Fiction logo

A tale of darkness

Sticks story 3

By Paul RussellPublished about a year ago 9 min read
Like

A dark story that, if I'm honest, freaked me out when writing it!

**********************************************************************

“I like hats.” That’s what Donald said the day before he killed Sally. Not prone to violence is he, more the gentle type, always wanting to show affection to those who receive and just not getting why (WHY!) some people don’t understand him.

I am Donald’s conscious and subconscious mind, the one in control of his best interests, and I keep them close to heart. I may sometimes get him into trouble but this can't be helped in this day and age can it? We do what we can to survive and indeed when we saw Sally we did see a woman who struck us in more ways than one.

Despite her beautiful long blonde hair that flowed underneath her summer bonnet, revealing a soft and gentle expression with lovely blue eyes I sensed danger from her immediately. She was liable to cause my Donald trouble from the way I sensed his heart rate quicken and his breathing flutter and bounce at the sound of her voice.

He was skating on thin ice-that’s all I can say.

Come on now Donald, let’s focus now.

I told him as I got him to focus on paying attention to the special bond that we have and how this can never slip. After all, if he ignores me how is his well being supposed to be maintained?

How is he meant to stay alive if he doesn’t pay me the respect I deserve when I keep his breathing rising and falling and his blood pumping smoothly?

So as I noticed him looking at Sally as she strutted around the office, moving past colleagues with a smile on her face I felt trouble coursing through his veins. His face was starting to feel flushed.

He had felt this way before with a woman last year. Her name was Michelle.

Oh how close she came to the fringes of risking everything Donald and I have! A tipple at the Xmas do, a few sly comments and that got my Donald all in a mess. I love him so I can say this but he isn’t the best looking guy. Portly face and short cropped hair make him look like an army reject. I do what I can with him but when I get him to focus on exercise it tends to run away with him too. He gets hooked on it and then once again his focus slips and becomes distracted.

He begins to lose his focus on what we have. I sometimes feel bad as he hasn’t had many friends in his life and is a virgin at 28...but I just can't let him go.

Surely the bigger picture here is more important? If he and I drift then who will truly look after him? Who will keep his sense of self, stable? When he burns himself who truly works for the quickest mend? Who senses if that food he’s about to eat will be good for him or not?

So after this who decides if some woman coming into his life is worth the risk of him losing all of that security?

ME!

Which is why I was ready to protect us any way possible if that Michelle got any closer, however I knew he was due to go to this party and I was feeling generous and decided to let him go...without a shower.

Michelle, bless her, became all too aware of this and was soon leaving my Donald’s side before she got anywhere near his bed. The party was quite embarrassing maybe, but crisis was avoided.

So she got away...just.

But not Sally, unfortunately she must have been born from a stubborn bloodline!

This was the umpteenth time she had come to his desk and my poor Donald was ignoring all I was trying to make him see, that we are a unity that can never be undone, never be broken.

Yet every time he saw that smile of hers his heart started beating in a way I’ve never felt it beat before, like it’s in a possession of some spell, the blood pumping stronger in his veins, the pressure building and swirling all around making me lose my focus.

Oh no Donald...do not tell me this is starting...not now...this can’t be!

It all seemed to start with this Sally and the sudden intake of this weird pill that he had started taking that put a barrier against me. Made me feel light headed myself!

It was time for a desperate measure as my grip was becoming weaker and weaker with every passing conversation, leading to a first date with his twisted idea of happiness. Donald seemingly wanting to ignore my pleas as his damn drinking made my focus slip further and further. I was unable to stop him from remaining focused as he turned up to the restaurant on time, cleanly shaven and being the perfect gentlemen as she arrived in an immaculate black maxi dress, complete with a different hat this time. This one a thinner, wavier type that complemented her curly hair that she had clearly gone to effort to style only hours before.

My screams in his head were all but a thin wisp of smoke for all the effect they were having as he quickly lifted his head and took another pill.

He was really skating on thin ice now...and so was she, this vixen, this spirit sent to destroy me!

Calm down, it’s going to be ok...remember what Donald had said the day before...he liked hats. Yes!

I bided my time that night...let Donald have his fun. I even watched with glee as I saw him laugh and cajole with this siren, flirting even, a hand brushing hers at that oh so convenient moment.

I might have been silenced but I could still watch knowing I had my card to play...

With the oncoming days I had kept my patience at an ebb and flow, doing what was necessary for Donald as I’m considerate even when betrayed.

Heart beat? Nominal

Brain activity? Focused

Muscle control? Good

Donald’s next day at the office was a mix of fluttering sickening joy that was going all over the place, especially when she came into view.

Their conversation on the day before it happened was a light one, a mix of joviality towards the fashion industry as Sally was mentioning how she gone to some fancy dress party recently and found all kinds of curious hats to try on.

“I like hats.” Said my stupid Donald in a vague attempt to be cute, but I let him say this as I made him focus on this subject of fashion the previous evening. I had created the in that I knew would appeal to her interest in the art and thus create the perfect conversation that would lead to him showing off his creative side. His side that I had moulded through the years to show his creative spirit through my influence. I had no ability to put pencil to paper! But I had the ability to make my lovable idiot learn. And learn he did and when he had gotten the lady into his room the next day, she was like butter in my palms.

Yes Donald, I will let you have this moment too, see I am a giving soul when I want to be, when I need to be.

And with his shy innocence and her caring spirit she had guided him, knowingly into the moment where his guard was at its lowest, naked and displayed in front of her as she guided him inside her and took his gasps and his breaths deep within her own. Their passion, fast and slow, rushed yet well-paced, was bittersweet in its beauty.

Even then, during this moment I kept my patience, for this was not the time for me to interrupt, despite how it was starting to kill me.

You see all it took was a brief slip of focus as I lay patiently waiting...and a small gasp of light came for me as the pills effect wore off, given me a modicum of control before I immediately made Donald stand up firm.

A silent amble to the kitchen as I feel the effects of Donald’s will start to find its resolve again but it was no match for me now.

As I made him grab the carving knife I enjoying its glistening beauty as it shone against the moonlight, as much as it shone against the tears that were suddenly rolling down his face as I made him silently creep back into the bedroom.

There’s no stopping me now Donald, you know I am doing this for us...you will come to understand this in time.

With Sally lying in quiet peaceful sleep I guided Donald to her side this time, knife in left hand, pillow in the right and wasted little time in plunging the knife deep in her stomach, pillow firmly against her mouth.

Oh the screams of Donald were loud in his head at this moment as I made him shove the knife in further and finally twist as his right hand clutched the pillow tighter to suffocate her quickly, as well as muffle his own screaming tears as I slowly but surely felt the last of her energy escape before she fell limp.

At no point did he reach for the pills, instead he reached both hands to his head as he screamed and asked for help.

Now you understand Donald, now you know what you need. Me, all along, always have, and always will. I’ve let you have your fun. Now you need to listen to me as I need you to know I forgive you. Together we will work through this and get back on our even keel.

I felt my words gain strength then, Donald was coming back to me and was working quicker to regain my trust.

Because what is a relationship without trust?

With a determined and focused control we got Sally’s body safely rolled in plastic, after dressing her back up in her evening dress and high heels before moving her in the cover of darkness to the boot of Donald’s car and transported to the door of her house.

By now Donald and I are back together again, working as a team, ensuring that the misfortune that met this young lady is not attached to us.

I had it all covered, with her hair in a mess, the tear in her dress, and the absence of her purse and valuables, Sally would be construed as just another victim of a mugging gone horribly wrong.

Nothing will come close to Donald and I ever again...

HorrorShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Paul Russell

A creative thinker with a desire for story telling, happiness and laughter giving, joy filled times in life as we all need a dose of this on the regular no? Stories to thrill, delight, maybe cause a chuckle or two, will be here soon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.