Fiction logo

A Night In For Scooby

A Bow-Wow of an Evening

By Kent BrindleyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
A Night In For Scooby
Photo by Dinu J Nair on Unsplash

(Bays, barks, and meows penetrate the night air as drinks and libations are served to the evening's celebrants. Cats, dogs, a horse [of course of course], and even an anthropomorphic shark have gathered to celebrate one guest of honor...)

JABS:

"Hi there; what an honor to be here this evening! (Nyuk, Nyuk, Nyuk!) See me up here; I'm a shark, you see. I don't get as much respect as I could; but I do get SOME, I guess. And I, and everyone in this room, has ONE person to thank for that..."

(Howls and even a couple of meows of concurrence answer from the floor)...

JABS:

"...Well, I wanna talk a little bit more about me again. I'm a mystery-solver, of course; just like all...well, MOST of you. I'm also a DRUMMER in a band. See that's where I'm one UP on even the guest of honor tonight. I mean, can imagine a DOG playing drums for a band???"

SD:

"Huh???"

(Sebastian, Muttley, and Inspector Mumbly share a snicker).

JABS:

"Take a bow, Scooby-Doo! Then, c'mon up here and share a few words with us!"

By Hayley Murray on Unsplash

(Applause, a whinny from [of course, of course] the horse, barks and bays from the dogs, and mews and screeches from a couple of cats in residence answer as a Great Dane takes the stage).

By Judi Neumeyer on Unsplash

SCOOBY:

"Rank roo rerry ruch!"

(Swallows mouthful of food before trying again).

SCOOBY:

"(R'ahem) Thank you very much; and welcome, fellow mystery solvers!"

(A ghost cat, Boo, sniggers, a ghost dog. Goober, grumbles, a scrawny dog, Elvis, giggles, and two bloodhounds, Woofer and Wimper, bark in agreement. Jabs pats himself on the chest. Out in the parking lot, an anthropomorphic dune buggy beeped).

SCOOBY:

"To be up here and honored this evening is an even bigger honor than to be invited here for the great buffet food (CHUCKLES). It is only great to be here with my fellow animals; or our human folks would have taken all of the food. Well, I know SHAGGY would have, bless him so!"

(Raucous agreement from the floor).

DYNO:

"Yep; those humans love their food okay!"

(Sebastian jumps up on Dynomutt's head to swat him on the nose and silence him once more; then he grumbles something before settling in to sleep on the computerized canine's head).

SCOOBY:

"...What better place for all of my fellow cats and canines to be on a Tuesday night than here to celebrate ME?"

(Dangerous hush from the floor).

SCOOBY:

"...I led the way; I was America's FIRST talking animal...!"

(Since Frances wasn't in attendance, someone ELSE from the floor takes the reins of conversation to disrupt one more time).

ED:

"HELLO!"

SCOOBY:

...Yes; hello, Ed. The first ANIMATED talking dog...

HUCKLEBERRY:

"Well I'd have to consternate THAT statement too..."

DROOPY:

"You know what? He's WRONG..."

SCOOBY:

"(Growls) The first animated animal DETECTIVE! Can I continue???"

(Lassie glances up, considers that she's neither [originally] animated, nor a detective, and lays back down again).

SCOOBY:

...Tonight is celebrating ME; but we're ALL important in our OWN ways. Mr. Ed, you inspired me to speak! Dynomutt, still now my favorite crime-stopper and my hero! Lassie, you're my idol! Sebastian, the only pussycat who IS a cat! Goober and Boo, you guys are ghosts; but you're GOOD ghosts!"

GOOBER:

(Blushes as he vanishes) "Well, gosh, maybe he's right!"

(Boo puffs out his chest proudly).

SCOOBY:

"Now, I WOULD like to correct the record that I too was almost a drummer for a band. I would also like to thank the people responsible for NIXING that idea. What kind of icon would I be today as a DRUMMING animal crime-solver?"

JABS:

"No respect; not even after the grand introduction I gave you! (W0o-woo-WOO!)"

(Elvis cackles once more).

SCOOBY:

"Yes siree; this'll be a great night to celebrate animated animal sleuths; and our forebearers as either humanized animals or at least talking ones. And let's not forget who we're all being celebrated because of...!"

HUCKLEBERRY:

"Hanna and Barbera?"

SCOOBY:

(Considers; and looks around at the animated animals save for Droopy) "Yep; Hanna-Barbera it is. Let's EAT...!"

By Fernando Jorge on Unsplash

By Pia Kamp on Unsplash

FantasyFan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.