Fiction logo

A Step in the Right Direction

A Tale of Revolution

By Tom DoetschPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
A Step in the Right Direction
Photo by Joel Mott on Unsplash

I remember the day I saw that phrase for the first time. My email account was asking me to reset my password. I did and thought nothing off it. This was standard after so long of keeping the same one, but I never knew that it was actually the beginning of the end.

A couple weeks later, the same happened to one of my social media accounts, the phrase popped up, “reset your password” and about a month later, the other platforms made the same request. That’s when Joe, the guy in the cubicle next to me said the same thing had happened him.

“Yeah, I didn’t think much of it, but when my bank asked me to change my password, I started to think something was up.”

“Wow.” I said, “Thankfully, my bank hasn’t asked the same of me.”

“Well good for you” he slumped back into his chair and turned around. I decided to stretch my legs and take a walk to the far drinking fountain, around the corner on the second floor. When I was about to walk away, my phone vibrated. I pulled it out to see a text from my Dad saying: I didn’t know you were on vacation right now. Have fun son!

I texted him back: What do you mean Dad? I’m at work right now.

Then it wasn’t you who posted to pictures just now?

I logged onto one social media account and found pictures of me lounging on some beach, tanned skin, sunglasses, tropical drink in hand, and who was that woman next to me? She was equally as tan with flowing brown hair, red fingernails and toenails, and a red bikini. A text from my Mom came in: So who’s that girl on the beach with you? The two of you look happy together. Yeah, I wish I knew who she was too Mom. I found out soon enough that the same picture was on all of my social media accounts, with the same text, “Alexa and I are have a great time on our honeymoon :)”

I texted my Mom back: I don’t know, someone must’ve hacked my account and posted that picture.

That’s weird honey, because that is you in the picture. Maybe you just didn’t want us to know about her yet? That’s ok, you’re entitled to your privacy, but we’d really like to meet her.

Mom, there is no girl, I don’t know who she is and I don’t know what’s going on.

Ok, well calm down and don’t freak out. I’m sure you’ll get to the bottom of this.

Thanks, I’ll let you know when I figure this out.

For sure, in the mean time, have a great day dear, we love you lots.

I love you too Mom.

I got a phone call from my bank on my way home that day.

“Hello, Mr. Merton?”

“Yes, speaking”

“Hi, there’s been some suspicious activity on your credit card and we just wanted to confirm some of the purchases you’ve made in the last few days.”

“Hmm, well I haven’t used my credit card in the last week so all of the charges on it are fraudulent.”

“Oh, I’m sorry to hear that. In that case, we’ll cancel your card and send you a new one in the mail.”

“Thank you for that” I saw gripping the wheel.

“Definitely, while you’re on the line, is there anything else I can do for you?”

“No, I appreciate you informing me of this, have a nice day” and I hung up. Exhausted by the events of the day I decided I needed a night to binge some show or movie. The night flew by and I crashed on my bed forsaking good dental hygiene. One of the perks to being single is you have more room to spread out on the bed.

My alarm clock went off at its normal time, 6:00 AM and the faint red glow of the letters starred at me like eyes of a beast. I slumped out of bed and turned it off, but almost screamed when I turned back around. There was a woman in my bed. She had not been there when I went to sleep. Where’d she come from? Who is she? As my eyes adjusted to the dim light, I saw she was wearing a white t-shirt and red pajama bottoms. She rolled over. It was the girl from the picture, Alexa.

I texted my Dad: Dad, there’s a girl in my bed and I don’t know where she came from. She wasn’t there when I went to bed.

His response, moments later: Well Son, alcohol does weird things to the brain. Is it Alexa?

I didn’t drink Dad! And yeah, it looks a lot like her.

I don’t know, you seem to be in quite a situation there

Yeah and that’s why I’m talking to you! I’m in need of some fatherly advice

If you want answers, then wake her up

I’m just going to go to work and hope she’s gone when I come back

Your choice Son

I got dressed in the living room so I didn’t have to turn on the lights and wake her. After the short commute to work, I tried to log in to my computer and was confronted by, “reset your password” and that’s when my boss walked by. He told me they were doing some layoffs and had to reduce the personnel in each department. He handed me a cardboard box and said,

“I hope you find something better.” Through gritted teeth I threw my things in the box and charged out, only to pass by Joe who could only get out, “what happened?” I drove home and in my rage, forgot about the sleeping woman. I pulled into the driveway. Grabbing the box out, I slammed my car door and fumbled my keys into the lock. I walked in and saw her sipping a mug of coffee at my dining room table. She looked towards me and said,

“Oh good you’re home, but it’s it a bit early?”

“Who are you?”

“It’s me, Alexa. Are you feeling ok?”

“No, I’m pissed off, just got fired and I don’t remember you.”

“Logan, come sit down” she said in a soft tone her hypnotic brown eyes drew me in, “Relax for a bit”

“I want you to get out of my house.” I put the box down besides me and pointed to the backyard door. “I don’t know where you came from, but you need to leave.”

“Fine then, I’ll go.” She said, standing up, still in the pajamas I saw her in earlier, “but first, let me ask you this” her voice stiffened, and those brown eyes changed to green, “Is this really the life you want to be living?”

“No, of course not. What” She took a couple steps toward me and extended her hand, palm facing up, “then come with me.”

Short StoryFantasyFableAdventure
1

About the Creator

Tom Doetsch

I write about the human condition and the important things in life. I love dystopian fantasy & sci-fi so that’s what I write most. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.