Fiction logo

A Little Genie's First Flower

A "Golden Summer" Challenge Entry

By Grant Alexander BrownPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Way back before I first gained the title "Harvest Genie"--something I'm very proud of--I had to start somewhere. Get inspired by something to figure out the answer to a question every genie asks themselves at some point: "What kind of genie do I want to be?"

Well, my inspiration came from one of my first times walking in Cubes with my family, during the Full Cachou Moon. I wasn't very old... about 2 or 3, barely old enough to have a few memories. Yes, I'm over 300 years old, sweetie. You have my genie genes, you'll live a long life, too! That's not even talking about your daddy, who will definitely be over a millennium before his number's up! Anyway, I was walking with Mommy and Daddy with Ishtar by their side. As we did, the humanoids of Cubes greeted us, as well as gushed over me and my big sister. I think they said something about us being "adorable little ladies"? I don't fully remember, it was almost 300 years ago.

As we walked, we had approached a local flower shop. While Daddy and Ishtar were okay to walk by it, something about the flowers in the window drew my attention. Call it being an excitable toddler, but I was drawn in by the bright yellows of the desert marigolds, the vibrant orange of the poppies, the multiple shades of the roses, and even the orange, red, and pink of the fairy dusters. Do you know what fairy dusters represent in Orobia, sweetie?

In the wild, they represent the entrances to the Fairylands. I've been a few times back when your daddy and I were adventuring.

But back to my little story. Mommy had noticed my fascination with the plants and pointed it out to Ish and Daddy, who turned and spotted me. I had accidentally let my magic flow a little, which resulted in me creating a wolf tail, which I had been excitedly wagging. So, my parents laughed at how adorable I was and bought me a few marigold flowers that we could pot.

My sister helped me plant them, that afternoon. She was curious as to where her little sister was going with this whole adventure. I'll admit, I didn't exactly have the fine motor skills or the green thumb that I wished I had at that age, so I appreciated Ishtar's help. I used my wolf form to dig a cute little hole, and with the two of us, we planted the marigolds. I got so covered in dirt that day... I think Mommy made a quick painting of it before she made us clean up.

Over the next few weeks, I would repeatedly check on the flowers, trying to make sure my plants were well taken care of. I seemed to develop a knack for plant growing magic, as the small set of marigolds bloomed to overtake the small pot Mommy and Daddy bought. They had to quickly get a larger planter just for some desert wildflowers that made me smile. And then, a second when I somehow filled even that one up!

For my next birthday, Ishtar got me a children's book on flowers and helped teach me to read and write. I became obsessed with flowers! Daddy was proud that his dao heritage seeped into me somewhere, but he was worried that I was doing way too much with the flowers in and around the house. He talked it over with Mommy, and they made me a garden.

I spent years working out in that field, trying to figure out what I could do with all of the flowers I grew. One day, a human spellcaster traveling through Cubes explained to me how flowers and all other plants could grow for consumption despite the sands of Orobia. Not just for medicines, but actual food! I grew fascinated with the idea. So, I decided not just flowers... but there would also be various plants that one could cook! Despite living in the desert, I'd my best with it. And for decades, I worked hard at my new calling, making it a profitable business by the time I was about 112.

That was when I decided to become a farmer, despite my noble upbringing. It paid off, though. When your daddy first came to Orobia, he was hurt really badly by Sizah... I managed to patch him up with not just healing magic, but I treated his wounds with medicines made from the plants in my garden. At my social season debut, I became the Harvest Genie. I was able to keep the continent of Orobia fed and taught them what I learned, so others can grow despite the intense dry climate and loose ground. And despite everything the destroyer gods threw at our world, we would thrive thanks to the power of a green thumb.

And to think, my life was set by a small batch of marigolds.

I don't know what you'll want to do with your life, little Rerci... but when you're ready when you find your calling, my dear, I hope you have the same accidental shapeshift tail-wag. Or something just as cute.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Grant Alexander Brown

Just a fantasy/sci-fi wannabe writer who likes explosions, magic, and all other kinds of stuff. Let's see what happens, people!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.