Fiction logo

A Scrap of Red

Now available on Amazon

By Pyxy HustonPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Now available on Amazon

And now for a bit of shameless self promotion ...

I am very pleased to announce that I have a book available for sale on Amazon.

A little about my book and a link to the page on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.ca/Scrap-Red-M-Miller-ebook/dp/B0C397YSCS/ref=sr_1_1?crid=11101UXJKDYK9&keywords=a+scrap+of+red&qid=1682446296&sprefix=a+scrap+of+red%2Caps%2C171&sr=8-1

Once upon a time, there lived a girl named Luna Varga. She lived with her mother and father in a small village on the edge of the woods, where life was simple and peaceful. However, in the depths of the forest, a great danger lurked.

A tale of love, loss, and the unbreakable bond between a grandmother and her granddaughter. Join Luna on her journey through the enchanted forest; as she faces impossible odds and discovers the true meaning of bravery. Can she outsmart the cunning wolf and save her family and friends from its deadly grasp? Only time will tell in this thrilling reimagining of the classic fairytale Little Red Riding Hood.

A little about me:

I have been writing for as long as I can remember. From what I was told as soon as I could talk I was constantly telling stories and when I learned to write, I started writing them down.

I was first "published" in a school book my grade nine teacher Mrs Lockhart created. She gathered our writing assignments for the entire school year and compiled them into a coil bound book. The cover art work was done by one of my classmates and we all helped not only with the contents inside the book but the binding and printing of them as well. At the end of the year, she presented each of us with our own copy. I am not sure what happened to mine as this was a long time ago.

It was teachers like her that helped foster my love of writing and now with so many options for self publishing in 2023, it is easy to achieve your dreams of being a published author.

Seriously there are so many options to choose from that it can be hard to choose which one to go with.

I went with Amazon for many reasons.

Amazon is a huge company and it is easy to get your book out there even if you are not the best at self marketing or shameless self promotion. I am a total introvert and even though marketing yourself online is easier than in person I still get nervous about it.

Another thing about Amazon is that the price is right. There are paid promotion options you could invest a little money into and they don't seem too expensive. But if you do not have the money for that you can upload your book onto their platform and have it up for sale the same day all with out paying a cent.

You can do all the marketing yourself - social media is great for that or writing articles such as this one.

I have a lot of projects I have written over the years. My work in progress pile is full of writing in various stages of the writing process - being written, finished being written and needing editing and polishing and cover artwork.

I am also a graphic designer so I can whip something up in a day or two and use that but the other good thing about Amazon is that they have a handy tool as part of the uploading your manuscript process - The cover art creator. Through that you have access to a large amount of images and when you find something you might like for your cover art, they show you several covers with that image and you can pick the one that stands out to you.

I used their cover art designer to create the cover art for my book "A Scrap of Red"

The other tool I used that sped up the process was Kindle Create. Its like a word processor but specifically for Amazon Kindle. It was very easy to use and I had my book completely formatted in Kindle format and uploaded to their platform in a matter of hours. The one thing I wish this tool had is a spell check and grammar checker. You have to make sure the text in your manuscript is exactly as you want it to be before you use the Kindle Create to format your book.

HorrorYoung AdultLoveFantasy
Like

About the Creator

Pyxy Huston

Canadian Graphic Designer, Young adult novelist and gluten free recipe developer from Canada

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.