Fiction logo

A Night to Remember

short stories

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 12 min read
1
A Night to Remember
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Music blared all around me as the orchestra was in the middle of its second song. This type of event wasn't typically my preference, but I had promised my younger brother I would attend one of his high school performances.

I sat in the back where I still possessed a bit of my hearing, noting him play his cello. He was excellent with almost every instrument he tried, except the flute, but I knew his talent would carry him to success one day.

I, on the other hand, had no musical talent to speak of. Every instrument I tried playing sounded like an animal was dying. I wasn't jealous, though. I knew my way with a canvas and paintbrush.

Rolling my neck, I spotted a blonde girl in a leather jacket sitting in the back-set of rows to my right. She sat by herself, seeming rather uncomfortable.

I was by myself too, our parents away on a trip for the weekend. Luckily, my brother was seventeen, so I didn't need to babysit or drive him anywhere.

I looked at the girl again, smiling. She was beautiful, even though I had a hard time seeing her whole face, that blonde hair hiding it. She also had that shy quality I found attractive.

I stood, shuffling my way out of the row and into the aisle. I stretched out for a moment, my muscles tight from my lack of movement. Then I quietly walked to her section.

She didn't seem to notice me until I sat next to her. Then she tilted her head, jumping. "Can I help you?"

"I noticed how uncomfortable you looked and wanted to make sure nothing was wrong."

She played with a piece of her blonde hair, "Nothing's wrong."

I lifted a brow, "Are you sure?"

She didn't answer.

"Well," I settled into my new seat, "I'm Sarah if you need anything."

She looked at me, "I'm Lily."

I smiled, refocusing my attention on the orchestra. I liked this girl. I wasn't sure why. She was a complete stranger. I supposed it was a gut feeling.

My brother's performance ended about an hour later, and I went to congratulate him, noting that Lily hadn't moved one inch.

I ran down the aisle, waving at him. Jack grinned at me, setting his cello on its stand as he hopped off the stage. "What did you think?"

"Well, I couldn't really hear you, but it wasn't bad."

Jack stuck his tongue out at me.

I rolled my eyes, "I didn't have to come here."

"I know, I know."

I gave him a hug, "You have a ride home?"

"Yes, it's called my car."

I smacked his arm, "I was just checking."

He smiled, "I can take care of myself."

"Uh-huh."

"I'm gonna go now."

I crossed my arms, smirking, "Don't party too hard."

Jack discreetly flipped me off before hopping back on stage and grabbing his cello. I knew he was gonna be with his orchestra buddies, and they mainly hung out at each other's houses and played video games.

I laughed, turning around to leave. I didn't have any plans, as my friends were busy, but I figured I'd drive around town and see if something caught my eye.

I glanced over, Lily still sitting there. "Do you have any plans?"

Lily lifted her head, "No."

"Wanna get something to eat?"

She paused for a moment, "Sure."

I grinned, "Come with me."

Lily stood, also shuffling her feet out into the aisle. She crossed her arms, her fushia leather jacket only coming down halfway on her torso. The style suited her body shape nicely.

I began walking toward the exit, hearing her boots jingle behind me. Did she plan on running away from me? It would be a shame if she did. I liked her and I owned a car.

But Lily proved not to be a complete flight risk, standing by my front passenger door as I unlocked my car. I slipped into the driver's seat, unlocking and opening the door for her.

Lily slid in, "So what are we doing?"

I grinned, the engine coming to life and the radio playing music. "At the very least, going to dinner."

"Okay."

"Have any preferences?"

"I like pasta."

"Me too. I know a great place."

We drove in silence, the music playing quietly in the background. But it didn't feel awkward, My head bobbing to the beat. On the contrary, I considered it to be a good sign.

Lily leaned forward as I pulled into the restaurant's parking lot, giggling, "I actually go here a lot."

I laughed, "Me too."

"Really?"

"At least once a week." I turned the engine off, "Still wanna go?"

"Hell yes."

Grinning, I exited my car, locking my doors before going inside, Lily right on my heels.

I opened the door, the smell of garlic bread warming my insides. This place felt like home to me. After all, I was great friends with the owner's daughter.

The host greeted and led us to an empty booth, handing us menus. As if I needed one. I already knew I was ordering alfredo with an extra side of their in-house garlic bread, picking coffee and water as my drinks.

Lily skimmed her menu, occasionally glancing at me. Did she think I would disappear if she didn't keep checking? Or ditch her when she went to the bathroom. Or that I would pretend to use the bathroom and leave her there?

Of course, people probably didn't walk up to her and take her to dinner. And I was a stranger to her. But I was more considerate than that.

"Know what you're gonna get?" I traced the letters on the front of my menu.

"Yeah, but I like looking anyways."

The server came to our table, "Are you ready, or do you need more time to decide?"

Lily set her menu down, "I'll have the pesto."

And I rattled off my order, my stomach grumbling for food. I sipped my water, hoping it would help.

"So, how old are you?"

I lifted my head, "Twenty-two. You?"

"Twenty-one."

"And why were you at a high school orchestra tonight?" I leaned forward.

She shrugged, "Wanted to do something by myself."

I raised a brow.

Lily chuckled nervously, "My family is pretty involved with my life, and it gets overwhelming sometimes."

"I understand." I drank my coffee, savoring the dark bitter flavors.

"Why were you there?"

"My brother, Jack, is a cello player, and I was watching him perform since our parents are out of town."

She bobbed her head.

Our food arrived quickly, and I began eating my pasta. I suppressed a moan, closing my eyes to enjoy that first bite.

"So, is this a date?"

I looked at her, "It can be whatever you want it to be."

Lily contemplated it for a moment. "I wouldn't mind this being a date, even though I just met you."

"Then it's a date." I felt my stomach flutter a little. I hadn't been on a date in a while. No one had caught my interest lately, that was, until now.

"I've never been on a date with a girl before." Lily put a forkful of pasta in her mouth, chewing it slowly before swallowing. "My family wouldn't exactly approve."

"So they don't know?"

"No."

That was unfortunate. No one should be judged based on who they want to date and love, especially by their family.

My parents were totally accepting of the fact I preferred girls over guys, although I liked both. They seemed surprised at my singleness, though.

"Then why do you spend so much time with them?"

She frowned, "I'm not sure. Habit, I suppose."

"Well, I would recommend you get some good friends." I ate some garlic bread. "They can be your new family."

Lily shrugged and continued to eat.

I didn't press the issue anymore. I wanted this to be a fun night, and this was not a fun subject.

The rest of dinner passed with relative lightness. We shared various stories from our lives, many of them hilarious. I enjoyed listening to her laugh as I recounted tales from my childhood.

We wandered back to my car. The evening air was warm and sweet. There was no way I could let our date end so soon.

"We should do something else." I sat in my driver's seat.

Lily nodded, "But what can we do?"

I thought it over for a moment. "How about dancing?"

"Really?"

"Why not?"

She nervously laughed, "I can't dance to save my life."

"Doesn't mean you can't try."

"True, I could just bob my head to the beat."

"There you go."

I began driving around the city, scanning for a cool club. It took a little bit, but I spotted the perfect one, grinning. It had a more relaxed vibe than most, plus it was for people like us.

Lily peered through the windshield, "Are you sure?"

"As long as you brought your ID, yes."

"I always do."

"Then let's go."

Feeding money into the meter, I led her inside. The music pumped through the atmosphere. People were on the dancefloor, some dressed in flamboyant outfits, and others looked casual.

"Is this a gay bar?"

"Yes, yes it is."

Lily scanned the surroundings, "Okay."

I walked to the bar, ordering a glass of strawberry-flavored sparkling water since I was the driver. I sat on a bright pink stool, quickly checking my phone for any messages as my date acclimated to the environment.

I came there almost every week, as I had some friends who loved hanging out there. A few were straight, but they liked the vibe. But what young person couldn't?

Lily sat next to me as I got my glass, "I like it here."

I smiled, the bubbles tickling my nose, "Good."

She smirked, ordering regular water. "So, is it a normal habit for you to approach random people, or am I special?"

"Hmm, it's a bit of both."

Lily lifted a brow, brushing some of her blonde hair out of her face.

"If someone looks interesting, I'll chat them up, but I don't go out of my way to talk to strangers."

She smiled shyly.

I nudged her leg with my foot. "However, I don't normally go on dates with them the day I meet them, so yes, you are special."

Lily blushed, sipping her water.

My cheeks also warmed, my mouth slightly dry as I drank my sparkling water. It didn't help much. I liked this girl, and I didn't want to come off too strong. It didn't help she appeared to be a flight risk.

I set my glass down. "Do you want to dance?"

"I don't know how."

"I'll show you."

Grabbing her hands, I pulled her onto the dance floor. There was enough room for us to dance together. I started with simple swaying, matching the powerful beat of the dubstep song.

Lily kept up, her body stiffer than mine, or everyone else's. I didn't care. It could take a while to find your groove.

I let go of her hands, raising my arms as I found mine. I closed my eyes, the music controlling my movements. I moved from side to side, the song changing to one of my favorites.

I opened my eyes and watched as Lily swayed from side to side. It was awkward but adorable at the same time. I continued dancing, feeling the music through my body.

When the song ended, I strolled back to the bar, drinking more of my sparkling water. Lily was still on the dancefloor, and she seemed to be enjoying herself.

I smiled, not wanting to interrupt her flow. But it was difficult sitting on the stool, so I went back to dancing, moving slower.

I felt a hand on my arm, "This is fun."

I gazed into her eyes, "Yes, it is."

Lily bit her lip, "Close your eyes."

"Why?"

"Please?"

"Okay."

I stilled, shutting my eyes. My heart sped up as I felt her approach. Then she pressed a gentle kiss against my lips. I sighed, kissing her back and grabbing her waist.

Although I had hoped for this, I hadn't been expecting her to make the first move. Lily didn't seem terribly comfortable with her sexuality yet, which was understandable from what she told me about her life.

"That was nice."

She moved away, "I liked it too."

"You are a good kisser."

Lily blushed under the green and blue lights, "Thanks."

"Wanna go somewhere more private?"

"Umm..."

"That wasn't what I meant." I grabbed her hand, blushing. "But we can stay here for a while."

"Well, the noise is bothering me a bit."

I pulled her off of the dancefloor, paying for our drinks. Then we left the club and walked to my car. I could not wipe the smile from my face as I turned on the engine.

A long time had passed since I'd enjoyed myself this much. Not that my life was depressing, but it had become a bit monotonous.

We drove around for a while, the windows down. Lily was completely relaxed, her eyes closed. I reached my right hand out, grabbing her left hand.

She squeezed tightly. "Thank you."

"For what?"

"Talking to me at the theater and convincing me to go with you."

"You're welcome." I exhaled, "Can we do this again?"

Lily lifted her head, "It will be tricky."

"I know."

"But yes, I want to do this again."

My nerves dissipated, "I'm glad you said that."

She laughed, which morphed into a yawn, "I am getting tired, though."

I moved my head, "Where do you live?"

"Not far, I'll guide you."

Lily was right. Her house was only about three blocks from the main city, and it was located in a cozy neighborhood.

It was funny. You could live in the same town for your whole life and not know about half of the places or people.

I pulled up in front of her house, shutting off the engine. "I had a great time."

"Me too."

"Want my phone number?"

Lily handed me her phone, and I quickly put my contact info. I gave it back to her, touching the side of her face. I wanted to remember this moment, this night, forever.

I leaned in, pressing a soft kiss against her mouth. Lily reciprocated, sighing quietly as our lips moved together. And I made it last for as long as I could.

She pulled away, getting out of my car, "I should go now."

I nodded, "Okay, well, goodnight."

"Goodnight."

When the front door closed behind her, I drove away, both elated and slightly bummed. I didn't want it to end.

But then my phone buzzed, and I grinned, knowing it was Lily. This was definitely a night to remember.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create anything from fiction to personal stories, poetry, and more.

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.