Fiction logo

A small moment in your life that had a big impact.

Passing Ship

By DinakarPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
A small moment in your life that had a big impact.
Photo by Adam Nemeroff on Unsplash

I remember the day like it was yesterday, even though it was many years ago. It was a typical summer afternoon, hot and humid, and I was walking home from school. I was only twelve years old, but I felt like I was on top of the world. School was out for the summer, and I had the whole world at my fingertips.

As I walked down the street, lost in my own thoughts, I saw a woman sitting on the sidewalk with a small child beside her. The woman looked exhausted, her clothes were ragged and her hair was unkempt. The child, a little girl who couldn't have been more than two years old, was crying loudly.

At first, I didn't know what to do. I had never seen someone sitting on the sidewalk like that before, and I didn't want to get involved. But then I saw a few people walk past her, without even acknowledging her presence. That's when I knew that I couldn't just walk away.

I approached the woman tentatively, not sure what to say. "Excuse me," I said softly, "is everything okay?"

The woman looked up at me, and I saw the pain and desperation in her eyes. "No," she said, her voice shaking. "I don't know what to do. My baby is sick, and I don't have any money for food or medicine."

I felt a knot form in my stomach. I didn't know what to say, but I knew that I had to do something. "Let me help you," I said, feeling a surge of confidence that I didn't know I had. "I don't have much money, but I can get you some food and medicine."

The woman's eyes filled with tears, and she thanked me gratefully. I took the little girl's hand, and we walked to the nearest convenience store. I bought some basic supplies like bread, milk, and medicine. As we walked back to the woman, the little girl held my hand tightly, as if I was her only hope.

When we reached the woman, I handed her the bag of supplies. She thanked me profusely, and I could see the relief on her face. "You don't know how much this means to me," she said, tears streaming down her face. "God bless you."

As I walked away, I felt a sense of pride that I had never felt before. I had helped someone in need, and it felt good. But as I thought about it more, I realized that it wasn't just the act of helping someone that had made an impact on me. It was the realization that even though I was just a kid, I had the power to make a difference in someone's life.

That small moment of helping a stranger on the sidewalk had a big impact on me. It taught me that no matter how small or insignificant I felt, I had the power to help others and make a difference in the world. It taught me to be kind and compassionate, even when it was easier to turn a blind eye. And most importantly, it taught me that even though I was young, I had the ability to change the world.

Years later, when I think back to that hot summer afternoon, I realize that it was a turning point in my life. It was the moment that I discovered my passion for helping others and making a difference in the world. It was the moment that I realized that no matter how small or insignificant I felt, I could change the world one small act of kindness at a time.

Now, as an adult, I try to live by the lessons I learned on that hot summer afternoon. I try to be kind and compassionate to everyone.

That small moment on the sidewalk had a big impact on me, and it's a moment that I will never forget. It taught me that even though I was young and inexperienced, I had the power to help others and make a difference in the world. It taught me the value of kindness and compassion, and it gave me the confidence to pursue my passion for making the world a better place. And most importantly, it showed me that even the smallest acts of kindness can have a ripple effect that can change the world in ways we can't even imagine.

ExcerptShort StoryLovefamilyClassical
2

About the Creator

Dinakar

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.