Fiction logo

A SECRET TRIP

Exploring a place without a map is the greatest experience.

By BUVANESH Published 28 days ago 4 min read

It all started with a Holiday, after a hectic preparation for exams in high school, I have a got a 3 month to enjoy my summer vacation. As usual, my low grades didn't bother me much, but not my father .. he said "What have you done all this year, I need you to say the reason for your 'F' label in three subjects ". I thought to myself .." Well, I have passed three subjects ." and I am completely content with my results ...yeah, being positive instead of incomplete satisfaction is good :)

I was in my room, after the incident, I am damn sure that we will not go for a trip this year, as my dad is planning to join coaching classes these holidays, as he thinks that my grades will improve by joining coaching classes. I was worried, sitting in my room, in my bed, I heard a weird sound from my window. I approached the window ..and I was completely dumbstruck to see Nancy calling me for a hangout that night. No, she is not my girlfriend, but I have feelings for her. I exit my house without my parent's knowledge. I approached Nancy, but she was not alone. she was with my friends Peter, Rahim, and Will. Our conversation goes like this ...

Nancy: " Can we go for a trip this night ...only this night? into the woods of Madav, can we have a camp there tonight?"

Me: " Yeah, but my parents would search for me. What about you, Peter?

Peter: " My mom said that I should join any math class this week, as I got an F in mathematics, Math is boring ...and our summer trip was canceled.."

Me: " Same here"

Nancy: "Me too " and she had a cute smile on her face...

So, I finally decided to go on a nighttime trip with my friends and with my crush. So, I decided to pack my bags and together, we approached the Woods. The forest was creepy, there were sounds of bees and owls. Especially the Bats made the scene a bit horror. We could hear the flow of the river. Peter and Rahim were walking alone before us. I decided to chit-chat with Nancy.

Me: " I think that, if we had studied together, then I must have passed all the subjects .." with a weird smile on my face

Nancy: "Really.., even I got a bad grade"

Me: " No, you have passed all the subjects, you don't need to worry, you are smart "

Nancy:" No, I got an A, my dad needs an A+"

Me : ( thinking how my situation is bad as compared with herself )

Nancy: " Anyway, Thanks for the compliment" she had a huge smile on her face, which was brighter than the stars in the sky ...

That night was memorable and we had a fun time together, chatting and making fun, surrounding the fire. Then the problem started, We all forgot the map, to exit the woods before Dawn. We stumbled and had no idea how to get out of the woods, and to reach on time. We had just 4 hours to get out of the forest and to reach home. We were walking in the hope of getting out of the woods, and the probability was just 10%.

We approached the river, It was beautiful with clean, glistening water, which acted like a mirror of the dark sky with beautiful stars and moon. It was like there was a new sky underwater. The view of the river made us forget about our problems, and we had a nice time there. We decided to sleep there for about half an hour, to search for a way.

I woke up, The sky was pure blue with the sun gleaming like a snowball, under the light. I saw peacocks dancing in the hill of the river, and rabbits searching for their Burrows to feed their young ones. I was shocked to realize that It was early morning, and I was sure that we would be caught in Home. I woke up Nancy, Who was in her dream of being a princess, and Rahim, who slept keeping his mouth open to allow the ants inside. They woke up and were astonished to see that we slept for three hours, and we had to hurry. We hurried to the end of the forest, and got out of the maze, as it was early morning. We all split up and ran to our homes. I am sure that I will climb to my room, which was on the 1st floor. I got through the window and crawled to the bed without being noticed. My mom arrived saying "It's time for your history class, son ". It was so close.

When Iam on my way to the class, I saw my backpack, which I carried to my camp last night. It had a paper piece Scattered in the front pocket. I was excited to see that It was from my girl, Nancy. The letter looks like this...

" I had a nice time with you, yesterday. Visiting the woods with you is amazing. I thought I had no feelings for you ...but it doesn't seem so. I think I am lost with your thoughts ...so, can we go for group studies ??:)"

-NANCY

Short StoryLoveHoliday

About the Creator

BUVANESH

I overrate stories over films...poetry over modern songs...and nature over parties. Seek here to know about breathe taking contents,"no blinking stories" and nothing less than the word "amazing".

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BUVANESH Written by BUVANESH

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.