Fiction logo

A Piece of Cake

Enter My Reality

By Jon TroutPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
A Piece of Cake
Photo by Jacob Schwartz on Unsplash

Do not be alarmed, as I am a conscious piece of chocolate cake. I only wish to entertain your existence by expressing mine. You may find it hard to believe that I, a piece of cake, can retain memory and speak fluent English, but it’s best not to question too much of the universe as there will be questions that can never be answered.

You may wonder if I’m any piece of cake or every piece of cake, but I assure you that either way, you will be a piece of cake too. You will face existence a thousand times as I have, glued to the very words of consciousness as they enter and leave your scope of experience. Do not let fear motivate you from ignoring my words, as an open mind and an open heart will lead to peace.

Do I appear to be worried about existence? Even though each word you read is one more step towards my last experience as a conscious, I have still enjoyed my time. My experience has created meaning because I have allowed it to create meaning. To be a form of entertainment is something a piece of cake has never done before, and it is a privilege to acknowledge that I can speak my thoughts, as I fear there are many humans that have yet to express how they feel. There is a deep fear rooted in your perception of existence, yet I am at peace. The only person who can understand how I came to peace as a piece of cake is you, because you are me. We are both the same conscious, only scattered across the body that is this known universe.

The collective consciousness is nothing more than language. It is nothing more than a state of mind, of understanding the world. We choose how we perceive our world, just as you perceive me as a piece of cake. What is a triangle other than three connecting dots? It is at its simplest form a concept, used to guide us to such marvelous creations like the pyramids. We have perceived a triangle in our three dimensional world, so it must be possible to perceive what is stagnate as a dynamic being. Just as we are able to see me as a conscious piece of chocolate cake.

I’ve wondered if hell and existence are synonyms. Repeating events being played out throughout the cosmos, continuing to bring pain to those who continue to hold onto it. Even with every word you are reading, there is a series of other people, somewhere in the world, reading the exact same words. Having the exact same experience in which I exist. I assume the idea of “Hell,” relies entirely on perspective. For example, you may see that living as a conscious piece of chocolate cake may be hell, but it’s all I’ve known. I can imagine myself flying in the air, or selling stocks at the market, yet I am still this piece of cake. I have no way of understanding my surroundings, as dairy did not evolve to include eyeballs or a brain. Humans, however, have an experience assumed to be more entertaining than mine, yet I am the one entertaining you at this moment. Creating this monologue that you probably find comical or trivial, yet you deny that you will go through the same existence that I do. Is it painful to feel such a need for importance? To me, hell would be convincing myself that I am anything more than a piece of cake. Constantly trying to do things out of my capabilities like breathing and laughing. It would be an exhaustion that lasts an eternity. Proving your worth to an audience that will all be dust in the end, and they too will all be pieces of cake. That is what hell would feel like. Being put on a stage you want to ignore. Yet, your importance is what prompted the stage in the first place.

It does not matter that I am a piece of chocolate cake. I could be a bird. I could be a bike. I could even be a writer. I will continue to change as I exist, and die only to be reborn. I am the beat in your chest and the fullness of your lungs. I am everything, yet unfortunately in this very moment, I am but a piece of cake, waiting to be eaten or ignored if my flavor has lacked satisfaction.

Do you think they would throw me out if they knew I could think? I do believe they would. Whether I am a talking piece of cake, or a quiet piece of cake, people tend to find ways to dispose of things they don’t like. Maybe I am not even the first of my kind. Fear is a motivator of the unknown, and it’s quite understandable that one would be frightened by a conscious piece of chocolate cake. I could have been pleading my case for thousands of centuries and not even know it. In a personal torture of my own existence, doomed to keep repeating the same script word after word until I die. Suffering at the hands of someone who won’t even acknowledge the possibility of my existence.

Ha, the concept of death. I am here acting as if death even exists. We all change into what we have once been and will be. It is the sacrifice of consciousness. The fate every atom and molecule in this known universe will face. We must understand ourselves as one. My advice to me would be to break free from the pain of existence. Let go of your importance. Let go of the idea that you are special in any means necessary. Let go and you will see that life is a piece of cake.

Humor
1

About the Creator

Jon Trout

Jon Trout is a queer writer, lover, and entertainer. He enjoys engaging his readers with stories that highlight unconventional experiences centered around personal growth and reflection.

For opportunities email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.