Fiction logo

A Mother's Love

a short screenplay

By jamie preyerPublished 3 years ago 8 min read

FADE IN:

INT. HOSPITAL ROOM - DAY

Two nurses, PAULA (50) and SADIE (24), stand in front of a

television set watching the news. A young man, ELIJAH GREEN,

lays on a bed in a coma. He is pale and thin as a ventilator

breathes for him.

A MALE ANCHOR reads from the tele-prompter as Elijah's

picture is projected on a screen above his head. He wears a

football uniform and poses in a quarterback position.

MALE ANCHOR

Elijah Green was the victim of a

hit and run accident last Friday

night on the corner of 5th and

Lamar. His mother made headlines

across the nation when she

announced that she would be

seeking the right to harvest his

sperm. Mr. Green is currently in

a coma and not expected to survive.

Mrs. Green was denied the right

to harvest her son's sperm today

in a hearing that lasted several

hours. Mrs. Green was very

unhappy with the decision.

A video of MRS. GREEN, 45, stomping out of a courthouse,

shoving camermen and reporters out of the way plays on the

screen.

MRS. GREEN

It's my son. I should be in

control of his sperm, not some

stupid judge. I want a grandbaby,

dammit! I'm gonna take it to the

Supreme Court if I have to. A

mother has rights.

Paula reaches up and turns the television off.

PAULA

She's gonna be hell on wheels.

SADIE

It's almost shift change. I hope

we're gone by the time she gets

here.

Sadie walks over to Elijah's bed and adjusts his bed to a

higher level.

2.

PAULA

It was a dumb idea to begin with.

Who was she planning on using as

a surrogate? She can't afford to

pay someone.

SADIE

I think she was planning on using

his life insurance.

PAULA

What? You've got to be kidding.

That is so tacky.

Paula lifts Elijah's head and adjusts his pillow.

PAULA (CON'T)

Poor kid. Your mom should just

let you rest.

Mrs. Green stands in the doorway.

MRS. GREEN

Let him rest? What do you know?

PAULA

You startled me.

Mrs. Green walks over to Elijah and kisses him on the cheek.

She puts her purse on the bed between his feet and sits next

to him.

MRS. GREEN

I tried honey, but it was no use.

The fucker said no.

(to Paula and Sadie)

They said that I would have to

wait until he passes to harvest

his sperm. Isn't that nuts? They

said as long as he is alive, it's

his body and I have no rights to

his sperm.

SADIE

Really? If he dies you can

harvest his sperm?

MRS. GREEN

I can make every other decision

about his medical care, but I

can't harvest his sperm. Jack

asses. Makes no sense.

3.

PAULA

Is there anything we can do for you?

MRS. GREEN

I don't think his sperm would

still be alive after he's dead.

Does it stay alive after your dead?

PAULA

Um, I don't really know. I'll

check into that and get back with

you.

MRS. GREEN

I don't want to live my life

without him. If I could harvest

his sperm I could have a

grandchild to help me deal the

loss. It's my right as a

grandmother, you know?

SARAH GREEN, 16, wearing jeans, a t-shirt and backpack; walks

into the room holding two cups of coffee. She hands one to

Mrs. Green and sits down in a chair next to the window.

SADIE

Hi, Sarah. How are you today?

SARAH

Okay, I guess.

MRS. GREEN

Did you say hi to your brother,

Sarah? You know he can hear you.

SARAH

Hi, Elijah.

Sarah pulls an I-pod out of her backpack and puts the

earplugs in her ears. She opens a book and begins to read.

MRS. GREEN

She's not affected one bit by the

judge's decision. She has no clue.

SADIE

She's a kid.

PAULA

I'm sure it's affecting her greatly.

4.

MRS. GREEN

She's selfish. She could care

less what happens to him or

whether or not I have a grandchild

by him.

PAULA

She's here, isn't she?

(beat)

We need to go get ready for shift

change. Let us know if you need

anything.

MRS. GREEN

I could use Sadie's help with a

few things. It won't take a minute.

PAULA

Okay. Have a good evening, Mrs.

Green. Everything works out the

way it's supposed to in the end.

Mrs. Green strokes Elijah's hair and fights back tears.

MRS. GREEN

Thank you.

Paula leaves the room. Sadie watches Mrs. Green as she

kisses Elijah's forehead.

Mrs. Green looks over at Sarah, who bobs her head to the

music in her ears. She whispers to Sadie.

MRS. GREEN

Did you think about what I asked

you?

SADIE

Yes, I did. I can't.

MRS. GREEN

Why not?

SADIE

It's wrong. I could lose my

license over this.

MRS. GREEN

Nobody would ever have to know.

Once he passes, you'll have enough

money to stop working until the

baby is born.

5.

SADIE

I can't.

MRS. GREEN

You went to school with Elijah.

You told me that if there was

anything you could do for him

that you would do it. I'm asking

you to please be the surrogate

mother for my grandchild.

SADIE

The judge said no.

MRS. GREEN

There are ways to get around the

law, Sadie. All I'm asking is

for you to hop up there, straddle

my son and impregnate yourself.

SADIE

No. Are you crazy? This isn't

The World According to Garp, Mrs.

Green.

Sadie watches as Mrs Green pulls a turkey baster out of her

purse.

SADIE

There's no way I would have

anything to do with something

that sneaky. I'm a Christian.

MRS. GREEN

What could be more Christian than

giving life to a baby whose father

can't live himself?

SADIE

I'm also a virgin. I don't want

my family to think I've been

sleeping around. No. I won't do

it.

MRS. GREEN

I'll give you half of his life

insurance. You can do what you

want with it. Go to Hawaii, buy

a house; whatever you want.

Sadie opens the door.

6.

SADIE

I love Elijah, but I won't have

any part of it.

Sadie walks out of the room and shuts the door.

Mrs. Green looks at her son and looks at the turkey baster.

MRS. GREEN

Hey, Sarah. You wanna run across

the street and get some sandwiches?

Sarah pulls the ear plugs out of her ears.

SARAH

Huh?

MRS. GREEN

Go across the street and get some

sandwiches?

SARAH

I'm not hungry.

MRS. GREEN

I am. I haven't eaten all day.

You can buy that magazine that

you wanted in the gift shop. You

know, the one with Johnny Depp on

the cover?

Sarah puts her book down.

SARAH

Are we gonna be here all night

again? I'm tired of this stupid

hospital.

MRS. GREEN

We can't leave. What if something

happens to Elijah and we're not

here to say good-bye?

SARAH

Why do you assume he's going to

die? He could come out of it,

you know.

Mrs. Green hands Sarah and twenty dollar bill.

SARAH (CON'T)

What kind do you want?

7.

MRS. GREEN

Chicken avocado, no onions. And

a large diet Dr. Pepper.

Sarah leaves the room. Mrs. Green goes into the bathroom

and washes her hands. She walks over to a box of medical

gloves that hang on the wall. She pulls a glove out of the

box and puts it on.

She walks over to the bed and opens her purse. She pulls out

a condom, opens it and lays it on the bed next to Elijah.

She lifts the sheet and peeks underneath. She cringes.

Mrs. Green reaches under the sheet and pulls. She grimaces

as she pulls again. She raises her hand to reveal a wet

catheter tube.

Elijah MOANS.

MRS. GREEN

Sorry, honey. I hope it didn't

hurt too much.

Mrs. Green places the catheter tube on the bed...picks up

the condom...raises the sheet and places the condom on Elijah.

She looks away as she pumps.

MRS. GREEN

Oh, God, please forgive me.

Mrs. Green continues to pump away as she looks at the ceiling

with tears in her eyes.

INT. HOSPITAL BATHROOM - NIGHT

Mrs. Green washes the turkey baster in the sink. She looks

at herself in the mirror and smiles.

MRS. GREEN

If it works, it was God's will

and I won't feel guilty.

She dries the turkey baster with a paper towel, wraps it in

another one and places it in her purse.

INT. HOSPITAL ROOM - DAY SEVERAL MONTHS LATER

Paula and Sadie change the sheets on Elijah's bed. Elijah

stirs and moans.

Paula and Sadie look at Elijah and smile.

SADIE

Hi, sleepy head.

8.

ELIJAH

(in a raspy voice)

Hi.

SADIE

You're in the hospital. You were

in an accident.

Elijah looks around the room.

PAULA

Your mama is gonna be one happy

lady.

SADIE

Can you tell me your name?

ELIJAH

Elijah.

SADIE

Good. Can you tell me my name?

Elijah looks confused and shakes his head no.

SADIE (CON'T)

That's okay. My name is Sadie

and this is Paula.

PAULA

We've been taking care of you for

a long time, sweety.

SADIE

Look at those beautiful blue eyes,

Paula. He drove the girls crazy

in school.

PAULA

You have long eyelashes, Elijah.

Elijah doesn't respond.

SADIE

You tired? You wanna go back to

sleep?

PAULA

We need to try to keep him awake

until the doctor comes. I'll go

page him.

9.

Paula runs into Mrs. Green and Sarah as they walk in, she

walks out. Mrs. Green and Sarah both wear long coats and

mittens.

PAULA

He's awake, Mrs. Green.

Mrs. Green and Sarah look over at Elijah.

MRS. GREEN

Elijah? Honey, you're awake?

ELIJAH

Hi.

Elijah gives them a little smile. Mrs. Green rushes over to

him and kisses him on the cheek.

MRS. GREEN

I can't believe it. I can't

believe you're awake and that you

know who I am. Thank you, God.

Thank you, thank you.

Sarah waves shyly at Elijah. Elijah smiles at her.

SADIE

Now that he's awake, we'll do

another brain scan. His reflexes

are good and he's responding to

my questions.

MRS. GREEN

That's wonderful.

SADIE

His memory may be a little off

for a while, but it'll come back

eventually.

Mrs. Green pulls of her jacket to reveal a pregnant stomach.

Elijah sees her stomach but doesn't respond.

MRS. GREEN

So much has gone on since your

accident, honey. We made national

news and everything.

Mrs. Green rubs her belly.

10.

MRS. GREEN

I was so worried that you weren't

gonna make it and that I would

never have a grandchild by you.

I guess I should've had faith,

but I was desperate. I hope you

understand.

SADIE

You may want to talk about that

later. He's still pretty groggy.

Sarah walks over to the bed, pulls off her jacket to reveal

her pregnant belly.

SARAH

I guess this means I'm not gettin'

half of his life insurance. Not

cool, Mom. Not cool.

SADIE

Now do you understand why the

judge said no?

FADE OUT

Script

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    jamie preyerWritten by jamie preyer

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.