.” We say together.

“That’s my girl.” She says pushing my long braid from my shoulder. “Now go or you’ll be late.”

“Alice.” My best friend Stephine calls my name from three house away. I wave to her and pick up my speed to catch up. We walked to school in silence, holding our track bags by the straps on our shoulders. Turning the corner into the school grounds we meet up with Meliyah and Emma.

“Hey, Hunny Bunnies.” Meliyah greets us with her usual morning greeting.

“Hey girlie.” I say to her bumping shoulders. “How is everyone?” I ask the group, but I was looking at Emma.

They sound their respective okays, except Emma. We head inside.

The sound of Ms. Smith’s voice is comforting today. “Alright girls remember we only allow one loaded handgun and a maximum of five knives. This for your protection.” She gives us a wink before she starts her announcement over again.

Pulling her to the side so the others wouldn’t hear I say, “Emma, my mom told me what happened with your uncle. Are you oaky?”

“No.” was all she said before turning towards home room.

Walking the halls of Singwood High is quite different from the stories I heard my parents talk about. Holding my locket, I walked into my home room just in time for role call. The sobering sight of a few more empty chairs than there were last week serves as a reminder that no matter how chipper our teachers try to make it seem we must always keep our guard up.

“Meliyah, have you seen Emma?”

“No, not since this morning, ask Stephine.”

“Hey, Steph, have you seen Emma?”

“She came to Bio but left out a few minutes after class started, I haven’t seen her since.”

I take a quick glance around the cafeteria, when I don’t see her, I say, “Okay, I’ll check the bathroom.”

I can hear her crying before I push open the bathroom door. “Emma, Emma it’s me.”

I walk over to the handicap stall and place my hand on the door. I hear the lock slide open. I push open the door to find Emma huddled on the floor.

“Hey Bun Bun.” The look in her eyes almost broke me. Taking her hand in mine I say, “It helps if you talk about it.”

“Talk about it? You want me to talk about it. I killed my uncle Alice. My uncle.”

“Yes, I know but he was trying to hurt you… He was trying to hurt you right?”

“Yes, but …

Taking a seat in front of her on the floor, still holding her hand I gently ask, “But what Emma?” Looking into her tear-filled eyes I already knew what was coming.

“Maybe, they are right. Maybe if we just give in, then we can be protected from the West. If all we have to do is…”

“… is be raped by them and bear them children for their armies then they will protect us? Do really believe that? Do you really believe us being impregnated every year from the time we start menstruation until we enter menopause is going to be easier?”

Her head on her knees Emma spoke through her sobs, “It has to be easier than this. I can’t kill again. I won’t be able to kill again.”

“The first time is always the worst, but it gets easier.”

She looked up at me as if I just slapped her. “My first was my papa. He gave this locket right before, he said he was giving me his heart to hold on to for strength. It didn’t take that time, thank God but that didn’t stop him from trying again and again and again. I don’t remember how I killed him I just remember smelling pennies and the pain in my hand from clutching my bowling trophy so hard. Next was my dad, he told me it was my duty to the family since mom wasn’t able to give to the army’s efforts. He made it seem like I was saving us somehow. Like if I could do this one thing then we would all be okay. I don’t remember how that one happened either just the smell of gun powder. The others I remember though. So, when I tell you it gets easier, know that I am telling you the truth.”

The walk home felt long. My body felt like I had been in ten bar fights and two car crashes. I wanted nothing more than to bathe and get into my bed for the night. I didn’t smell dinner when I walked into the house so mom must be running a little late. Turning on the small kitchen television I let it drown out the thoughts of today while I ate cereal. It was working until the news interrupted my cartoons.

"We interrupt your regularly scheduled programing to bring you this message from the President of the East. We are told Madam President will be taking the podium any second now."

"Good evening my fellow citizens of the East, I come to you asking for your help. In a few moments you will receive a Census form on your government issued cellular device. Please, I urge you to fill out this Census as quickly and accurately as you can. The information gathered from this Census will directly affect our next efforts to reunite this Great Country and return to the peacefulness before the second Civil War crested a deep riff in our Great Nation. I want to take this moment while you complete the Census to assure each and every one of you…”

My phone pings with the arrival of the Census. Just as I’m about to open it, mom rushes into the kitchen. “Don’t open that, don’t fill that out.”

“But mom the President just said we have to.” I say looking back and forth between her and the television.

“I know what she said, just don’t.” Something in my stomach told me not to argue, so I put down my phone and tuned back into the television just time for cartoons to come back on. I rinsed my bowl out in the sink before placing it in the dish washer.

“Mom.”

“Yes Hunny.”

“What was that all about?”

“What was what about?” waving my hand between her face and her phone she finally looks up at me. Her eyes are bloodshot and a little distant.

“Mom, are you okay?”

“Yes, I’m just trying to finish this Census and I really need to concentrate. You go on and head to bed. I will be up in minute, after I lock-up.”

It is a few hours before I hear her settle into the twin bed next to mine. I’ve been rehearsing all the questions I wanted to ask her about what the President said and why she told me not to open my Census and why was she so weird when she came in but I settle on, “Mom, are you okay? Like, really, okay?”

“Its nothing you need to be worried about Hunny, just get some rest.”

Before I could ask any follow up questions all the activities and emotions of the day hit me at once and my body betrayed me. I feel fast asleep.

I woke to the sound on Mom’s voice. It wasn't the usual chipper humming or talking to the morning news lady that she normally does. This was something else. Looking over to her bed I see she set clothes out for me with my bookbag and a note.

Hunny, I’m sorry but it’s time. Please, remember all the things I taught you. I put the map of the under-city tunnels in your bag. Try to be safe. Stephine and Meliyah will meet you at the star on the map. Burn this note before you go. Do not return to this house for any reason. I won’t be here. And remember, don’t shoot, but if you have to, shoot to kill.

I love you.

I throw on the clothes and strap the bookbag to my back. I can hear Mom’s steps move from the front door into the kitchen, peeking around the corner I see the flash of a blue and red uniform and I swallow a gasp.

Sliding down the back-escape hatch I hear the first scream and I know I can’t stop running until I reach the manhole. I take one final look around my neighborhood, my street, my home before covering the manhole. The screams seem to echo in here. It may just be in my head, but I stand still for second and pull out the map just long enough to see the star’s location. Then I take off never looking back.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Tanjanika Lewis

Hello all. There really not much to say here. I'm just a girl who has a lot of stories in her head and I would like to share them with you. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.