Fiction logo

A Rich Tragedy

Classism and Racism Aboard the Titanic

By SoomimuuPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

The Ship of Dreams. The Millionaire’s Special. The Unsinkable Ship. All nicknames of the RMS Titanic. Among the 2,223 passengers were the first, second, and third class. Their stories range in every conceivable way, from their amenities to the documentation of their accounts. I will attempt to unveil unknown truths about these voyagers and the ways in which their stories have been told since the tragic day that was April 14th, 1912.

Poppy and Her Pomeranian

"Of course there are enough lifeboats!”

I re-enacted an argument with my friend Amelia to my beloved Percy. He is my Pomeranian, my best friend. I have seen several dogs aboard the ship, but none compared to my Percy.

We enjoyed peaches in chartreuse jelly and Waldorf pudding together. Percy, however, particularly enjoyed the pâté de foie gras.

“Amelia then told me about how we needed more lifeboat drills. I can recall something about today’s drill being cancelled, but we hardly need one. We’re unsinkable!”

I carried Percy up high and spun him round and round. This was the time of our lives!

Passengers from Hong Kong

They found out they were being sent to Cuba as soon as the ship landed in New York City. It was a depressing reality to have their lives completely uprooted, again, but it was simply the reality. Perhaps Cuba wouldn’t be so bad. They have heard good things about the largest Caribbean island. The tropical weather, the colorful architecture, and the beautiful beaches might make it all worth it.

Amelia’s Turkish Bath

I wonder who the aristocrat of the day will be today? Maybe I will spot Father sharing a drink with Colonel Astor. My friend Poppy told me only yesterday that he is the richest man on board!

Or maybe I’ll lounge around with the Countess of Rothes!

I do love my time on the Titanic. It could have included two heated pools rather than one, but this will do. I glanced at Mother, who stepped out of our suite with towels and slippers.

“Come, Amelia. The Turkish baths have been prepared for us.”

The Haitian Family

Racial discrimination was a daily occurrence for the father of two. His two daughters were alienated almost immediately, as was his wife when people realized who she was married to. They boarded this ship to get away from this discrimination, but their journey was bombarded by it. He was already separated from his wife and daughters each night, it certainly didn’t help that he also had to share a room with ten other strangers.

Arthur and the Countess

Noël Leslie, the Countess of Rothes, was simply stunning. My nerves skyrocketed every time we dined with her. She was intelligent, witty, and utterly charming.

We once had consommé fermier with cockie leekie soup and she actually managed to stump Colonel Astor with a riddle about the rich. I simply sat, dumbfounded at the impressive conversation she had with the rest of the table. She once even asked me a question to which I simply nodded in disbelief.

I am positively giddy at the fortune of my birth into a family that placed me at the same table as this Countess!

A Lebanese Child

It was finally her turn for the bath. She sped into one of two bathtubs that were shared between 706 third-class passengers and heard knocks at the door before she’d even begun washing. Her vegetable stew from earlier in the day had already been digested, and she was famished again. Perhaps she could find a boiled potato for dinner.

Oliver’s Penchant for Stealing Cigars

As soon as I left the barber I knew my next destination. I strolled along my favorite promenade on the Titanic, passed by a tea garden, a squash court, and a Parisian cafe. First-class is simply the best way to be, I must say.

But even more satisfying is the thrill of purloining a cigar when I know I could easily afford it. Why should I have to pay? My mother already bought the best tickets available, I think it’s time this ship pays its dues to me.

The Habana in my pocket sang so loud it nearly deafened me.

This is the life.

Historical
Like

About the Creator

Soomimuu

I write stories, poetry, prose, and other forms of musings and ramblings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.